Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    209

    8700k adaptive mode questions

    Hello all. 8700k and Maximus x code here. I'm starting to fiddle with an Oc but I do not want to do it the manual way leaving voltage high at idle. Does anyone have experience using the adaptive mode? Here is my assumption I need some guidance on. I basically can just switch to "adaptive" then select my new voltage for the turbo multi. Keep svid best case still probably? Then play with llc as needed? Sounds pretty similar to manual mode in practice. Offset mode was harder to understand I don't quite grasp offset versus adaptive. Adaptive basically doesn't touch the stock down clock voltage/speed is my assumption?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    209

    Would this guide also be relatively applicable?
    https://edgeup.asus.com/2017/kaby-la...163.1518169370

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array feedmeink PC Specs
    feedmeink PC Specs
    MotherboardX299 Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorI9 7980xe
    Memory (part number)Corsair vengeance lpx 4000mhz 32gb (2x16gb)
    Graphics Card #1Ek waterblock vega 56
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 1tb m.2
    CPU CoolerEk full monoblock
    CaseLian li pc-011 dynamic
    Power SupplyEvga 1200 watt platinum
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    187

    I can only speak for myself. Different mobo and cpu. I use x299 platform. I believe in manual mode you disable c-states. In adaptive you enable c-states. I did per core offset in negative increments. But this might not be the case for you. In max turbo voltage I put my preferred voltage. But it didn't register in testing. For my mobo and platform the voltage would do whatever it wanted. So I would run aida64 and monitor whatever voltage it was assigning. Then take a snap shot with my phone or write down each core voltage. Then I would go back into bios and do the math on each core to reach whatever my goal voltage was. So let's say I wanted 1.18voltage. But in testing it was 1.23. Subtract 1.23 and 1.18 which equals .05. In this scenario your offset would be minus .05. When I would re test it was exactly the voltage I was searching for. I'm not sure if this is the case across all platforms. So please keep that in mind

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Guitarmageddon888,
    Yes that guide is applicable and the best place to start, I have been using adaptive mode since it has become available, don't see any reason not to use it

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,943

    Quote Originally Posted by Guitarmageddon888 View Post
    Hello all. 8700k and Maximus x code here. I'm starting to fiddle with an Oc but I do not want to do it the manual way leaving voltage high at idle. Does anyone have experience using the adaptive mode? Here is my assumption I need some guidance on. I basically can just switch to "adaptive" then select my new voltage for the turbo multi. Keep svid best case still probably? Then play with llc as needed? Sounds pretty similar to manual mode in practice. Offset mode was harder to understand I don't quite grasp offset versus adaptive. Adaptive basically doesn't touch the stock down clock voltage/speed is my assumption?

    Yes, keep SVID set to best case. This sets the best case for requested VID according to load. The advantage of adaptive over an offset is the stock VID stack is used for all ratios below the turbo multiplier. When using an offset voltage, that offset is applied across the entire VID stack.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    209

    Perfect thanks! And then that .01 adjustment to ia/DC voltage is good to do as well? I keep seeing that but I'm not too familiar with it.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I set them to 0.01

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    209

    Testing 5.0 with real bench now! Under load I'm 1.36v with no avx offset. Might tick it back one notch after running real bench and some prime a bit and see if she's unstable. Vccio is about 1.32 stock. I'm fairly certain right off the bat I can drop it to like 1.28 or so, what do you all think? I've always left it to auto but that might be a bit high.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Could you please fill out your PC specs in your profile so anyone giving recommendations knows what your working with.
    VCCIO and VCCSA have more to do with your memory speed, I find auto works well with high speed memory modules, they can be worked down after your confident your system is stable but you need to run Memtest or Ram Test to prove stability of overclocked memory modules

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    209

    Just an update, thanks for the input everyone. Those settings worked perfectly for 5.0/4.9avx. not going to push higher because of heat at this point. Seems to be stable in multiple hours of various tests. Realbench and others peaked around 72-75. Prime avx small fft got to 85 so I'm going to cap myself there. Not sure why there is a complete absence of this information except for maybe one or two sources , and why people are so much for the manual overclock when there was literally no difference once I found the kaby lake guide, and it clicked in my head.

    I want to set my sights on fine tuning cache next. Not so much for absolute speed but because I know the auto voltages are probably higher than they should be. Stock is 4.4 correct? I'm thinking of 4.5 and 1.25v as a start. Thoughts? Will reducing cache voltage impact heat under load a lot?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •