Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Crosshair 7 hero outdated drivers

    Hey,

    I am a crosshair 7 hero user and was surprised by the lack of updated drivers which are not posted on our support page. Given this I decided to use my rig as a test bed to try new driver, in particular the audio ones (ASUS state the crosshair 7 hero uses sonic suite with sonic link - which can only be found the UAD audio drivers with the UWP applications of sonic studio - but list the outdated HDA Audio drivers with the unsupported win32 sonic suite application).

    I am writing this post to update fellow crosshair users on what I find from the new drivers so that either Asus updates the support page with new drivers or that users can try the drivers I tested and found actually work on our boards.

    here is the link to the audio driver thread I am active on, with my latest findings:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...d=1#post746897

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array liakou PC Specs
    liakou PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 4000C17@3600C14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Vega 64
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB+500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro RGB
    CaseCoolermaster H500M
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 850
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G PRO Wireless
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N VDSL2 + ASUS RT-AC86U

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    I have also started a thread about the neglected support pages of our boards. I have even sent a complaint email to ASUS support (Complaints) a week ago from which I received a reply saying "we are very sorry and we will forward this to the relevant department".
    I have also tried the UAD drivers myself. I did it 4 times so far but I keep returning to the HDA ones because the UWP app of Sonic Studio 3, is not working properly for me. To be specific the issues I experience are 2.
    First, the app cannot detect any applications in the "Application manager" and second the "Advanced mode" of SS3 is not being saved as default as I want it. SS3 keeps switching to "Basic mode" every time that I start my PC anew. I came to believe that it's most likely an SS3 version issue, since while trying I realised that version 3.12.x. of SS3 UWP is detecting all audio applications running under the "application manager" while the latest 3.13.3.0(if I recall correctly) does not. So for the time being Im waiting for a new version of the UWP SS3 to be released and see if those issues are fixed.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by liakou View Post
    I have also started a thread about the neglected support pages of our boards. I have even sent a complaint email to ASUS support (Complaints) a week ago from which I received a reply saying "we are very sorry and we will forward this to the relevant department".
    I have also tried the UAD drivers myself. I did it 4 times so far but I keep returning to the HDA ones because the UWP app of Sonic Studio 3, is not working properly for me. To be specific the issues I experience are 2.
    First, the app cannot detect any applications in the "Application manager" and second the "Advanced mode" of SS3 is not being saved as default as I want it. SS3 keeps switching to "Basic mode" every time that I start my PC anew. I came to believe that it's most likely an SS3 version issue, since while trying I realised that version 3.12.x. of SS3 UWP is detecting all audio applications running under the "application manager" while the latest 3.13.3.0(if I recall correctly) does not. So for the time being Im waiting for a new version of the UWP SS3 to be released and see if those issues are fixed.
    I think I saw you post on that. I tested the new UAD driver in my last post, where it works, applies the profiles to applications correctly, but the application manager does not save and have crash dumps. I am running the same version of sonic suite and saw the same things in the previous version, and also waiting on the updates to the uwp apps.

    edit: sonic suite got an update, 3.13.5, I shall update with my findings

    edit: the 3.13.5 update proves to work perfectly, application manager works, effects and profiles working, nahimic service not crashing, UAD 100% working on Crosshair 7 hero. You should give them a try Liakou.
    Last edited by DJ Asthma; 11-27-2018 at 10:55 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    the 3.13.5 update proves to work perfectly, application manager works, effects and profiles working, nahimic service not crashing, UAD 100% working on Crosshair 7 hero

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array CornFlakes PC Specs
    CornFlakes PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix B350F-Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 1600X
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming 8G
    Sound CardSupremeFX S1220A
    MonitorIiyama ProLite GB2488HSU-B1 144Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 250GB NVMe
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKL Alpenföhn Brocken 2
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 450D
    Power Supplybe quiet! Pure Power 9 CM 600W
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wireless
    Headset HyperX Cloud Silver Pro
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterFritzbox 7362SL
    Accessory #1 RaspberryPi 3 B+ Cluster of 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    I'm using the SDI Tool. It's a driver installer cut down to the min. and free of Bloatware.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array liakou PC Specs
    liakou PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 4000C17@3600C14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Vega 64
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB+500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro RGB
    CaseCoolermaster H500M
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 850
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G PRO Wireless
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N VDSL2 + ASUS RT-AC86U

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Thanks for the info. Will try it tomorrow

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array liakou PC Specs
    liakou PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 4000C17@3600C14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Vega 64
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB+500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro RGB
    CaseCoolermaster H500M
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 850
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G PRO Wireless
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N VDSL2 + ASUS RT-AC86U

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Well I can confirm that application manager is working correctly now, as well as profiles. But the issue that SS3 keeps switching back to "Basic mode" whenever I restart my PC is still there unfortunatelly. And this doesn't happen with the normal SS3 desktop application. I wonder, is this working OK for you or is it only me? If you select "Advanced mode" in SS3, doens't it switch back to "basic" when you restart Windows? Please try that for me when you have time, otherwise I need to search for other causes if it's Ok for you.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    hey there,

    I did the test as requested, and it does open on the basic tab and applies the basic selected studio effect, but it only applies the basic effect when you open the application, not on startup, if you don't open it after after booting and set profiles in the advanced tab before pc booting, then the advance profiles will still be applied after the pc has been restarted, and shut down. So it does not by default apply the basic profiles as a default after restart.

    I hope what I am saying makes sense.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array liakou PC Specs
    liakou PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470
    ProcessorRyzen 3900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 4000C17@3600C14
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Vega 64
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB+500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro RGB
    CaseCoolermaster H500M
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 850
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G PRO Wireless
    Headset Corsair VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterZTE ZXHN H168N VDSL2 + ASUS RT-AC86U

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Hey, thanks for checking it out. Yes, what you say makes sense to me, but unfortunatelly it is something that I tested already with no positive results.. For example I did set 2 different media players with different presets, one "Gaming" and the other "Music" and played a same music track with both. Obviously each player sounded different according with the preset set..so far so good, but then I restarted and didn't open SS3. Instead I played a same track again with both media players and they sound exactly the same after the restart..so apparently SS3 has been reset again... so no luck for me I guess...need to wait more or figure it out myself eventually. Thanks again for the help though!

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by liakou View Post
    Hey, thanks for checking it out. Yes, what you say makes sense to me, but unfortunatelly it is something that I tested already with no positive results.. For example I did set 2 different media players with different presets, one "Gaming" and the other "Music" and played a same music track with both. Obviously each player sounded different according with the preset set..so far so good, but then I restarted and didn't open SS3. Instead I played a same track again with both media players and they sound exactly the same after the restart..so apparently SS3 has been reset again... so no luck for me I guess...need to wait more or figure it out myself eventually. Thanks again for the help though!
    Sorry to hear that, i used groove to play the same track, i would open sonic studio while playing, where i would hear it change from the advance mapped profile to the basic profile

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •