Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    ASUS z390 Maximus XI Hero (Wifi) USB Issue

    Hi,

    So I have a problem with my ASUS z390 Maximus XI Hero motherboard, perhaps someone can provide me with some guidance in the right direction.

    I am currently still running Windows 7 on my old PC and I do not want to switch to Windows 10; I have no plans for this for another 3-5 years at least.

    Anyway, I am trying to utilize LEGACY mode on this board but have ran into a wall.

    I can see all my disks as bootable but I am unable to install Windows 7. When I boot into the UEFI bios, the mouse and keyboard work; I checked this on all USB ports including on the back of the I/O plate and on the front of my case. Everything is working fine up until I boot into the Windows 7 installation off a CD via SATA port.

    When I reach the first screen on the Windows 7 Installation, neither the mouse or keyboard work; both are wireless. The keyboard has a digital display and indicates 'no connection' on all of the USB ports (tried every single one).

    What am I missing as a setting in the BIOS to allow legacy USB to be used during a Windows 7 installation?Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3293.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	110.2 KB 
ID:	77371Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3297.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	114.0 KB 
ID:	77372Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3296.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	108.4 KB 
ID:	77373

    See the image below, this is as far as I get as the keyboard/mouse no longer work...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	9b9e68e0-dc13-44b9-bedc-df405fe8be04.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	113.5 KB 
ID:	77374
    Last edited by MDKagent007; 12-02-2018 at 11:05 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    UPDATE...

    So i've gone ahead an update the BIOS to 0602 and no change. I am still unable to launch the Windows 7 installer as the keyboard and mouse do not respond on the first installation screen as shown in my previous post.

    Any help is appreciated...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3308.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	115.9 KB 
ID:	77412Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3309.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	108.2 KB 
ID:	77413Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3311.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	177.0 KB 
ID:	77414Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3312.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	143.8 KB 
ID:	77415
    I have tried both "auto" and "enabled" modes for Legacy USB Support
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3313.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	161.8 KB 
ID:	77416Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3314.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	160.7 KB 
ID:	77417Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3315.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	153.0 KB 
ID:	77418Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3316.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	139.4 KB 
ID:	77419
    Last edited by MDKagent007; 12-04-2018 at 02:24 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    64

    Legacy USB support should have worked.
    That setting also allows you to boot to a command prompt via flash drive, like freedos, MS DOS, etc, and let you use the keyboard.
    In your first picture you had it set to auto.

    When you enabled it, did you use a USB 2.0 port?
    You must use a USB 2.0 port. Some USB3 ports and some hubs may not initialize the keyboard and mouse on cold boots (but will on a warm reboot, e.g.if you actually were able to load windows and reboot). Some ports will not work at all.

    I've seen this "bug" happen with some keyboards with Cypress IC's. Especially Ducky keyboards. But it should not happen on a USB 2.0 port.

    Double check and make sure and if it still refuses to work, contact Asus.
    Also to further troubleshoot this, do you have access to another computer where you can format a "Freedos" or "MS DOS" flash boot disk with Rufus? If you can, do that, change your bios to legacy (I believe you have to in order to boot to a DOS boot disk) and boot to your new MS DOS drive and see if you can use the keyboard.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    To install Win7 on your system you may need to use a PCIe USB adaptor. The USB ports will not be recognised when installing Win7. You will have to install the Asmedia USB drivers during the install process to get USB access for installation purposes.


    There is a detailed post on the forum that outlines the process. I will try and find it for you.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    To install Win7 on your system you may need to use a PCIe USB adaptor. The USB ports will not be recognised when installing Win7. You will have to install the Asmedia USB drivers during the install process to get USB access for installation purposes.


    There is a detailed post on the forum that outlines the process. I will try and find it for you.
    Yeah, I found a link where someone posted here to a video on how to do it. Too much effort. I wasted 3-4 days now trying to get Windows 7 installed and I am at the end of my ropes. I have given up the unequal struggle and frustration of trying. I settled into Windows 10 and that worked out good. It was a smooth install, surprise surprise.

    I don't think ASUS should have stated that they support legacy OS especially how overly complicated and convoluded the procedure is.

    The system now runs on Windows 10.

    This thread can end now. I am disappointed with the outcome as I was forced into Windows 10....should have bought the Z370 chipset instead...

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Sorry to hear that mate. Think the reason may have been to do with Microsoft indicating they are stopping Win7 support relatively soon. But I hear you mate it was a major pain in the butt for me to get Win7 installed too.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •