cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Asus Crosshair VII Hero MB

MMAXximus
Level 7
Hello all,

I got myself a new Asus Crosshair VII Hero mobo and a Ryzen 2700x cpu. This will be installed in a couple of days. Ive been looking for the best way to install, in terms of what steps to take.

What are the best steps to take with this mobo?
Should i update bios before installing cpu? Should i not update bios at All, because there are risks flashing a bios?

After cpu it will be installing Windows and then chipset drivers from Amd website i think?

Id like to hear your opinion in what is the best way to install a new system with the Crosshair VII and a Ryzen 2700x. Redirecting to helpfull forum topics is also welcome.

Thnx in advance
4 REPLIES 4

sdamico
Level 7
I'm far from a pro thats for sure, but I just finished my system with the same MB and CPU. I built the entire system up, hit power, went right into the BIOS, and saw I was on a very old version. I looked around, didn't tweak anything, and then downloaded the latest version. I need a little help on the best way to flash, so heres my thread below.

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?106792-Trouble-updating-BIOS

Thanks, that's helpfull. Basicly what is said there is to flash the bios before installing the pc, only powering up the mobo? Dont need to insert cpu for that.

I will make sure to have a formatted drive to FAT32 ready with the latest bios files.

MMAXximus wrote:
Thanks, that's helpfull. Basicly what is said there is to flash the bios before installing the pc, only powering up the mobo? Dont need to insert cpu for that.

I will make sure to have a formatted drive to FAT32 ready with the latest bios files.

No, my system was completely built when I flashed the new BIOS. all hardware was installed the first time I powered it up. Not sure if thats the best way, but thats always how I built my systems. Windows 10 pro and other software came after the flash.