Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Question BSOD while playing games

    Hello i'm new to forums so i'll do my best

    a year ago a bought a custom desktop pc from a friend And when i play heavy games like GTA V or Dying Light i get a BSOD within the first 10 to 15 minutes
    my specs are:

    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
    CPU: Intel Core i7 2600 @ 3.40GHz Sandy Bridge 32nm Technology
    RAM: 10,0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 668MHz (9-9-9-24)
    MOBO: ASUSTeK Computer INC. Maximus IV Extreme (LGA1155)
    Graphics: 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (MSI)
    Storage: 232GB Samsung SSD 860 EVO 250GB ATA Device (SATA (SSD))

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    For starters your technology is 8 years old and right on the edge of minimum specs for such an intensive game and short of the recommended specs. Hope you got a screaming deal on the box, like $100 or less as the only thing up to date is the Samsung SSD.
    A few things. Probably overheating something, run HW monitor while playing so you can see the min/max on everything. Give it a good cleaning and make sure you have good airflow. what cooling are you using?
    If the airflow is OK try dialing back the game settings.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array GamerWGlasses PC Specs
    GamerWGlasses PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximusXI CODE
    ProcessorIntel 9900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce 980
    Sound CardRealtek / HDMI
    Monitor42" TV
    Storage #1Western Digital Black NVMe 500GB
    Storage #23TB + 6TB HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Pro
    CaseFractal Design R6 GunMetal TG
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus+ 1000W
    Keyboard Roccatt Mechanical (Blue)
    Headset HyperX Cloud Revolver S
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS WRT-AC3200

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by GanjaReaper420 View Post
    Hello i'm new to forums so i'll do my best

    a year ago a bought a custom desktop pc from a friend And when i play heavy games like GTA V or Dying Light i get a BSOD within the first 10 to 15 minutes
    my specs are:

    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
    CPU: Intel Core i7 2600 @ 3.40GHz Sandy Bridge 32nm Technology
    RAM: 10,0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 668MHz (9-9-9-24)
    MOBO: ASUSTeK Computer INC. Maximus IV Extreme (LGA1155)
    Graphics: 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 (MSI)
    Storage: 232GB Samsung SSD 860 EVO 250GB ATA Device (SATA (SSD))
    I am also not seeing in your specificiations on what power supply you have such as Make/Model/80+ Rating/Wattage/Age.

    If the PSU is 8 years old, it may be reaching the end of it's life and is unable to be as efficient as it once was. PSU do lose efficiency over time.

    What is the BSOD error?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    697

    May not be a likely culprit but are your drivers up to date?

    Memory could also be the cause. Memtest your RAM.
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    979

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    ...Probably overheating something, run HW monitor while playing so you can see the min/max on everything. Give it a good cleaning and make sure you have good airflow. what cooling are you using?
    If the airflow is OK try dialing back the game settings.

    This is also my opinion if I had to guess at it based on your OP. Overheating can and will cause such symptoms.
    Davemon50

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array TimeLion724's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    " The speed of the fallen one does not change..."

    GUIDE TO FIXING BSOD ERRORS

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Bsod....

    Hey y'all i'm new to this forum and to desktop gaming I have a Asus Maximus Extreme 4 And i got Random Bsod's while playing games like Pubg Dying Light But also sometimes random when i'm doing stuff on the desktop
    Attachment 80372

    Attachment 80373

    Attachment 80374

    Attachment 80375
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 60016706_608464539653461_5270238250185785344_n.jpg  

    60511158_328749721107727_4513712484351213568_n.jpg  

    60297206_405049503669037_3417997019254358016_n.jpg  

    60246739_390876458167905_130243878228852736_n.jpg  


  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    In my experience BSOD can be cause by dead fans which cause overheat and a faulty ram, but in some cases it's not so I would suggest to break it down it first by parts. For laptop I would say to make a fresh install of the O.S, for the PC it's good to start on removing the vid card and use the built-in graphics cards, if it still doing the bsod try to put 1 ram only(4gb) if you have 2 of them, just do it by parts so you can pin point which part is the problem.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    1,228

    Hal error are on windows issues with memory corruption. since windows 7 does not have any more patches aside of security and done by XMAS. there is no more you can do there.
    and since you are using windows 7 there is not much you can do.

    My recommendation is disable XMP, I will presume that you have 3604 bios. and last know drivers from chip set and intel management.
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    1,228

    Hal error are on windows issues with memory corruption. since windows 7 does not have any more patches aside of security and done by XMAS. there is no more you can do there.
    and since you are using windows 7 there is not much you can do.

    My recommendation is disable XMP, I will presume that you have 3604 bios. and last know drivers from chip set and intel management.

    Since i can see also you have ntoskrnl trhe fix most of the time are drivers and bios.

    perform memtest on dos (usb bootable) and check memory.
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •