Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array kahless PC Specs
    kahless PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe/Z170A/z270G Strix/Maximus X Hero
    Processor5930K/6700K/7700K/8700K
    Memory (part number)32gb Trident Z 3200/16gb Corsair Vemgeance 3200/Trident Z RGB 32gb 3400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X Pascal/Titan X Maxwell/1080Ti/1050Ti
    Graphics Card #2Titan X Pascal
    Monitor55" Samsung Ks8000/65" Samsung Ks8000
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro/960 Evo
    Storage #29x 500gb 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX/H115i/H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540D/740D/Anidees RGB Cube
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i/Evga 850 watt G3/1000 G3
    Keyboard Corsair k95
    OS 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Maximus XI Extreme

    Hi

    I purchased a Maximus XI Extreme to go with a 9900K cpu.

    My first mobo with a Dimm.2 interface.

    Can I put two Samsung Nvme drives in the Dimm.2 card, run them in Raid O while having a single gpu in 16X with 6 Sata ssd's as well?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero Wi-Fi
    ProcessorIntel i7 8086K @ 5.3 GHz 1.38V
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 3200MHz C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS 88U

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by kahless View Post
    Hi

    I purchased a Maximus XI Extreme to go with a 9900K cpu.

    My first mobo with a Dimm.2 interface.

    Can I put two Samsung Nvme drives in the Dimm.2 card, run them in Raid O while having a single gpu in 16X with 6 Sata ssd's as well?
    No, both m.2 ports on the DIMM.2 riser are connected to the CPU. This means even using just 1 of the ports will drop your GPU down to x8. Whether or not that's a sacrifice you want to make is up to you.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array kahless PC Specs
    kahless PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe/Z170A/z270G Strix/Maximus X Hero
    Processor5930K/6700K/7700K/8700K
    Memory (part number)32gb Trident Z 3200/16gb Corsair Vemgeance 3200/Trident Z RGB 32gb 3400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X Pascal/Titan X Maxwell/1080Ti/1050Ti
    Graphics Card #2Titan X Pascal
    Monitor55" Samsung Ks8000/65" Samsung Ks8000
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro/960 Evo
    Storage #29x 500gb 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX/H115i/H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540D/740D/Anidees RGB Cube
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i/Evga 850 watt G3/1000 G3
    Keyboard Corsair k95
    OS 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    Good to know! If I dont want to lose 16x then use one of the m.2 slots down by the pch?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Yip that is where I installed my M.2 device on the Extreme.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero Wi-Fi
    ProcessorIntel i7 8086K @ 5.3 GHz 1.38V
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 3200MHz C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS 88U

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by kahless View Post
    Good to know! If I dont want to lose 16x then use one of the m.2 slots down by the pch?
    that is correct! It’s really a shame that the ports by the pch don’t have a heat sink like the Formula.

    Guess you can’t get everything?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Wonder if that cover that encloses the bottom section where we fit the M.2 acts as some kind of thermal dissipation device.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array kahless PC Specs
    kahless PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe/Z170A/z270G Strix/Maximus X Hero
    Processor5930K/6700K/7700K/8700K
    Memory (part number)32gb Trident Z 3200/16gb Corsair Vemgeance 3200/Trident Z RGB 32gb 3400
    Graphics Card #1Titan X Pascal/Titan X Maxwell/1080Ti/1050Ti
    Graphics Card #2Titan X Pascal
    Monitor55" Samsung Ks8000/65" Samsung Ks8000
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro/960 Evo
    Storage #29x 500gb 850 Evo
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX/H115i/H115i Pro
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540D/740D/Anidees RGB Cube
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i/Evga 850 watt G3/1000 G3
    Keyboard Corsair k95
    OS 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    100

    A bit disappointing I wont be using the dimm.2 device. Maybe going from 16x to 8x isnt a big deal but who buys a $1300 + 2080Ti to game at 8x lol.

    I assume the m.2 port at the bottom of this board has some sort of heatsink with thermal pad? I dont have it in hand yet from Newegg.
    Last edited by kahless; 11-14-2018 at 04:04 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Kahless not thermal paste or stuff like that mate, but I run two OEM P891 M.2 drives and there has been NO, ZERO throttling due to heat at all.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    I ran across this the other day, pertaining to M.2 and heat. Skip to 6:10.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzSIfxHppPY

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Yeah totally - thing is folks hear terms like thermal throttle and don't really understand how rare or how difficult it is to make happen. Nice share vcjester
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •