Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 159
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array Geekslayer PC Specs
    Geekslayer PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7940x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Platinum 3000 64GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAsus
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe
    Storage #2(4) 860 EVO SATA III - Raid 0 - 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i Pro
    CaseAir 540
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    OS Windows 10 x64 - 1809
    Network RouterAsus 5300 RT

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    you can try to put 105 for the TJMax in the bios (it's in the CPU options, all the way down I believe) and you have to put 100 for 105 (check after under Windows if it's good)
    I tried with bios 1503 and microcode 4D, 50 and 55 and even if the TJmax was at 105 under Windows, the temperatures were always higher

    This is the 4D microcode with this bios ?
    Correct it happens with 1603 and microcode 4D, I'm back on 1503 which uses microcode 43

    -thanks for the reply

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorCore i9 7980XE
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL TRIDENT-Z RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2019 Insider Preview 19002.1
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    375

    Hahaha I think ASUS can do better than us on Microcode Optimized however it was the same situation.



    You're too slow deployed 0200004D microcode Shamino. Let's try this 02000055 buddy. 0200004D way too old.
    Trying my modded 1503 BIOS with 02000055 microcode way better.
    Last edited by restsugavan; 11-30-2018 at 02:47 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array Geekslayer PC Specs
    Geekslayer PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7940x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Platinum 3000 64GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA RTX 2080 Ultra
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorAsus
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe
    Storage #2(4) 860 EVO SATA III - Raid 0 - 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i Pro
    CaseAir 540
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    OS Windows 10 x64 - 1809
    Network RouterAsus 5300 RT

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    you can try to put 105 for the TJMax in the bios (it's in the CPU options, all the way down I believe) and you have to put 100 for 105 (check after under Windows if it's good)
    I tried with bios 1503 and microcode 4D, 50 and 55 and even if the TJmax was at 105 under Windows, the temperatures were always higher

    This is the 4D microcode with this bios ?
    Funny thing is.....Same idle temp in BIOS, but in Windows (1809) it's more

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorCore i9 7980XE
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL TRIDENT-Z RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2019 Insider Preview 19002.1
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    375

    Lightbulb Utilized 2nd 512-bit FMA unit cause more temperature idle temp.

    Quote Originally Posted by Geekslayer View Post
    Funny thing is.....Same idle temp in BIOS, but in Windows (1809) it's more


    Windows 1809 Kernel itself was the first Microsoft optimized for utiliize both AVX512 units on Skylake X/SP SKUs.
    It was normally your CPU temp at idle speed increse around 5 degree celcius due both 512-bit FMA/AVX512 working as default.
    ( Both RED and VIOLET RING are utilized by Windows Kernel 1809. Port 0 ,1, 4, 5 running by default )

    Windows 1803/1709 and older version their utilized only port 0 and 1 as defualt to support both FMA3 256-bit operand.
    The port 5 or extension AVX512/FMA3 unit was turn off by defualt due many CPU did not support AVX512 on its age.
    ( Only RED RING was utilized by Windows Kernel 1803/1709/1703 and older . Port 0,1 and 4 running by default )
    Last edited by restsugavan; 11-30-2018 at 03:55 AM.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,397

    Quote Originally Posted by Geekslayer View Post
    Correct it happens with 1603 and microcode 4D, I'm back on 1503 which uses microcode 43

    -thanks for the reply
    Even putting the TJmax at 105°, you still have this temperature increase ?

    I disable the Spectre patch in the registry, so the microcode version does not change anything on my PC, I think

    I might use 1603 with microcode 43 or 49

    Quote Originally Posted by Geekslayer View Post
    Funny thing is.....Same idle temp in BIOS, but in Windows (1809) it's more
    You have temperature increase only with Windows 10 1809 ?
    With another Windows the temperature is the same as with the bios 1503 ?
    Last edited by tistou77; 11-30-2018 at 05:09 AM.
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel M2 Optane 905P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    91
    Posts
    1,397

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    Windows 1809 Kernel itself was the first Microsoft optimized for utiliize both AVX512 units on Skylake X/SP SKUs.
    It was normally your CPU temp at idle speed increse around 5 degree celcius due both 512-bit FMA/AVX512 working as default.
    ( Both RED and VIOLET RING are utilized by Windows Kernel 1809. Port 0 ,1, 4, 5 running by default )

    Windows 1803/1709 and older version their utilized only port 0 and 1 as defualt to support both FMA3 256-bit operand.
    The port 5 or extension AVX512/FMA3 unit was turn off by defualt due many CPU did not support AVX512 on its age.
    ( Only RED RING was utilized by Windows Kernel 1803/1709/1703 and older . Port 0,1 and 4 running by default )
    This temperature increase is only because of the kernel of Windows 1809 ?
    With Windows "1903" Insider, the temperature is the same as with the microcode 43 ?
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel M2 Optane 905P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array Desertum_0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    66

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    Going to modded them soon.
    Hi boss,

    Yesterday I was able to find out the great work that you made modding the 1503 bios.

    I was about to flash it today until I saw that the new 1603 bios came out. I know you are in the process of modding it too so do you think I can flash the 1503 modded and then wait until the 1603 modded by you?

    Thanks again for your great efforts

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorCore i9 7980XE
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL TRIDENT-Z RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2019 Insider Preview 19002.1
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    375

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by Desertum_0 View Post
    Hi boss,

    Yesterday I was able to find out the great work that you made modding the 1503 bios.

    I was about to flash it today until I saw that the new 1603 bios came out. I know you are in the process of modding it too so do you think I can flash the 1503 modded and then wait until the 1603 modded by you?

    Thanks again for your great efforts
    ํYou're welcome. I'd modded 1603 too, however as compare on performance 1503 modded or 1603 modded are not differrent at all.
    The only different was version number.

    You could use exist 1503 modded BIOS with microcode 02000055 / RST 17.0.0.3592 / LAN 0.0.22/0.1.13 files for your system.
    I'm looking for any kind of new OROM /EFI update beyond RST 17.0.0.3592 / Lan UNDI 0.0.22 to incorperated with new 1603 BIOS better.
    Maybe too many modded BIOS version bring people confused.

    ASUS used very old 0200004D microcode for their 1603 BIOS ( the microcode that we've testing for a long time, so borring. ).
    Their iRST and iRSTe driver only version 15.X way too old.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array Desertum_0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    66

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    ํYou're welcome. I'd modded 1603 too, however as compare on performance 1503 modded or 1603 modded are not differrent at all.
    The only different was version number.

    You could use exist 1503 modded BIOS with microcode 02000055 / RST 17.0.0.3592 / LAN 0.0.22/0.1.13 files for your system.
    I'm looking for any kind of new OROM /EFI update beyond RST 17.0.0.3592 / Lan UNDI 0.0.22 to incorperated with new 1603 BIOS better.
    Maybe too many modded BIOS version bring people confused.

    ASUS used very old 0200004D microcode for their 1603 BIOS ( the microcode that we've testing for a long time, so borring. ).
    Their iRST and iRSTe driver only version 15.X way too old.

    Sweat as! The new BIOS from Asus is running behind yours.

    Maybe the 1603 is only needed for the skylake x refresh.
    Quite happy with me 7900x but I drool with the 7960x.. some day I guess.

    Thanks

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorCore i9 7980XE
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL TRIDENT-Z RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2019 Insider Preview 19002.1
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    375

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    This temperature increase is only because of the kernel of Windows 1809 ?
    With Windows "1903" Insider, the temperature is the same as with the microcode 43 ?
    Yes! the comsumer version of Windows 10 October 2018 present day build was 17763.134
    But the Insider preview build was 18290.1000 today.


    Both are Windows 10 Version 1809 but different OS kernel inside.
    18XXX was better optimized OS utilized both AVX512/FMA Units than 17763.134.

Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •