Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    XI HERO - cold boot with XMP enabled is tripple boot?

    Hi guys,

    I’ve recently built a RIG and because my old PC was so old, I’m not really in the loop as to what’s the norm with the new hardware.
    Since the start of my build, on a cold boot, *my PC boots up once and turns off instantly and then boots again where it will boot normally into windows. Once I enabled XMP for the RAM (profile 1), it turns on and off twice before booting into windows the third time.
    I’ve disabled XMP as it seems something is wrong but the PC still double boots on a cold boot.

    I am receiving some stuttering in games SOMETIMES like during loading screens and now and then in games , but since both games are so new, it’s hard to tell if it’s my PC.

    Motherboard - Asus Maximus hero XI
    CPU - i7 9700k
    CPU cooler - Corsair h150i*
    RAM - 16GB Corsair RGB vengeance 3000mhz
    PSU - Corsair HX850i*
    GPU - Asus STRIX OC 2080*
    Case - Corsair 570x
    OS drive - Samsung *970 m.2 NVME
    Games - WD Black 1TB *

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Bump

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    967

    The double boot up is normal when power had been disconnected from the motherboard. The system is "training" and forming baseline for your configuration and then applying normal set timings with applicable sub timings on the second boot. Baselines are lost when the board powers down.

    The triple boot is needed when set timings (including under XMP) are a bit further from plug and play. It needs 3 cycles to properly set sub timings.

    Is your memory on the QVL?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    The double boot up is normal when power had been disconnected from the motherboard. The system is "training" and forming baseline for your configuration and then applying normal set timings with applicable sub timings on the second boot. Baselines are lost when the board powers down.

    The triple boot is needed when set timings (including under XMP) are a bit further from plug and play. It needs 3 cycles to properly set sub timings.

    Is your memory on the QVL?
    Thanks for your reply!

    Nope, unfortunately the only Corsair memory on the tested QVL is 2133MHZ.
    *

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Exclamation Tripple boot

    Hi all, I also have a similar issue of tripple boot since I have updated my bios to 0602 from the shipping one. The shipping bios had the double boot feature.

    My rig is :

    Intel i7 8086K
    Maximus Hero XI
    16GB GSkill TridentZ 3200 MHz CL16 (it's in the QVL)
    250GB Samsung 860 EVO
    Windows 10 Home

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Make sure that your memory is stable with the new bios. If you prefer just revert back to the original bios. It was working for you so no need to fix what is not broke eh?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •