Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Z270-E, 7700k, Stuck at Full Turbo at Idle on Cold Boot

    Hey, I'm having an issue with my 7700k being stuck at max turbo x48 multiplier and max voltage upon cold boot. It never downclocks even if idle for a few hours.
    If I restart, the CPU is no longer stuck at full turbo and will downclock when idle and bounce around the core ratios as usual.

    I have reset my power plan to defaults, I'm using the balanced profile. On that first cold boot, selecting power saving or high performance profiles makes no difference, I've tried switching back and forth. Upon restart, balanced profile performs as normal.

    The overclock is pretty modest to keep temps down and has been stable for over a year. It was tested with several 8hr+ HCI Memtest runs along with realbench and I have no reliability issues, it never crashes.

    I have reset the BIOS to optimized defaults and reloaded my OC settings and I still have the same issue.

    Anyone else having the same issue? Any suggestions on what I should do? Does this look like a BIOS issue or an OS issue?


    Thanks!


    7700k @ 4.8GHz, 1.232v Vcore, -2 AVX
    Z270-E BIOS 1302
    16GB 3600 CL16 Trident Z RAM @ stock & 1.35v
    Strix GTX 1080 11Gbps, +40MHz GPU, +1000MHz Mem
    500GB 850 EVO SSD

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I am assuming you have AI Suite installed?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    No actually, I don't have AI suite or Aura software installed. OC is done in the BIOS.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Ok that is very odd then.

    Would you be so kind as to list each BIOS change you have made please. You can post screen shot if that is easier.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    [QUOTE=HiVizMan;747361]Ok that is very odd then.
    Last edited by kgh00007; 12-01-2018 at 08:02 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Out of interest what Power plan are you using in OS?

    Might be worth while to simply reflash your bios as it is possible there may be a bit of scrambled code causing this. If the issue is after the handover to OS then software is to blame, often in the form of the OS power plan.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    The mystery continues, I have reflashed the BIOS and the issue continues.

    I have also reset Windows power plans to default using the power options and by running 'powercfg -restoredefaultschemes' in command prompt.

    Edit. Cold boot after turning off for an hour or so and the problem is there, CPU stuck on Max Turbo Ratio. Restart fixes this!

    And I'm using the Balanced profile as stated in the first post!
    Last edited by kgh00007; 12-04-2018 at 05:37 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Hmm that is particularly strange especially considering the cpu only has a default max turbo of 45x

    So if you have set bios defaults and it still does what it is doing I am frankly amazed.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    I'm not sure if you're reading my posts correctly. Thanks anyway for trying to help.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Yeah I misread one part my friend. I saw you say you had the same problem with default and did not see the part where you had put your OC back in.

    I do recall asking you to list all changes to the bios that you made. As far as I can see you did not respond to that request. Hence I think quiet naturally assumed you had made none.

    But all good.

    Save your profile in BIOS tools.
    F5 in bios please. Reset to optimised defaults.
    Set multi to sync all cores
    Set 48

    Do not change anything else.

    F10 and boot into OS.

    Once in OS power down completely. Then after a few minutes power up and tell me if your CPU is still sticking 48x and does not follow the intel Speed Step or C states protocols.

    I apologise for not getting that you had reset the same OC. But lets see if we can get this mystery sorted now that I am on the same page. I would still like to see ALL changes made to bios please.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •