Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 15 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 196

Thread: Deleted

  1. #41
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2103
    Processori9-9900 Ks @ 5.0 @ 1.23v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB 3000 Mhz cl-14 @ 4000 Mhz cl-17-19-19-39 @1.4v 1.21v vccio/vcssa
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 1.0v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerGamermaxx L360 v2
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    267

    asus x hero z 370 wifi bios 1801 8700k -@ 5.1 ghz / 5.0 ghz avx - adaptive mode @ 1.355v no issues with windows droping cpu down to 0.800mhz and 0.6v works fine here

  2. #42
    ROG Enthusiast Array FunknNasty PC Specs
    FunknNasty PC Specs
    MotherboardROG APEX Z370
    Processor8600K
    Memory (part number)GSKILL ripjaz 2x8 3200c14
    Graphics Card #11080ti
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1850 EVO's
    CPU CoolerCorsai H110 V2
    CaseCorsair 300r
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 750x

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	YxEOxzy.png 
Views:	22 
Size:	449.0 KB 
ID:	77860


    The photo shows my results -1401 vs 1801

    As you can see, 3866 c16-16-16 cr1 performance is similar; however with 1801, any memory freq. 4000 mhz and above for some reason requires a command rate of 2 (cr2). With 1401 I can do 4000, 4100, 4133 c17 cr1 with complete confidence in stability. With 1801 I cannot even post 4000 or above with anything less than command rate 2. note the bios 1801 4133 c17-17-17 still lags behind the 1401 c17-18-18

  3. #43
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    FunknNasty, how did you come up with that name?

    I have indicated the same thing a couple times before, I cannot say for sure but the last 2 bios's have microcode updates for Gen. 9 CPU's and possibly for Intel vulnerabilities.
    I am not sure but believe that may be the reason, also on my XI Gene board I have somewhat similar outcome, I'm not going to call it an issue that needs resolved by ASUS.
    I imagine that if one was an expert in memory settings, or one took the time to change other timings, 2nd and 3rd this could probably be overcome.
    If you are not using a 9th. Gen. CPU you can stay on bios 1602 or earlier you will be able to run the tighter timings, or at least that is my experiance

  4. #44
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    195

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    FunknNasty, how did you come up with that name?

    I have indicated the same thing a couple times before, I cannot say for sure but the last 2 bios's have microcode updates for Gen. 9 CPU's and possibly for Intel vulnerabilities.
    I am not sure but believe that may be the reason, also on my XI Gene board I have somewhat similar outcome, I'm not going to call it an issue that needs resolved by ASUS.
    I imagine that if one was an expert in memory settings, or one took the time to change other timings, 2nd and 3rd this could probably be overcome.
    If you are not using a 9th. Gen. CPU you can stay on bios 1602 or earlier you will be able to run the tighter timings, or at least that is my experiance
    Why If you are not on 9th gen?

  5. #45
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Starting with bios 1704 added support for the new CPU's, if you are not using one and everything works as intended there is no reason to upgrade, the if it's not broken don't fix it

  6. #46
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2103
    Processori9-9900 Ks @ 5.0 @ 1.23v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB 3000 Mhz cl-14 @ 4000 Mhz cl-17-19-19-39 @1.4v 1.21v vccio/vcssa
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 1.0v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerGamermaxx L360 v2
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    267

    so if i have my 3000 mhz cl 14 @ 4000 cl-17 around 60k read , if i revert to 1602 i might < key word be able to do a bit better ?

  7. #47
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array kaptanedi PC Specs
    kaptanedi PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus viii formula
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)16gb
    Graphics Card #1gtx980 kingpin
    Storage #1samsun 950 pro
    Storage #2corsair force 3 120gb
    CPU Coolerek xtx360+xtx240 64mm
    Casecorsair c70
    Power Supplycorsair ax860i
    Keyboard logitech g710+
    Mouse logitech g502
    OS win 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    154

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Starting with bios 1704 added support for the new CPU's, if you are not using one and everything works as intended there is no reason to upgrade, the if it's not broken don't fix it
    On page 4, I explained the ram stable distortion. I'm not keen to upgrade the bios. but the 1601 bios does not serve to clean the nvme drivers. secure eraese does not work. There are 960 and 950 pro raid 0. 950 pro does not see secure eraes.

  8. #48
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    Guitarmageddon888 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus x code bios1704
    Memory (part number)8700k 5.1/4.9avx
    Graphics Card #1MSI 2080 gaming trio
    MonitorHP Omen 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 evo
    CPU CoolerH150i
    CaseLian li pc011
    Power SupplyEvga supernova g3 850w
    Keyboard Corsair k70
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    195

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Starting with bios 1704 added support for the new CPU's, if you are not using one and everything works as intended there is no reason to upgrade, the if it's not broken don't fix it
    So two questions about that:
    1. Since Im on 8700k, and its fine with 1704, not much new will be added for my sake. So if I ever needed to use the NVME secure erase that comes on this latest bios, what would be the best utility to do so? Is parted magic still a good option, or not for nvme? I always used that for SSDs.
    2. Dont the new BIOS come with microcode updates, which you do for sure need? How else would you get those without flashing anyway?

    Thanks

  9. #49
    ROG Enthusiast Array FunknNasty PC Specs
    FunknNasty PC Specs
    MotherboardROG APEX Z370
    Processor8600K
    Memory (part number)GSKILL ripjaz 2x8 3200c14
    Graphics Card #11080ti
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1850 EVO's
    CPU CoolerCorsai H110 V2
    CaseCorsair 300r
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 750x

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    FunknNasty, how did you come up with that name?

    I have indicated the same thing a couple times before, I cannot say for sure but the last 2 bios's have microcode updates for Gen. 9 CPU's and possibly for Intel vulnerabilities.
    I am not sure but believe that may be the reason, also on my XI Gene board I have somewhat similar outcome, I'm not going to call it an issue that needs resolved by ASUS.
    I imagine that if one was an expert in memory settings, or one took the time to change other timings, 2nd and 3rd this could probably be overcome.
    If you are not using a 9th. Gen. CPU you can stay on bios 1602 or earlier you will be able to run the tighter timings, or at least that is my experiance
    Hi Menthol (....yeah, like your name)

    Sure, I have zero issues with bios 1401 ......

    I've been following a Formula XI 9900k user that dropped in some GSkill 4400 c18 and couldn't get anything meaningful above 4000 mhz. So for me it was just a curiosity to see what a 9 series bios would look like on my screen should I decide to go that route ....think I'll hold tight with bios 1401 and the cpu I have, for now.

    .....I still find it somewhat odd that the 1401 vs 1801 performance are in lockstep with each other at 3866 52/48 but then diverge in a significant way at 4000 mhz.


    The Nasty handle goes back 20+ years to my Nascar online/lan racing and BF days ....I used it here because the Asus account I started 20 years ago worked. :-)

    -Cheers
    Last edited by FunknNasty; 12-30-2018 at 06:28 PM.

  10. #50
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3600 15-16-37
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    371

    @Guitarmageddon888

    2. The microcode for 8700k hasn't changed 1704 -> 1801.

    It is possible to easily mod your BIOS to add new microcode when it becomes available. Also, new microcode can be loaded by windows at startup. Microsoft updates microcode through this mechanism from time to time.

Page 5 of 20 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 15 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •