Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    R6E and 2 small questions

    Hi, i am building a new pc and since it has been over 14 years from the last i built i am a bit rusty.

    I bought below parts and i am starting to put them together
    1- Rampage VI Extreme
    2- Dual Strix 1080TI OC in SLI
    3- Samsung 1TB NVMe
    4- Delidded I9 7940x
    5- 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ Ram

    What i want to ask is;
    1- I know that R6E is a high end motherboard and have premium quality onboard sound but i am considering buying 2 or 4 studio monitors (dynaudio lyd 7 to be exact) and a sub to have 2.1 or 4.1 sound environment, can onboard sound handle those monitors or should i buy a dedicated sound card like "STRIX RAID DLX" or "Xonar Essence STX II" ? Would there be a noticable difference between onboard and dedicated sound card, would i benefit from a dedicated sound card? If i do, which of those cards above should i buy... I know that audio is a subjective topic but since i never bought studio monitors i want to make sure i get it right and have the best sound i can...

    2- Considering i will be using 2x1080TI in SLI and possibly a sound card, where should i put my NVMe drive? Should i put it to m2 slot under the cover which uses PCH or to the slot right next to rams which uses CPU?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array feedmeink PC Specs
    feedmeink PC Specs
    MotherboardX299 Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorI9 7980xe
    Memory (part number)Corsair vengeance lpx 4000mhz 32gb (2x16gb)
    Graphics Card #1Ek waterblock vega 56
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 1tb m.2
    CPU CoolerEk full monoblock
    CaseLian li pc-011 dynamic
    Power SupplyEvga 1200 watt platinum
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    187

    I don't use sli but I can't imagine any negative impact from using the area under the cover and sharing pch. I use the m.2 under the cover just because its cleaner. Temps are fine. What cooling solution for the cpu are you planning on using? X299 platform gets extremely hot.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I am trying to go full custom loop, i actually have questions about this too... For cooling i got

    1- Water blocks for 1080TI's, cpu, vrm. Since my 7940x is delidded i decided to go direct die cooling thats why i bought seperate blocks for cpu and vrms...
    2- 2x EKWB CE 560 radiators
    3- 2x EKWB D5 pumps
    4- 4x helix reservoirs

    As a side note, this is a desk pc not a case... It took about 6 weeks for me to plan for proper air flow, design and have it built. Btw is there an advantege or disadvantage for making 2 seperate loops instead of 1 big loop with 2 pumps in different places other than not having to empty one if other fails? Right now my loop order is rad -> res -> pump -> cpu&vrm -> rad -> res -> pump -> gpu's

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    If you do install your M.2 under the plastic cover it will need air flow, my 960 pros memory controller temps sat on 80c before giving it the airflow it needed.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by LiveOrDie View Post
    If you do install your M.2 under the plastic cover it will need air flow, my 960 pros memory controller temps sat on 80c before giving it the airflow it needed.
    I got 1x200mm fan right under motherboard and 3x120mm fans less than 10cm away of the motherboard and m2 cover, all pushing air in... Isnt that enough?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Ive always ran a a single loop / single pump w 480*360*240 Rads with SLi.....no issues and great temps:

    Presently 9900K @ 5 - 5.1 Ghz (EK Velocity) and SLi 1080Ti's (FC EKWB) w single D5 Vario / XSPC Rez combo

    Temps gaming:
    CPU Max 53c
    GPU's Max 38c both

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array feedmeink PC Specs
    feedmeink PC Specs
    MotherboardX299 Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorI9 7980xe
    Memory (part number)Corsair vengeance lpx 4000mhz 32gb (2x16gb)
    Graphics Card #1Ek waterblock vega 56
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 1tb m.2
    CPU CoolerEk full monoblock
    CaseLian li pc-011 dynamic
    Power SupplyEvga 1200 watt platinum
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    187

    I think some people prefer two loops to increase overclocking potential, but I run same loop for all with a temp sensor on one of the fittings. Water temp never goes above 33c durring long sessions of testing. I run 3 360mm rads. 2 are 47mm thick. One is 30mm thick. Loop order shouldn't matter too much. Mine I am stuck in a situation where the order is res, rad, gpu, cpu, vrm block, rad, rad back to res.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array feedmeink PC Specs
    feedmeink PC Specs
    MotherboardX299 Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorI9 7980xe
    Memory (part number)Corsair vengeance lpx 4000mhz 32gb (2x16gb)
    Graphics Card #1Ek waterblock vega 56
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 1tb m.2
    CPU CoolerEk full monoblock
    CaseLian li pc-011 dynamic
    Power SupplyEvga 1200 watt platinum
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    187

    Also m.2 under the cover stays between 30 and 50c. Although I have bottom intake, so first thing it pushes over is the bottom of the motherboard

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,680

    Quote Originally Posted by dagcan View Post
    I got 1x200mm fan right under motherboard and 3x120mm fans less than 10cm away of the motherboard and m2 cover, all pushing air in... Isnt that enough?
    Should be fine then, single loop is all you need, two in most cases isn't needed.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    As someone pointed out before.....biggest advantage to 2 separate loops is the ability to swap out GPU's leaving CPU loop unaffected....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •