Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Temperature sensors on Crosshair VII Hero.

    Hi all,

    I'm setting up Fan Xpert to control my case fans based on the different temperature sensors on this board. The description on the webpage for this board indicates that there is a sensor for VRM temperatures,; but I only see CPU, Motherboard and PCH in the software.

    Can someone clarify if the Crosshair VII Hero can sense VRM temps?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    C7H has very best implementation of VRM temperature reporting. As actual mosfets have temperature sensor. I do not use Fan Xpert, but HWINFO for sure shows VRM temps.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    C7H has very best implementation of VRM temperature reporting. As actual mosfets have temperature sensor. I do not use Fan Xpert, but HWINFO for sure shows VRM temps.
    Thanks for the response.

    Yes, I have seen VRM temps being reported in HWInfo, but cannot find an option to use VRM temperatures as a source in any software or even in BIOS Q Control

    Am I missing something? Are you able to use VRM temps to control Fan Speeds?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    NP .

    Sadly can not be used as source for fan profile AFAIK.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    NP .

    Sadly can not be used as source for fan profile AFAIK.
    Bugger

    I guess I will have to buy a Thermistor and plug it into the Thermal Sensor Jack.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    *Update*

    I placed a Thermistor on the VRM heat sink and can read those temps in the BIOS now.

    Question on adding multiple temperature sources for fan control.

    Does the order of sources matter, or does the system always go by the source with the highest temperature?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Sorry no idea never used multiple sources so far. Logically I would think the highest temperature would be used.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Sorry no idea never used multiple sources so far. Logically I would think the highest temperature would be used.
    Ok thanks

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Delta9K PC Specs
    Delta9K PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2x16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX1080TI-SC
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 512GB NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerFractal Celsius S36
    CaseFractal Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK.2
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Delta9K's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by fullerms View Post
    I placed a Thermistor on the VRM heat sink and can read those temps in the BIOS now.

    Question on adding multiple temperature sources for fan control.

    Does the order of sources matter, or does the system always go by the source with the highest temperature?
    If you're using FanXpert you can assign a weight value to the sources for priority - the little slider bars to the right. You get a total of 100 - you can set for an example, 60 to one source and 25 to another and 15 to the other etc etc . I don't think you are able to do that from bios Qfan control.
    Last edited by Delta9K; 01-04-2019 at 05:11 AM. Reason: spelling is poor
    Other systems in addition to rig in the profile specs:
    Aorus Master x570, 3950X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, Sabrent 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 2080 Super, HX1200i, Celsius S36, Define S2, pg348q
    Aorus Master x570, 3900X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, 5700XT, HX1000i, H150i Pro, Obsidian 500D, LG32GK650F-B
    MEG x570 Unify, 3800X, 32GB GSkill c16 @3800, Sabrent PCIe4 1TB, 860Evo 1TB, GTX1080Ti, SSR-850PD, Celsius S36, Define R6, u3415w

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by Delta9K View Post
    If you're using FanXpert you can assign a weight value to the sources for priority - the little slider bars to the right. You get a total of 100 - you can set for an example, 60 to one source and 25 to another and 15 to the other etc etc . I don't think you are able to do that from bios Qfan control.
    Ok thanks, but I find AI Suite III too buggy and prefer to configure fan settings in BIOS.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •