Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Ok thanks.

    CPU socket temperatures seem to have dropped by 1-2 degree Celsius after I removed the SSD mount from its default position. I guess I will have to hold off on any further OCing until I figure out the cause of these high CPU temps.

    It seems strange that the Socket Temps and Chipset temps are exactly the same though.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SSDs in new location.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	115.4 KB 
ID:	78140

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Yes that is odd. It has matched it exactly for all columns, good spot .

    I would try SIV, see what that says. It may be you need to reset HWINFO.

    You will also find the socket has a hole, you can carefully feed a temp probe through it, perhaps connect to t sensor or a water in/out header to get a "second opinion" .

    After seeing my ~29C Threadripper data your SSD temps for location/room ambient is correct. You can see in low airflow, but where GPU is also water cooled, not dumping heat on chipset heatsink, but bigger heatsink, I have 60C.

    Below is my current C7H setup.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20181225_165058.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	486.5 KB 
ID:	78142

    Room ambient 24C.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	RT PBOEP 1.075 1.385 0.687 34 Off 48 room 24C PASS 25500%.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	854.3 KB 
ID:	78143

    Just need to snag a small PCB GPU like R9 Nano / RX VEGA, slap a waterblock on it, so can always see the C7H in it's all black goodness .
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Just need to snag a small PCB GPU like R9 Nano / RX VEGA, slap a waterblock on it, so can always see the C7H in it's all black goodness .
    Don't mean stray away from the topic, but what would a Liquid Cooled setup like yours cost? I have been considering water cooling my GPU alone, but not sure where to start.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    I think discussion is within context as title is Need advice / suggestions on optimizing Ryzen 2600X on CH VII .

    The EK Supremacy EVO can be had for cheap these days. As I believe it's becoming EOL, as Velocity will replace it, check the EK Web shop. Mine cost £30 delivered in black Friday sales if I don't account the discount coupon I had. I would though suggest the Bykski block, it supports AM3/4 and sTR4, has bigger coldplate, cost very similar (link).

    The EK DDC/RES was second hand off ebay, £45, your looking >£100 otherwise for new.

    EK-ZMT is ~£4 a metre from source I use, what you see was probably about less than 1.5M (I'll measure it). Retail packs of 3m are ~£14 IIRC. It is nice tubing, as does not change colour like some clear tubing can. As also it cuts down on light interaction with coolant I have not have to change fluid in my Threadripper setup for over a year. As it is use industrial grade material you can use all coolants on market with it. I use distilled water with ~20% mix of Mayhems XT-1 clear concentrate. I sourced from Mayhems about £3 a bottle ~1.5yrs ago.

    The Barrow fitting are great. I used for TR and this build, plenty on OCN swear by them. I sourced the Barrow fittings and rad from Formulamod via Aliexpress, on Cyber Monday deal. This was ~£70 for rad, ddc pump mount bracket, water temp sensor, fittings (only 1x 45 degree rotary is not accounted for in that cost).

    The fans are Arctic Cooling P12 PWM, I have owned fans like ThermalRight/Be Quiet, etc, for the quietness, range of RPM and cost these are stonking fans IMO, £20 for all 3.

    Roughly you are looking at ~£175.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    How do I reset HWInfo? I tried removing it and then reinstalling, no change.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    IIRC when you launch it select settings and you can clear user settings, cache, etc.

    When also on sensors page you can go with settings and press restore original order on one of the tabs which should rescan/sync sensors.

    If you use another program like SIV is CPU socket/Chipset temp matching?
    Last edited by gupsterg; 01-12-2019 at 01:39 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    I posted a bug report in the HWInfo forum, but the author says it could be a BIOS issue. However, I am able to get proper readings after loading optimized defaults in BIOS.

    I guess I will now have to change one setting at a time to track down the issue

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Socket temps after BIOS reset.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	189.0 KB 
ID:	78181

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Good to read you have made some headway .

    I do not know of a UEFI setting that would create the issue you highlight. I have not experienced this occurrence since owning C6H/C7H/ZE, any UEFI (and I've used a lot of "offical"/beta UEFIs) and or versions of HWINFO.

    It maybe the Super IO chip FW is playing up, as that is what would be relaying the socket temperature from the thermistor ASUS place there. What UEFI are you on currently?
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array fullerms PC Specs
    fullerms PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2600X
    Memory (part number)Crucial F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1Asus RX580 Strix TOP Edition 8GB
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorBenq SW2700
    Storage #1Crucial M4 256GB SSD
    Storage #2Crucial MX500 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify C
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G3 1000W
    Keyboard Rosewill C31
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X3
    Headset/Speakers Cyber Acoustics CA-3602
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    Good to read you have made some headway .

    I do not know of a UEFI setting that would create the issue you highlight. I have not experienced this occurrence since owning C6H/C7H/ZE, any UEFI (and I've used a lot of "offical"/beta UEFIs) and or versions of HWINFO.

    It maybe the Super IO chip FW is playing up, as that is what would be relaying the socket temperature from the thermistor ASUS place there. What UEFI are you on currently?
    I am on BIOS Version 1201, and think I have traced the issue.

    The error occurs when I configure Chassis Fan1 to use PCH as the temperature source in BIOS.

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    Great, I would post this up as bug in in this thread. Hopefully will serve as info to others and perhaps ASUS employee may read it and pass up the chain.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •