Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Maximus X Code - TPM module support?

    Hello,

    please, does the Maximus X Code support any of the two available ASUS TPM modules?

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboard-Acc...es/TPM-M-R2-0/
    https://www.asus.com/Motherboard-Acc...es/TPM-L-R2-0/

    I did not find it in the manual, but the web site where I purchased the MB sais, that it supports.

    Thank you.
    Best regards,
    Stefan

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K @ 5.1 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 4000MHz C17
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Hydro Copper
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1x2 Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB in RAID 0
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyROG THOR 1,200W
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G903 PowerPlay
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10 (2004)
    Network RouterASUS AX11000

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    140

    I had this same question a few months back. ASUS supports Intel PTT (Platform Trusted Technology).

    It’s similar to TPM but it’s baked into the mobo. It works with Bitlocker etc.

    Code does not have a TPM header so you’ll need to use PTT*

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Embedded TPM. More secure, in theory. Also more hassle if you want to migrate your encrypted data to another platform.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII Hero
    ProcessorIntel 1070k @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    437

    Quote Originally Posted by btrach144 View Post
    I had this same question a few months back. ASUS supports Intel PTT (Platform Trusted Technology).

    It’s similar to TPM but it’s baked into the mobo. It works with Bitlocker etc.

    Code does not have a TPM header so you’ll need to use PTT*
    It is an implementation of TPM - not just similar.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Thank you for the answers. I tried to search in the forum, but did not find any previous topics.

    So, i will read about PTT, did not hear about it before. On my previous work computer I had classic TPM module, but that mobo was from other vendor

    I need to encrypt the disk with bitlocker and want to use a virtual smart card. Bitlocker was mentioned that it works with TPP. Do you know, virtual smart cards are also working with the TPP?

    Maybe somebody of you have experience and know it, so I do not need to spend so many time with it.

    Thank you.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII Hero
    ProcessorIntel 1070k @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    437

    Don;t know about virtual smart cards but bitlocker disk encryption will work.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII Hero
    ProcessorIntel 1070k @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    437

    Don;t know about virtual smart cards but bitlocker encryption will work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •