Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    84

    Question 8700K overclock - safe for 24/7 use?!

    Hey guys,

    I did slightly overclock my 8700k to 4,8GHz. The PC is used for office applications as well for 4K Videoediting. So I was wondering if my settings are save for a 24/7 use?

    Temps have been tested in Prime95, ADIA64, Realbench and Cinebench. They have been between 70 - 78 degrees. In IDLE CPU clocks down to 3,7 GHz and temps are around 30 degrees. Ediiting 4k in Premiere Pro temps were about 60-70.

    // Here is my hardware:
    Asus ROG STRIX Z390-F GAMING S1151v2 Z390/DDR4/ATX
    Intel Core i7 8700K 6x 3.70GHz So.1151 WOF
    Noctua NH-D15S CPU can with dual fans
    64GB G.Skill Trident Z silber/rot DDR4-3200 DIMM CL14 Dual Kit
    1000GB Samsung 970 Pro M.2 2280 PCIe 3.0 x4 32Gb/s
    500 GB Samsung 960 Evo M.2
    500 GB Samsung 860 Pro SSD
    NVIDIA GTX 1060

    // Here are my BIOS settings:
    Asus MultiCore Enhancement = enabled
    CPU Core Ratio = Sync all cores = 48
    CPU Load-Line Calibration = 6
    CPU Power Duty Control = T.Probe
    Intel(R) SpeedStep(tm) = disabled
    Turbo Mode = enabled
    Long / short duration power limit = 4095
    Min / max. CPU Cache ratio = 44
    CPU core voltage = 1.3
    DRAM = 1.35
    VCCIO = 1.1
    System Agent Voltage = 1.05
    DRAM timings = 14 14 34

    Having my cpu clock set to auto (4,7 max then), my vcore was going up to 1.32 - 1.34 sometimes. So I decided to have a fixed vcore at 1.3 now.

    The complete alternativ would be to leave everything on auto with "Asus MultiCore Enhancement = enabled" and my RAM fix to 3200 mhz and 14-14-34. Then of course the vcore goes down to under 1 in IDLE. So for this hybrid pc what would you recommand?

    Thank you!

    Alex
    Last edited by Alexauwa; 11-09-2018 at 08:56 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Alex I am a fan of having my system power down the vcore when it is not needed. I like to leave all the Intel C states and the SpeedStep enabled personally.

    I have also found that increasing my OC slightly is not negatively impacted by having these power saving states enabled.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    84

    Specific settings in bios

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Alex I am a fan of having my system power down the vcore when it is not needed. I like to leave all the Intel C states and the SpeedStep enabled personally.

    I have also found that increasing my OC slightly is not negatively impacted by having these power saving states enabled.
    Thank you, what specific settings in Bios would allow me that? Would I leave Vcore on auto? When doing so it will do above 1.3 which is not needed. Right now my system works perfectly fine with 1.3 vcore on 4,8 ghz.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    84

    Temps?

    Btw, are my temps fine? Rending 4k footage in Adobe Media encoder give me 80 degrees right now. AXV offset is not set though.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Alex what is your ambient temps and assuming a 24'C your temps are fine with the air cooler.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    84

    Ambient temp

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Alex what is your ambient temps and assuming a 24'C your temps are fine with the air cooler.
    I guess it is around 22 degrees. 28 somestimes in summer.

    Having office, browser and skype programms running not doing much my temps sit at 30 degrees. CPU fan running at 551 RPM of 1500 RPM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •