Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 14 of 14
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    So i had to test those scenarios...
    I was dumb thinking my RAID0 wehre from the SSDs on DIMM.2, i didnt noticed cause i have 3x 970 PRO. I thought the one on the mainboard was my C: drive.
    Why does Asus name the NVME slot on the mainboard and the one on DIMM.2 both M.2_1, this is so stupid...

    I now enabled storage controller on CPU for the PCIEX8_4 and put an MSI double NVME card on it, then i build a software RAID0 with Windows onboard tools:


    I have 2 GPUs so the ASUS Card isnt an option for me (or just using 2 slots). Read speed is more important for what i do, so the software option is fine for me.

    My Setup now:
    System C: is on DIMM.2 M.2_1 non RAID, single drive (Samsung 970 PRO)
    Programs E: is on PCIEX4_1 and mainboard M.2_1, Hardware RAID0 with Intel Premium RAID (enabled in SATA controler section) both Samsung 970 PRO
    Volume F: is on PCIEX8_4 with the MSI double NVME card, setting up the PCIEX8_4 to "DATA, VROC not supportet" in CPU Storage controller section. Software RAID enabled in Windows disk management.

    EDIT:
    I'll remove tha HW RAID (E as i dont need it, so i can turn of that RAID crap in BIOS

  2. #12
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Sadly been there JustineThyme and still wearing that particular tee shirt. Have you tried the Hyperx16 card route yet?
    Yes I did go that route, it was short lived.
    Samsungs would work as a software raid, no boot.
    32GB optane drives would work but too small.
    The only thing that worked as intened was the 2.5 inch 900P drives with a U2-M2 adapter. Its awesome to see a 10,000 MB/S sequential read wiith 4 of them.
    The HyperX16 card should work now with the New 905 M2 drives with a bootable VROC array, to get the 4 drive potential thats a $2K venture. The drives are like 380GB each and you also sacrifice SLI as you run out of PCIE lanes with the HyperX16 taking 16 lanes.

    Im sitting right now with 2x PCIE 900P drives in a VROC raid0 with a key. Going by the book this isnt supposed to be possible as the drives are two separate VMD controllers and the install was anything but by the book. Finding drivers that would work (not on any asus site) was the hardest part. When the new CPUs are available Im going to either a 9960X or the 9980XE and im going to go back to single drive for the better 4K performance.

    4 900P U2-M2 drives
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4drives.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	68.2 KB 
ID:	77190

    PCIE 900P single
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	900P single.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	39.5 KB 
ID:	77191

    900P VROC raid0 CURRENT SET UP
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	900P opt.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	35.3 KB 
ID:	77192

    IRSTe all drives no key

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IRSTe all drives.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	93.4 KB 
ID:	77193

    IRSTe all drives with VROC key

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	vro with key.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	96.2 KB 
ID:	77194
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 11-27-2018 at 04:58 AM.

  3. #13
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Quote Originally Posted by Deepbluee View Post
    I m wondering what do you think about make raid 0 with 2 Samsung 960 pros over PCH ?

    Do you think it's a slight improvement or its better to use a single drive in non-raid form?
    There is an ever so slight improvement in sequential read but a large loss in the 4k department. IMO they are better left as a single drive. I tested everything that was available at launch and even tried 2X 1TB 960 pros......Sent one back due to sticking with the 900Ps and using up all my lanes there.

    As for 2GPUs and a HyperX16 it can be done but one of your GPUs will be at X8. I tested that too and noted not a bit of difference with one at X16 or both at X16. Guessing its the SLI limitations.

    I have 2 1080TIs and 2 900Ps so my PCIE slots are all populated. Only one 960 pro on the DIM.2 because one side is disabled as soon as you enable the PCIE_4 for drive use. Yes Ive pushed this puppy to the limits with every single lane used up. Wish there were more, this is an attractive point for a Thread ripper.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Cheers mate - had to smile at the numbers posted 10K is pretty darn cool I must say.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •