Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dimm.2 problem

  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    dimm.2 problem

    I'm using a x299 extreme motherboard with a i7 7820x I installed a m.2 ssd into the motherboard slot and one into the dimm.2 but the one on dimm.2 does not show up even in bios after updating it, i am also using 2 1080 ti's in slot 1 and slot 3. I am not sure what to do...

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EO Bios 0702
    Processori9 9900X @ 4.9 1.28V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB and Revo XRes 140 D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    2,108

    That’s a 28 lane CPU. I think you have exceeded the PCIe lane allocation with your hardware.


    **https://ark.intel.com/products/12376...p-to-4-30-GHz-

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)- NA -
    MotherboardEVGA X299 Dark
    Processori9-7960X @ 5.2GHz
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair LPX DDR4-4000 @ 4200
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti xC2 Ultra Gaming
    MonitorPredator XB271HU 2560x1440 165Hz
    Storage #1512GB 960 Pro x 2 (OS Boot Drives)
    Storage #2960GB Samung Enterprise NVMe SSD x 2 | 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerDual 360MM XPSC Rads+1/2 HP Water Chiller
    CasePraxis WetBench
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 1600W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Wireless
    Headset Skullcandy Crusher Wireless S6CRW
    Mouse Pad Black Anodized Aluminum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1 Speaker System
    OS W10 Ent LTSB 2016 / W7 Ultimate (Dual Boot)
    Accessory #1 Hailea HC-500A 1/2HP~790Watt Water Chiller
    Mr. Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by Arbab Arsalah View Post
    I'm using a x299 extreme motherboard with a i7 7820x I installed a m.2 ssd into the motherboard slot and one into the dimm.2 but the one on dimm.2 does not show up even in bios after updating it, i am also using 2 1080 ti's in slot 1 and slot 3. I am not sure what to do...
    What are your BIOS settings? I have mine set to AHCI with all CPU storage options set to disabled and all four of my Samsung NVMe drives work fine (two on one DMM.2 card and two on the other DIMM.2 card).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	181112171330.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	103.7 KB 
ID:	76931
    Punisher | EVGA X299 Dark | i9-7960X @ 5.2GHz | 32GB Corsair LPX 4000 @ 4200 | EVGA 2080 TI xC2 HydroCopper Block
    EVGA SuperNOVA 1600W P2 | 2x 512GB 960 Pro / 2x 1TB Enterprise NVMe / 2TB HDD / 4TB HDD | W10 / W7 (Dual Boot)
    2x XSPC RX360 | Praxis WetBench | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Water Chiller | Results:
    http://hwbot.org/user/mr._fox/

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    248

    According to the manual your ssd should be installed in M2_1 which is the socket next to the memory. You can select PCH for it in the Bios.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Fox View Post
    What are your BIOS settings? I have mine set to AHCI with all CPU storage options set to disabled and all four of my Samsung NVMe drives work fine (two on one DMM.2 card and two on the other DIMM.2 card).
    Hi! Does this mean, that you can insert TWO DIMM.2 cards on Rampage VI motherboard, making a total of FOUR NVMe M.2 SSDs on the two DIMM.2 cards? I'm a bit confused, becouse in the images I see only one DIMM.2 slot on this motherboard. Is there another one, that I missed?
    Last edited by PsiEmitter; 11-17-2018 at 12:26 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    28

    Sorry, it's my bad, now I see you use Apex and not Extreme.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •