Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Crimson_Specter PC Specs
    Crimson_Specter PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS XI HERO (Wi-Fi) CoD BO4
    ProcessorCore i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB DDR4 F4-3200C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorLG 27UD68-P 4K@60Hz IPS Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SATA
    Storage #2WD Blue 3TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML360R
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset HiFiman HE-4XX
    Mouse Pad Cheap Razer Knockoff
    Headset/Speakers Mackie CR5BT
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Unhappy New PC Booting up in 3 tries.

    So I just built a new PC, and while everything works fine once it's started, for some reason it's taking 3 tries to boot up (doesn't happen when you reset/restart it). On its first ever boot, it also took 3 tries, but was able to boot properly on the first try after that, but now it's taking 3 tries again. It's like fans spin up for 1 second, then it shuts down, then that happens again, and then it finally boots up properly on the third try. I tried resetting BIOS too, and also tried resetting CMOS cell, really can't figure out if there's any setting that I should change (because I've tried everything I could think of), or it's because of power supply (which I've tested, it works fine on another system). I think it's the motherboard that might be causing this issue.

    Here's my specs:

    ASUS ROG Maximus XI Hero, latest BIOS
    Corsair RM850x
    Core i9 9900K
    MSI RTX 2080 Ti (vertically mounted using Cooler Master vertical GPU mount)
    512 GB Samsung M.2 SATA SSD (960 Evo, I guess), 2 x 3 TB WD HDDs
    2 x 8 GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200 MHz RAM
    Cooler Master ML360R AIO cooler
    Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Additional Corsair LL120 fans + ARGB LED Strip
    Last edited by Crimson_Specter; 12-04-2018 at 08:04 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I can only assume that your system is retraining the memory and reestablishing handshake with all the hardware.

    Confirm that you are powering down completely and that there is no issue with sleep and reawaken from sleep mode.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Crimson_Specter PC Specs
    Crimson_Specter PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS XI HERO (Wi-Fi) CoD BO4
    ProcessorCore i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB DDR4 F4-3200C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorLG 27UD68-P 4K@60Hz IPS Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SATA
    Storage #2WD Blue 3TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML360R
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset HiFiman HE-4XX
    Mouse Pad Cheap Razer Knockoff
    Headset/Speakers Mackie CR5BT
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    I can only assume that your system is retraining the memory and reestablishing handshake with all the hardware.

    Confirm that you are powering down completely and that there is no issue with sleep and reawaken from sleep mode.
    Thanks for the reply, I checked that I am doing everything properly, and that power is being supplied properly. It wakes up on first try if I power it down and don't cut the power supply to the motherboard off. Also tried changing the power cable, and connecting directly to the mains, without the UPS in between. I also tried removing both the RAM sticks, and in that case, it takes 2 tries to reach to a state where all the fans are spinning, plugging in RAM again makes it 3 (if it was a single try without RAM, I could conclude that the problem was with RAM). The MemOK switch is ON, which I checked is the default (which also shouldn't create issues AFAIK, as retraining memory takes ~30 seconds as per the manual).
    Last edited by Crimson_Specter; 12-04-2018 at 01:13 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    When you do a full power down, the system has a built in fail safe whereby it does a complete UEFI handshake with all hardware and retrains the memory. You can disable the retrain the memory part. Or not power down completely.

    I only ever use sleep mode personally and do a reboot/reset once a month when I allow updates.

    In other words your system is doing what it was designed to do.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Crimson_Specter PC Specs
    Crimson_Specter PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS XI HERO (Wi-Fi) CoD BO4
    ProcessorCore i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB DDR4 F4-3200C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorLG 27UD68-P 4K@60Hz IPS Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SATA
    Storage #2WD Blue 3TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML360R
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset HiFiman HE-4XX
    Mouse Pad Cheap Razer Knockoff
    Headset/Speakers Mackie CR5BT
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    When you do a full power down, the system has a built in fail safe whereby it does a complete UEFI handshake with all hardware and retrains the memory. You can disable the retrain the memory part. Or not power down completely.

    I only ever use sleep mode personally and do a reboot/reset once a month when I allow updates.

    In other words your system is doing what it was designed to do.
    Thanks for the info, someone told me that (newer) ASUS motherboards on the higher end do this to charge up the capacitors to help with extreme overclocking? Is that true? Will also try disabling MemOK later as it's impossible to reach to it without removing my vertical GPU completely.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Please do disable the re-mapping of memory each time it will help. But unless you really need to for hardware safety sake (some places I have lived I would not leave a kettle plugged in) it is often better to leave your system in sleep mode rather than power it down.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    This is normal behavior on either first boot or after removing the 5V standby. Every thing get initalized again. MOBO goes looking for whats connected and gets everything configured.

    The capacitor charging story is pretty funny....

    As for poor power issues invest in a decent pure sinewave ups or at least a good TVSS suppressor so you dont have to unplug. I shut mine down completely when Im done but never pull the power plug unless Im digging in the box. Being in the critical power business I have a nice dual conversion online UPS good for running this power hog machine of mine for at least 20 mins after power loss at full load.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 12-05-2018 at 02:29 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Crimson_Specter PC Specs
    Crimson_Specter PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS XI HERO (Wi-Fi) CoD BO4
    ProcessorCore i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB DDR4 F4-3200C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorLG 27UD68-P 4K@60Hz IPS Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB M.2 SATA
    Storage #2WD Blue 3TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML360R
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset HiFiman HE-4XX
    Mouse Pad Cheap Razer Knockoff
    Headset/Speakers Mackie CR5BT
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Thanks, I tried disabling MemOK button, and it still boots in 3 tries. My previous ASUS B150 Pro gaming didn't do that, so it doesn't feel quite normal. I do have a good quality UPS, I just prefer turning it off completely. Well, I guess I'd just keep using it like this. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Crimson_Specter View Post
    Thanks, I tried disabling MemOK button, and it still boots in 3 tries. My previous ASUS B150 Pro gaming didn't do that, so it doesn't feel quite normal. I do have a good quality UPS, I just prefer turning it off completely. Well, I guess I'd just keep using it like this. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    That's what I do and eventually it works without retrying again, hope it works on you too.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array kentukky PC Specs
    kentukky PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Sabertooth P67
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 2600K (4.4Ghz)
    Memory (part number)Kingston DDR3 8GB (1333Mhz)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 680 DCII
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung P2770H
    Storage #1Samsung 830 SSD (128Gb)
    Storage #2WD Black (1Tb)
    CPU CoolerAlpenfoehn Himalaya
    CaseCooler Master CM620 II Advanced (Nvidia)
    Power SupplyFSP 700W
    Keyboard Genius
    Mouse A4Tech X7
    OS Windows 7 x64 (Ultimate)
    kentukky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Oh dear... After years I came again to ROG Forums, only to make sure that I'm not alone with this problem. And once again I see people, protecting crappy BIOS and firmware of Asus.
    I already had this "double boot" problem on my previous board (Sabertooth P67), but back then Asus confirmed it as an issue and released updated BIOS. Afterwards I was happy.

    Now, in November 2018 I built a new system with a ROG Z390-F Gaming board. And guess what - double boot once again. So, don't listen to people saying "It's normal". They are either fanboys or hidden agents from Asus. Double boot isn't normal and should be fixed with new BIOS revisions. Let's wait and see what happens...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •