Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array DJ Bully PC Specs
    DJ Bully PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Novatech i7
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VI
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C14D-32GTZ @ 3600C16
    Graphics Card #1Asrock Phantom Gaming Radeon VII
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Vega 64 Water Cooled
    Graphics Card #3Sapphire Vega 64 Water Cooled
    Sound Cardonboard
    Monitor3 x iiyama G-MASTER GB2888UHSU (4k)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M.2 NvMe SSD 250GB (system)
    Storage #21 x Crucial MX-200 500GB SSD's, 2 x Samsung 860 1TB, WD Black 1TB & 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH D15
    CaseNZXT Phantom Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000W T2 Supernova Platinum
    Keyboard Cougar 700k
    Mouse Cougar 700M
    Mouse Pad Obutto keyboard & Mouse table
    Headset/Speakers Phillips 2+1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear all singing all dancing + 8 port switch
    Accessory #1 Obutto Ozone v2 triple monitor stand/sim racing rig
    Accessory #2 Fantec Clubsport V1 Wheel,BMW GT wheel, V2 Pedals
    Accessory #3 Saitek Pro Flight X-55 Rhino
    DJ Bully's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    22

    Question Rampage 6 Extreme wont detect HDD, and loses BIOS settings after power off!

    Hi all, I wonder if you can help? A friend of mine has the above motherboard he installed the latest BIOS and it was briefly working ok. Using 7960X processor and 32GB of G.skill DDR4 3600mhz C16.

    At first it would not detect any of his SATA drives (he has 3 installed) but only the M.2 sammy drive was detected. After pressing the reset CMOS button on the back of the machine it then detected everything fine, and we were able to install windows and do some mild overclocking.

    After this time, he has at some point unplugged the machine to tidy up the build and move the unit to final location. And now it will not detect the SATA drives again after the power off. Also the time/date is also resetting along with the BIOS settings. It's like the battery is dead possibly, but it should be brand new! Also it's a bit of a pain to even get to this battery due to all the cumbersome LED bling all over the place. Pressing the CMOS reset does not bring them back like it did before.

    Are we missing something, should this brand new battery be dead already? Is there something interfering with the SATA HDD detection?

    Does anyone have any experience like this or know what the issue maybe?

    Many Thanks!

    Bully.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array idahosurge PC Specs
    idahosurge PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7820X @ 46 GHz / 3200 MHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ (2 Kits 32 GB)
    Graphics Card #1Zotac Amp Extreme GTX 1080 Ti
    MonitorAlienware AW3418DW 34" GSync
    Storage #1OS - Samsung 850 Pro 513 GB
    Storage #2Backup - Samsung 850 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Archon IB-E x2
    CaseCooler Master HAF X
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G703 Lightspeed
    OS Windows 10 Pro - 1709
    idahosurge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    It should not be dead, but things happen and maybe he got the one in a million that died.

    - unplug and plug back in all connections,
    - with the PS off clear CMOS,
    - change the battery.

    If it still has issues remove everything from the case and lay it on a table or piece of cardboard. Only plug in what is required to boot into Windows, leave everything else unplugged.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I go with change the battery and make sure that all the PSU connectors are correctly fitted and that none of the little metal inserts of the PSU plugs have come loose.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Doubt the battery but anything is possible.
    Id be leaning more towards losing the 5V standby and/or a short. For it to be working fine then not working after "tidying up" screams loose connection or short.
    First thing I would do is pull it all out and put the board on a box and add components one at a time.
    CMOS battery shouldn't come into play unless all power is removed.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    You have a short somewhere. Check for damaged USB inputs; had plenty of them from customers. They dead short easily.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array DJ Bully PC Specs
    DJ Bully PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Novatech i7
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VI
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C14D-32GTZ @ 3600C16
    Graphics Card #1Asrock Phantom Gaming Radeon VII
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Vega 64 Water Cooled
    Graphics Card #3Sapphire Vega 64 Water Cooled
    Sound Cardonboard
    Monitor3 x iiyama G-MASTER GB2888UHSU (4k)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M.2 NvMe SSD 250GB (system)
    Storage #21 x Crucial MX-200 500GB SSD's, 2 x Samsung 860 1TB, WD Black 1TB & 2TB HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH D15
    CaseNZXT Phantom Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000W T2 Supernova Platinum
    Keyboard Cougar 700k
    Mouse Cougar 700M
    Mouse Pad Obutto keyboard & Mouse table
    Headset/Speakers Phillips 2+1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear all singing all dancing + 8 port switch
    Accessory #1 Obutto Ozone v2 triple monitor stand/sim racing rig
    Accessory #2 Fantec Clubsport V1 Wheel,BMW GT wheel, V2 Pedals
    Accessory #3 Saitek Pro Flight X-55 Rhino
    DJ Bully's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    22

    Hey everyone, thanks for the replies

    We have sussed it out, He had flashed the BIOS with the EZ BIOS tool inside the BIOS. He said that it completed very quickly, nearly instant. I thought that sounded not good, as my Crosshair board takes a good few minutes to update. I got him to update via the USB flashback method, which I have found to be the most reliable method. And all is now working as expected!

    We're going to try some OC tonight, hoping for at least 4.2 all core at around 1.1V or hopefully less. This is on Noctua NH-D15 air cooler. I think 4.3 will be the limit without a delid.

    Thanks all

    Fun times ahead!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •