Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Dimm.2 SSD not detected

    I'm trying to install w10 on my new assembled PC with the Maximus XI extreme motherboard and a Samsung 970 EVO 1tb ssd, but windows installer wont detected the m.2 drive, is there some settings in the bios I have to change to detect it?
    I tried to access the m.2 mounting points underneath the chipset heatsink instead, but the screws are fitted so tight I gave up already.
    Appreciate the help!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array LeChat PC Specs
    LeChat PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorI9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengence LED 3400 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 ti FTW3 ULTRA GAMING HYBRID
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 T2
    Keyboard EVGA Z-10
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech g933
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1903

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    23

    Yes, you have to enable it in the BIOS first. If i remember correctly it's in the CPU PCIE mode config.

    Hope this helps,

    Cheers!

    L

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    It worked!!!!! Thankyou thankyou thankyou <3!

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array LeChat PC Specs
    LeChat PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorI9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengence LED 3400 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 ti FTW3 ULTRA GAMING HYBRID
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 T2
    Keyboard EVGA Z-10
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Logitech g933
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1903

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    23

    Glad i could help. Little reminder, if you use DIMM.2, your graphic card gonna run at x8 instead of x16. Should not make much of a difference.

    Cheers!

    L

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Download, iinstall and run crystalmarks drive bench test. You should be getting around 3500MB/S sequential reads. Just to verify the rest is set up correctly and it running at full speed.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array sajeev3105 PC Specs
    sajeev3105 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB @ 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer XB271HU
    Storage #1Samsung NVME M.2 970 EVO PRO 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung NVME M.2 970 EVO PRO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity Waterblock
    CaseThermaltake View 71
    Power SupplyEVGA G2000+
    Keyboard Logitech G512
    Mouse Logitech G102
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z625
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    sajeev3105's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    X16 or X8

    Quote Originally Posted by LeChat View Post
    Glad i could help. Little reminder, if you use DIMM.2, your graphic card gonna run at x8 instead of x16. Should not make much of a difference.

    Cheers!

    L
    Hi!just saw this post and want to know if I use two M.2 in DIMM.2 slot, will two of my Graphic cards be running on X8 or X8 + X4 config? I have Maximus XI extreme MOBO. I plan to run two Nvidia 2080Ti Fe's on NVLINK.

    Rgds
    Sajeev*

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •