Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Freezing Rampage VI Extreme Randomly Freezing!

    My system Randomly Freezes and I cant find any reason why. Bios is updated to 1603 and all latest drivers. Does anyone no what I can do?


    Here is my spec's

    Processor: Intel Core i9-7920X
    Motherboard: ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    System Memory: DOMINATOR® PLATINUM 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200MHz
    Power Supply: 1200W Corsair AX1200i
    Storage Set 1: 1x SSD M.2 (1TB Samsung 970 PRO)
    Storage Set 2: 1x SSD M.2 (1TB Samsung 970 PRO)
    Graphics Card(s): NvLink 4Sot Nvidia's GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB (Founders Edition)
    Custom Cooling System (2x Graphics Cards + CPU)
    Reservoir Pump Combo: EK-XRES Reservoir Pump Combo D5
    Radiator: XSPC EX Radiators EX560mm Quad Fan Radiator, EX420mm Triple Fan Radiator, and EX280mm Dual Fan Radiator
    Water Block GPU: 2X EK-Vector RTX 2080 Ti RGB - Nickel + Plexi
    Water Block GPU: Back Plate: EK-FB ASUS ROG R6E RGB Monoblock – Nickel EK-Vector
    Water Block GPU: Terminal: EK-FC Terminal X4 – Plexi
    Water Block CPU: EK-FB ASUS ROG R6E RGB Monoblock – Nickel
    Chassis Fans: Corsair ML PRO Series (15 Fans Total)
    Corsair Commander pro x 3
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Professional (64-Bit Edition)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorCore i9 7980XE
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL TRIDENT-Z RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2019 Insider Preview 19002.1
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    391

    Quote Originally Posted by Epic-Shot View Post
    My system Randomly Freezes and I cant find any reason why. Bios is updated to 1603 and all latest drivers. Does anyone no what I can do?


    Here is my spec's

    Processor: Intel Core i9-7920X
    Motherboard: ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    System Memory: DOMINATOR® PLATINUM 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200MHz
    Power Supply: 1200W Corsair AX1200i
    Storage Set 1: 1x SSD M.2 (1TB Samsung 970 PRO)
    Storage Set 2: 1x SSD M.2 (1TB Samsung 970 PRO)
    Graphics Card(s): NvLink 4Sot Nvidia's GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB (Founders Edition)
    Custom Cooling System (2x Graphics Cards + CPU)
    Reservoir Pump Combo: EK-XRES Reservoir Pump Combo D5
    Radiator: XSPC EX Radiators EX560mm Quad Fan Radiator, EX420mm Triple Fan Radiator, and EX280mm Dual Fan Radiator
    Water Block GPU: 2X EK-Vector RTX 2080 Ti RGB - Nickel + Plexi
    Water Block GPU: Back Plate: EK-FB ASUS ROG R6E RGB Monoblock – Nickel EK-Vector
    Water Block GPU: Terminal: EK-FC Terminal X4 – Plexi
    Water Block CPU: EK-FB ASUS ROG R6E RGB Monoblock – Nickel
    Chassis Fans: Corsair ML PRO Series (15 Fans Total)
    Corsair Commander pro x 3
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Professional (64-Bit Edition)
    Oftenly Checking your RAM stick first. Trying to XMP setting.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    Oftenly Checking your RAM stick first. Trying to XMP setting.
    That was the First thing I did! That did nothing to solve the issue. Ran Memorytest86

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorCore i9 7980XE
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL TRIDENT-Z RGB 3200
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2019 Insider Preview 19002.1
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    36
    Posts
    391

    Quote Originally Posted by Epic-Shot View Post
    That was the First thing I did! That did nothing to solve the issue. Ran Memorytest86
    Testing with single GPU once with Realbench ?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    Testing with single GPU once with Realbench ?
    I ran just one GPU for about 3 hours and froze and ran it with 3dmark benchmark fire strike and it runs outstanding, I run 3dmark fire strike extreme stress test and I get 93% not pass but I run fire strike extreme bench scores outstanding but yet system freeze either one or two cards. with O.C and without out OC on CPU and GPU'S. This is driving me crazy! I have also run Cinebench and Heaven and they run outstanding and I don't freeze at all running any of these bench marks. It will freeze at the funniest times like at idle and just doing web surfing or after I get done playing a game like bo4. its sooooo random.

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Is BIOS set for optimized defaults?
    Stupid question but is GPUs in correct slots?
    Have you tried starting with one stick of ram and adding the others one at a time?
    Are the sticks in the correct slots?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Is BIOS set for optimized defaults?
    Stupid question but is GPUs in correct slots?
    Have you tried starting with one stick of ram and adding the others one at a time?
    Are the sticks in the correct slots?
    Bios tried OC and Bios defaults----same issue

    Yes GPU is in both 16x 1 and 3 witch makes it a 4 slot, I have NVlink bridge 4 slot

    yes I have tried 1 stick, two sticks and then 4 sticks in the gray slots like manual says to do.

    I even tried running them in the dark gray but it wont boot up.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Is BIOS set for optimized defaults?
    Stupid question but is GPUs in correct slots?
    Have you tried starting with one stick of ram and adding the others one at a time?
    Are the sticks in the correct slots?
    Could you Help me with screen shots of all your settings in Bios maybe Im missing something? I tried 1.200 and 1.210 volts and 46 on all cores temps are running 40 to 60c

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    Oftenly Checking your RAM stick first. Trying to XMP setting.
    I ran Memorytest86 last night with everything in default, Froze on pass 3, 4 hours and 43 min with no errors! System just locks up!!!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    248

    Random freezes no matter the troubleshooting steps performed would warrant changing the PSU. Erratic PSU's have been the biggest trouble maker in my gamer machines.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •