Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    ROG Rampage VI Extreme - two memory kits

    Hi, I 'inherited' in nice setup, which I cannot stabilise, runs fine for at least a few hours before freezing / restarting, etc.
    This is the setup:

    ROG Rampage VI Extreme (1503 Bios)
    Core i9-7900X
    Corsair Vengence LPX 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4 DRAM 2400MHz C16 Memory Kit (X2 - two separate kits) - total of 32GB
    EVGA Supernova 1200W Fully Modular 80+ Platinum Power Supply

    As you can see, it has two separate 16GB Ram kits, which are currently installed as one kit in the left side of the CPU and one kit in the right side of the CPU. The system will be stable for some period of time (sometimes 24+ hours), but then freezes / restart, etc. This is pretty consistent.
    Reading the manual, I see there is A1, B1, C1, D1 and A2, B2, C2, D2. When installing 4 modules, you should install in A1, B1, C1, D1.
    So, my question is, should I install kit one in A1, B1, C1, D1, and kit two in A2, B2, C2, D2? Would this help with stability?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array cekeu PC Specs
    cekeu PC Specs
    MotherboardROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)GSKILL DDR4 32GB (4*8) F4-3200C14Q-32GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Extreme Core
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG27UQ
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SSD 970 EVO NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2BARRACUDA PRO (8TB) ST8000DM005
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR Hydro Series™ H150i PRO RGB 360mm
    CaseLian Li PC 011 WXC
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Platinum SSR-1300PD
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Studio® R1800TIII
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    120

    With the I9 7900X CPU would be better with memories of at least 2666Mhz for the XMP profile. If the two kits are the same it should be okay. Have you correctly notched all the modules. If you can try a single kit with 2 memory strips on each side to test some time if it's more stable.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Sorry, what do you mean by "Have you correctly notched all the modules"?
    Regards.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Matched is what he may be saying.


    How are you setting up your ram in the bios? It is not ideal to have unmatched kits even if they have the same model numbers they may not be identical in how their SPD is programmed. This difference can and often does cause instability.

    You could try and set XMP profile as the method of OC for your ram in the bios and see if that sorts your issue out. Also look at the event viewer to see what is causing the shutdown.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array cekeu PC Specs
    cekeu PC Specs
    MotherboardROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)GSKILL DDR4 32GB (4*8) F4-3200C14Q-32GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Extreme Core
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG27UQ
    Storage #1SAMSUNG SSD 970 EVO NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2BARRACUDA PRO (8TB) ST8000DM005
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR Hydro Series™ H150i PRO RGB 360mm
    CaseLian Li PC 011 WXC
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Platinum SSR-1300PD
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Studio® R1800TIII
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    120

    Quote Originally Posted by speedyrazor View Post
    Sorry, what do you mean by "Have you correctly notched all the modules"?
    Regards.
    ''Correctly insert the RAM in their location''

    Sorry, I don't usually speak English

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    241

    Install a single kit in A1,B1,C1, D1 and see how it runs for a few days.
    Mixed kits are the biggest problem getting memory to run stable.

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    +1 on dont use mixed kits. Lucky to get them to run at all let alone OC. That being said Id also expect issues from the older and slower modules. Check the QVL for kits known to work well, FYI......2400 isnt on it....

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Shanester PC Specs
    Shanester PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS EXTREME / ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    Processori9-9900K / i9-7900X
    Shanester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    52

    It wouldn't be a bad idea to run a ram test either and verify that they are all working correctly.
    Memtest is a wonderful tool.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    OK, I found, thankfully, I could return my current Ram and purchase a new single kit.
    I was looking at purchasing this (which is in my budget):

    G.SKILL F4-2800C16Q-32GRK(XMP) 32GB ( 4x 8GB ) DS - 16-16-16-36 - 1.2

    Which is on the AVL list. Is this s good choice for my CPU?

    Regards.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Good man, and I am sure you going to enjoy your system. Thanks for posting back your outcome.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •