Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dimm.2 problem

  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    dimm.2 problem

    I'm using a x299 extreme motherboard with a i7 7820x I installed a m.2 ssd into the motherboard slot and one into the dimm.2 but the one on dimm.2 does not show up even in bios after updating it, i am also using 2 1080 ti's in slot 1 and slot 3. I am not sure what to do...

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0070
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.37V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090 FTW Ultra/EKWB Quantum Vector Nickel/Plexi
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,284

    That’s a 28 lane CPU. I think you have exceeded the PCIe lane allocation with your hardware.


    **https://ark.intel.com/products/12376...p-to-4-30-GHz-

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Mr. Fox PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)- NA -
    MotherboardEVGA Z490 Dark K|NGP|N
    Processori9-10900KF @ 5.6GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB Patriot Viper DDR4-4000 @ 4600
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 K|NGP|N
    MonitorPredator XB271HU 2560x1440 165Hz
    Storage #1512GB 970 EVO x 2 (OS Boot Drives)
    Storage #2960GB Samung Enterprise NVMe SSD x 2 | 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerMO_RA 360 Radiator +1/2 HP Water Chiller
    CasePraxis WetBench
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA P2 1600W
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse SteelSeries Sensei Wireless
    Headset Skullcandy Crusher Wireless S6CRW
    Mouse Pad Black Anodized Aluminum
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506 5.1 Speaker System
    OS W10 Ent LTSC 2019 / W7 Ultimate (Dual Boot)
    Accessory #1 Hailea HC-500A 1/2HP~790Watt Water Chiller
    Mr. Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    127

    Quote Originally Posted by Arbab Arsalah View Post
    I'm using a x299 extreme motherboard with a i7 7820x I installed a m.2 ssd into the motherboard slot and one into the dimm.2 but the one on dimm.2 does not show up even in bios after updating it, i am also using 2 1080 ti's in slot 1 and slot 3. I am not sure what to do...
    What are your BIOS settings? I have mine set to AHCI with all CPU storage options set to disabled and all four of my Samsung NVMe drives work fine (two on one DMM.2 card and two on the other DIMM.2 card).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	181112171330.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	103.7 KB 
ID:	76931
    WRAITH // EVGA Z490 Dark K|NGP|N | Core i9-10900KF @ 5.6GHz | Optimus Signature Water Block on Bare Die | EVGA RTX 3090 K|NGP|N | 16GB Patriot Viper 4 Blackout DDR4 @ 4600 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 P2 | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Chiller | MO-RA3 360 Pro Radiator | Dual XSPC Photon 270 | Windows 7 Ultimate > Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 2019 > Windows 10 Enterprise 2004 Cancer Edition > Linux Mint

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    303

    According to the manual your ssd should be installed in M2_1 which is the socket next to the memory. You can select PCH for it in the Bios.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Fox View Post
    What are your BIOS settings? I have mine set to AHCI with all CPU storage options set to disabled and all four of my Samsung NVMe drives work fine (two on one DMM.2 card and two on the other DIMM.2 card).
    Hi! Does this mean, that you can insert TWO DIMM.2 cards on Rampage VI motherboard, making a total of FOUR NVMe M.2 SSDs on the two DIMM.2 cards? I'm a bit confused, becouse in the images I see only one DIMM.2 slot on this motherboard. Is there another one, that I missed?
    Last edited by PsiEmitter; 11-17-2018 at 12:26 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    28

    Sorry, it's my bad, now I see you use Apex and not Extreme.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •