Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    NVME Raid 0 on Maximus XI Hero

    Hello, I have 2x 970 Evos (accidentally bought 2 of them on a Black Friday sale), and I was wondering if the process of setting up a bootable Raid-0 array with them on a z390 Maximus XI Hero is still roughly the same (e.g. loading the intel RST drivers just before windows install) as described with this guide written 3 years ago for the Z170 series ?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by samsiuca View Post
    Hello, I have 2x 970 Evos (accidentally bought 2 of them on a Black Friday sale), and I was wondering if the process of setting up a bootable Raid-0 array with them on a z390 Maximus XI Hero is still roughly the same (e.g. loading the intel RST drivers just before windows install) as described with this guide written 3 years ago for the Z170 series ?
    you won't see any speed improvment with 2 nvme in raid 0, programs won't load faster, windows won't boot faster, just copy pasting files will have an inprovment .it doesn't worth it and you may lose trim function too and if 1 drive fails you lose data from both.
    If you want to gain speed do like i do, download games on 1 drive and install them on the other or anything you do, do it in a way where 1 drive reads and the other writes or the other way arround and you will then use the drive on its full capacity speeds. If you use the same drive for both reads and write, for example, installing a game on the same drive where is located, you will get 50% less speed since the same drive needs to handle both writes and reads.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Nice input Saddameu - see you have been busy on the forum today.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Nice input Saddameu - see you have been busy on the forum today.
    aparently way more busy than asus fixing their nvme ssd hw encryption problem )

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Fedec96 PC Specs
    Fedec96 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Code (BIOS 0903)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-4133C17Q-32GTZR (XMP 1)
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix RTX 2080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG27VQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo M.2 NVMe SSD 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo M.2 NVMe SSD 2 TB
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG Ryujin 360 (push/pull)
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv X (black)
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 850P
    Keyboard Asus ROG Strix Flare (Cherry MX Red)
    Mouse Asus ROG Pugio
    Headset Asus ROG Delta (non-Core)
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG Balteus (non-Qi)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk X8
    Accessory #1 Asus ROG Headphone Stand
    Accessory #2 Phanteks PH-F120XP + Halos Lux Digital
    Accessory #3 CableMod Pro + extensions + splitters

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    7

    Yes, it's basically the same.
    In doubt, you can surely check the manual which has extremely detailed and illustrated step-by-step infos.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Quote Originally Posted by saddameu View Post
    aparently way more busy than asus fixing their nvme ssd hw encryption problem )


    hahahhahaa Not just Asus I think - only few boards will it work. But yeah it would be nice if it was sorted. Take care buddy.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Fedec96 View Post
    Yes, it's basically the same.
    In doubt, you can surely check the manual which has extremely detailed and illustrated step-by-step infos.
    Thankyou, much appreciated.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by saddameu View Post
    you won't see any speed improvment with 2 nvme in raid 0, programs won't load faster, windows won't boot faster, just copy pasting files will have an inprovment .it doesn't worth it and you may lose trim function too and if 1 drive fails you lose data from both.
    Thankyou for your input, it is an opinion I've heard a few times already.

    That being said, raw speed increase isn't the primary incentive for me to raid up (I'm aware of the DMI 3.0 bandwidth limitations, among other things) + any one drive failing on me is past the first couple of months is rather.... unlikely.

  9. #9
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    I'm curious as to what is the primary incentive for raid 0 if it isn't speed?

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    I'm curious as to what is the primary incentive for raid 0 if it isn't speed?
    I get slight OCD when I see something like 1TB/500GB/500GB/1TB, and it's more convenient for me (if I can just find the damn option in the BIOS...) to raid up the 2x500GB drives rather than partition the 1TB drives.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •