Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero Memory Configuration

    Hey Everyone,

    Apologies if this is covered under another thread I have tried searching but have not found much relating to my configuration. I have had a heck of a time getting my new build up and running. So much so that *I have started over with a completed new configuration. The latest in my tail of woes is less extreme then the initial. I am trying to get my memory to run at the packaged speed. I have been faced with stability issues running over 2133. Does anyone have any guidance they can offer? Sincerest thanks in advance.

    I have tried
    • Loading the D.O.C.P Profile - system posts but windows eventually blue screens with MEMORY_MANAGEMENT
    • Manually Setting the Memory Frequency to 3000 - same as above but last a bit longer
    • Same as above but upping the voltage from Auto (1.20) to 1.35 (the tested voltage - same as above
    • Manually setting the primary timings


    My System
    • NZXT 500I Chassis
    • Corsair RMX750x
    • Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
    • 16GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3000C16D-16GTZR
    • AMD Ryzen 2700
    • Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 8GB
    • Samsung 970EVO 500GB NVME

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    854

    The RAM kit you have I reckon is Hynix A die, not ideal for Ryzen. You will probably need to go manual on setup. Use Thaiphoon Burner to check, view this video.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R7 2700X - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3533MHz C14 DC - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I have four kits of those Hynix GSKill memory and they are not easy to get set up.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    New here, but went through the same foolishness on my Strix x470. Upgraded from my old32GB Crucial 2400Mhz setup that I carried over from my previous Intel build to a 32GB 3200Mhz setup, I went through 4 kits to get one right.

    Corsair C16 LPX kit wouldn't even POST at 3200 (returned it and didn't even bother replacing, I wanted RGB RAM), the first RGB Pro C16 kit would post but fail memtest, 2nd kit was fine. I also ordered an RGB Pro CL14 kit which gave me fits even though its B-Die - memtest would fail a run, pass a run then fail a run. Replaced the Strix with a Crosshair VII on a lark figuring, 4 kits of RAM with issues, maybe it's something else, and voila, problem solved. The CL14 kit passed 2 runs (13 hours). I have a replacement SSD coming so I'll get a clean Windows build on it and should be good to go. I'd stick with a CL14 kit, would've saved me a fair bit of time, aside from the bad Strix.

    Suppose I'll RMA the Strix...I'm not swapping a motherboard for the 4th time since summer haha

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I appreciate the replies I ended up returning the ram. Using Corsair RGB Vengeance 3200 now. I can only get it to 2133 stable but I am tired of messing with it. It sure is hard these days to be an AMD loyalist.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •