Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array dusty459's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Issue with my NVMe

    right i have a

    Samsung 960 PRO 1TB M.2 2280 Internal SSD

    and im noticing it Slow i used Samsung magician and tested
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	why.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	20.0 KB 
ID:	77694

    i just dont get why anyone having an issue?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    I have that model, and no issues (knock on wood). Have you checked for a firmware update?
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array dusty459's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Hi Yes its up to date i just dont get why im getting its not working correctly

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array Encryption PC Specs
    Encryption PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD ThreadRipper 1950x @4.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C14-32GTZR @ 3200Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 GTX SC
    Sound CardSony 1080 DAC
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop with Xspc Block
    Encryption's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by dusty459 View Post
    Hi Yes its up to date i just dont get why im getting its not working correctly
    If you installed Samsung Magician then be sure to check if the driver was installed also. Had to manually point to the drivers in the Samsung folder to update mine.

    Drive should also have a negative irq assignment since it should be in msi mode.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    It’s not drivers. The NVMe driver has been native since Win 8.1 and works perfectly. I’ve tested this over and over on several platforms and any differences are within the margin of error and can sway back and forth as many times as you run the bench.*
    Don’t know what MOBO you are running but I would check a few things.

    1) make sure it’s not sharing bandwidth with other devices.

    In the BIOS
    2) make sure it’s set to X4
    3) check PCIE speed is set to gen3 and not auto

    Lastly if this is a new install and you have background apps running it will destroy any bench. Particularly drive indexing which will settle down after some time. Could be hours or a day or two depending on how many files you have. *

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array dusty459's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    I have the Zenith

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Have you checked your PCIE speed and lane allotment in the *BIOS and that it’s not sharing or indexing or AV running when you bench it?*
    Also download and run crystalbenchmark and can that unmagical magician as it’s only decent use is the migration tool. *

    Looking at your speeds I would call it as running at X2 and PCIE gen 2*

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array dusty459's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    CrystalDiskMark 6.0.1 x64 (UWP) (C) 2007-2018 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : https://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 bytes/s [SATA/600 = 600,000,000 bytes/s]
    * KB = 1000 bytes, KiB = 1024 bytes

    Sequential Read (Q= 32,T= 1) : 3298.267 MB/s
    Sequential Write (Q= 32,T= 1) : 2017.975 MB/s
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 1714.797 MB/s [ 418651.6 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 1062.231 MB/s [ 259333.7 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 382.829 MB/s [ 93464.1 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 310.186 MB/s [ 75729.0 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 52.795 MB/s [ 12889.4 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 145.077 MB/s [ 35419.2 IOPS]

    Test : 1024 MiB [C: 18.7% (177.6/952.0 GiB)] (x5) [Interval=5 sec]
    Date : 2019/01/02 16:49:28
    OS : Windows 10 Professional [10.0 Build 17134] (x64)
    there is the results and i can't find the m.2 in the bios i see the other harddrives but where it says m.2 nothing

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array dusty459's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    and i have the nvme pluged intoClick image for larger version. 

Name:	here.JPG 
Views:	19 
Size:	19.8 KB 
ID:	77918

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array dusty459's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Have you checked your PCIE speed and lane allotment in the *BIOS and that it’s not sharing or indexing or AV running when you bench it?*
    Also download and run crystalbenchmark and can that unmagical magician as it’s only decent use is the migration tool. *

    Looking at your speeds I would call it as running at X2 and PCIE gen 2*
    Iv also made sure that

    pci is x4
    gen 3 on cpu link and pci is gen 3 not auto

    here are the results

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 6.0.1 x64 (UWP) (C) 2007-2018 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : https://crystalmark.info/
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 bytes/s [SATA/600 = 600,000,000 bytes/s]
    * KB = 1000 bytes, KiB = 1024 bytes

    Sequential Read (Q= 32,T= 1) : 3375.529 MB/s
    Sequential Write (Q= 32,T= 1) : 2113.204 MB/s
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 1719.355 MB/s [ 419764.4 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 8,T= 8) : 1070.717 MB/s [ 261405.5 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 380.896 MB/s [ 92992.2 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 123.132 MB/s [ 30061.5 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 54.328 MB/s [ 13263.7 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 166.764 MB/s [ 40713.9 IOPS]

    Test : 1024 MiB [C: 18.6% (177.3/952.0 GiB)] (x5) [Interval=5 sec]
    Date : 2019/01/02 17:49:39
    OS : Windows 10 Professional [10.0 Build 17134] (x64)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •