Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MRBULL PC Specs
    MRBULL PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Formula XI
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3400C14-8GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Evo 970 1TB m2
    Storage #2Evo 970 500gig m2
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 280
    CaseObsidian 900D Super Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair HX Series™ HX1050
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser pc350 special edition
    OS Windows 10 pro
    MRBULL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    84

    9900k oc at 5ghz stable but never reaches more then 4.6 ?

    No idea why the cpu never went more then 4.6 , i did many different test , last one being a re-encode of a blue ray , cpu maxed at 100% for 15 minutes never went over 4.6?.. i have an offset on adaptive voltage of 1.3v ...
    wonder if it's that avx instruction core ratio negative offset causing this.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4.6.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	233.7 KB 
ID:	77731
    Last edited by MRBULL; 12-21-2018 at 12:18 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,689

    I just saw in another thread that Windows power plan can be set at some value less than 100% for "maximum processor speed"...might be worth checking...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MRBULL PC Specs
    MRBULL PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Formula XI
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3400C14-8GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Evo 970 1TB m2
    Storage #2Evo 970 500gig m2
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 280
    CaseObsidian 900D Super Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair HX Series™ HX1050
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser pc350 special edition
    OS Windows 10 pro
    MRBULL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    84

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I just saw in another thread that Windows power plan can be set at some value less than 100% for "maximum processor speed"...might be worth checking...
    yeah mine was set to 100%

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array feedmeink PC Specs
    feedmeink PC Specs
    MotherboardX299 Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorI9 7980xe
    Memory (part number)Corsair vengeance lpx 4000mhz 32gb (2x16gb)
    Graphics Card #1Ek waterblock vega 56
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 1tb m.2
    CPU CoolerEk full monoblock
    CaseLian li pc-011 dynamic
    Power SupplyEvga 1200 watt platinum
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    187

    If encoding a blu ray utilizes avx, it could be that. Of your offset for avx equals 4.6 that would explain it. To rule it out, try using aida64 or something similar without using avx function and see if it maxes at set OC. Just trying to cover all bases. You may have done this already.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MRBULL PC Specs
    MRBULL PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Formula XI
    ProcessorIntel I9 9900k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3400C14-8GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC ULTRA
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Evo 970 1TB m2
    Storage #2Evo 970 500gig m2
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 280
    CaseObsidian 900D Super Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair HX Series™ HX1050
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser pc350 special edition
    OS Windows 10 pro
    MRBULL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    84

    yeah that was the problem , the AVX , just tested it stable now at 5ghz re encoding .

    thx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •