Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array etacarinae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Asus ROG PG279Q: top, left-hand corner backlight pulsing every second.

    Has anyone else's PG279Q suffered from this issue and if so how did you resolve it?
    1440p 144Hz DisplayPort monitor signal being received from an EVGA Titan X SC.
    I've switched DisplayPort cables — still persists.
    I've turned off G-sync — still persists.
    Dropping native monitor refresh rate down — still persists.

    However, switching to HDMI @ 1440p 60Hz (maximum refresh rate) does resolve it entirely.
    I have two of these and the other one is not reproducing the issue.
    Intel i7 3960X @ 4.6GHz | Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD64GX3M8A2133C9 64GB | ASUS Rampage IV Extreme | 2*ASUS ROG PG279Q | EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X SC | 2*Corsair Force GT 256GB in R0 [OS Drive] | Samsung 850 Pro 1TB [Secondary Drive] | Hitachi Deskstar 7K4000 Raid 6 [8*4TB — Media Array] | PAN-UJ-235A Blu-Ray Slot Load | PAN-UJ-875A DVD Slot Load | Corsair AX1200i | Corsair H100i | Lian-Li PC-V2120X | LSI 9271-8i w/ Intel RES2SV240 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,387

    Kind of ironic that your monitor is a pulsar given your name etacarinae!

    But not very amusing to you no doubt.

    I've never had that here. Is the monitor still under warranty?

    If the HDMI cable solved it for all resolutions and refresh rates I'd wonder if something else was at fault but since you have two monitors and it sounds like HDMI only solves for some refresh rates, it sounds like the monitor has a fault...

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array etacarinae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Kind of ironic that your monitor is a pulsar given your name etacarinae!
    My favourite stellar system encapsulated in my favourite nebula capable of my favourite type of novae — the hypernova.

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    But not very amusing to you no doubt.

    I've never had that here. Is the monitor still under warranty?
    Haha, nah it's a good catch on your behalf!

    I bought both in 2016 and there's a 36-month warranty so I believe so. I had already intended on sending both back to ASUS as they require the firmware update to resolve the vertical lines on the left and right side of the monitor that requires a power off/on to fix.

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post

    If the HDMI cable solved it for all resolutions and refresh rates I'd wonder if something else was at fault but since you have two monitors and it sounds like HDMI only solves for some refresh rates, it sounds like the monitor has a fault...
    Yep, I've ended up narrowing it down to 144Hz being the culprit. No pulsing at 120Hz or below with g-sync either on or off.
    Last edited by etacarinae; 11-18-2018 at 09:47 PM.
    Intel i7 3960X @ 4.6GHz | Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD64GX3M8A2133C9 64GB | ASUS Rampage IV Extreme | 2*ASUS ROG PG279Q | EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X SC | 2*Corsair Force GT 256GB in R0 [OS Drive] | Samsung 850 Pro 1TB [Secondary Drive] | Hitachi Deskstar 7K4000 Raid 6 [8*4TB — Media Array] | PAN-UJ-235A Blu-Ray Slot Load | PAN-UJ-875A DVD Slot Load | Corsair AX1200i | Corsair H100i | Lian-Li PC-V2120X | LSI 9271-8i w/ Intel RES2SV240 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,387

    Quote Originally Posted by etacarinae View Post
    already intended on sending both back to ASUS as they require the firmware update
    I had that in mind actually but thought...nooo, will have had that done by now. Probably best to bite the bullet and get that done...but insist they test the flashing monitor...sinse that might be unrelated....in facct probably unrelated if the other monitor isn't doing it...maybe update one and RMA the flasher

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •