Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    91

    Help: Maybe a Corrupted BIOS or CPU Dead, How to flash

    Hi Guys, My PC had been running for the past few days downloading after a fresh install. had a few reboots. no issues.

    Last night I shutdown switched to BIOS 2 and PC wouldn't POST.. no qcodes etc... and I saw a flashing LED not certain of location but will investigate further tonight.

    Switched back to BIOS 1 (previously working) PC would turn on, 00 QCODE and do nothing, then seem to reset.. also saw a flashing LED.


    Can you please refresh me am I able to reflash a BIOS from a power off mode? Can't remember and I've looked through the user manual.

    I'm thinking my 5960X CPU could have just died????

    Thanks.
    MB: ASUS Rampage V Extreme
    CPU: Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Edition
    RAM: Dominator® Platinum Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 2800MHz
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular
    GFX: 3 x EVGA GTX Titan Black Superclocked 6GB
    SSD: 2 x Samsung 850 Pro Series 512Gb SSD Raid 0
    HDD: 2 x WD4003FZEX WD Black 4TB Raid 0
    1234;
    2 x WD1000DHTZ WD VelociRaptor 1TB Raid 0
    MON: Dell Ultra Sharp 32 Ultra HD Monitor - UP3214Q
    CASE: Silverstone Temjin TJ11 Black with Window Case
    OS: Win7 x64bit

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array CMDRZOD PC Specs
    CMDRZOD PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 6950x 4.3Ghz 1.3V
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident 32GB 3200Mhz 13-13-13-32 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #2Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #3Aorus HB SLI Bridge RGB
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek HD Audio
    MonitorUN65HU9000 4k TV with SEK-3500
    Storage #1RAID 0 4x 4TB Seagate Blue SSHD
    Storage #2Intel 750 PCIE 1.2TB NVME
    CPU CoolerEK Monoblock
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum M10 Doublewide
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500Axi
    Keyboard Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Mouse Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Headset Astro Gaming A50 wireless
    Mouse Pad Minecraft pad!
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 THX 300 watt using optical output
    OS Win 10 64 FCU
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U Merlin FW
    Accessory #1 Club3D DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 Active converter for TV
    Accessory #2 Phanteks PWM Fan Controller x2
    Accessory #3 Upgraded OC Front panel

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by Counteragent View Post
    Hi Guys, My PC had been running for the past few days downloading after a fresh install. had a few reboots. no issues.

    Last night I shutdown switched to BIOS 2 and PC wouldn't POST.. no qcodes etc... and I saw a flashing LED not certain of location but will investigate further tonight.

    Switched back to BIOS 1 (previously working) PC would turn on, 00 QCODE and do nothing, then seem to reset.. also saw a flashing LED.


    Can you please refresh me am I able to reflash a BIOS from a power off mode? Can't remember and I've looked through the user manual.

    I'm thinking my 5960X CPU could have just died????

    Thanks.
    Page 2-14 in the manual shows how to flash from a USB stick.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by CMDRZOD View Post
    Page 2-14 in the manual shows how to flash from a USB stick.
    Hi,

    not in my book. Whats the title I'm looking for.
    MB: ASUS Rampage V Extreme
    CPU: Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Edition
    RAM: Dominator® Platinum Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 2800MHz
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular
    GFX: 3 x EVGA GTX Titan Black Superclocked 6GB
    SSD: 2 x Samsung 850 Pro Series 512Gb SSD Raid 0
    HDD: 2 x WD4003FZEX WD Black 4TB Raid 0
    1234;
    2 x WD1000DHTZ WD VelociRaptor 1TB Raid 0
    MON: Dell Ultra Sharp 32 Ultra HD Monitor - UP3214Q
    CASE: Silverstone Temjin TJ11 Black with Window Case
    OS: Win7 x64bit

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    Have you cleared CMOS?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Have you cleared CMOS?
    Yes attempted a clear CMOS via the button on the IO...

    Think I'll have to remove water block from CPU and inspect.
    MB: ASUS Rampage V Extreme
    CPU: Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Edition
    RAM: Dominator® Platinum Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 2800MHz
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular
    GFX: 3 x EVGA GTX Titan Black Superclocked 6GB
    SSD: 2 x Samsung 850 Pro Series 512Gb SSD Raid 0
    HDD: 2 x WD4003FZEX WD Black 4TB Raid 0
    1234;
    2 x WD1000DHTZ WD VelociRaptor 1TB Raid 0
    MON: Dell Ultra Sharp 32 Ultra HD Monitor - UP3214Q
    CASE: Silverstone Temjin TJ11 Black with Window Case
    OS: Win7 x64bit

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    First I would remove the CMOS battery and unplug the board from the PSU for a while and then replace battery, clear CMOS and then connect PSU.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    BIOS Flashback is the method you want...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    BIOS Flashback is the method you want...


    Done BIOS Flashback still no good. Took CPU out couldn't find any blown / burnt pins or burn damage to CPU.

    With CPU out PC won't start. re-mounted CPU still no good.

    Getting hard to buy 2011-v3 CPUs now.
    MB: ASUS Rampage V Extreme
    CPU: Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Edition
    RAM: Dominator® Platinum Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 2800MHz
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular
    GFX: 3 x EVGA GTX Titan Black Superclocked 6GB
    SSD: 2 x Samsung 850 Pro Series 512Gb SSD Raid 0
    HDD: 2 x WD4003FZEX WD Black 4TB Raid 0
    1234;
    2 x WD1000DHTZ WD VelociRaptor 1TB Raid 0
    MON: Dell Ultra Sharp 32 Ultra HD Monitor - UP3214Q
    CASE: Silverstone Temjin TJ11 Black with Window Case
    OS: Win7 x64bit

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    91

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPU Socket 2.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	281.6 KB 
ID:	77843

    This is CPU Socket.... Battery is now out and will disconnect power to MB now.
    MB: ASUS Rampage V Extreme
    CPU: Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Edition
    RAM: Dominator® Platinum Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 2800MHz
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular
    GFX: 3 x EVGA GTX Titan Black Superclocked 6GB
    SSD: 2 x Samsung 850 Pro Series 512Gb SSD Raid 0
    HDD: 2 x WD4003FZEX WD Black 4TB Raid 0
    1234;
    2 x WD1000DHTZ WD VelociRaptor 1TB Raid 0
    MON: Dell Ultra Sharp 32 Ultra HD Monitor - UP3214Q
    CASE: Silverstone Temjin TJ11 Black with Window Case
    OS: Win7 x64bit

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    91

    Just a heads UP problem has been fixed. As to what exactly fixed / the cause remains a mystery.

    What did I do? Well I done a number of things all at the same time so its not certain what actually did fix it.

    So what did I do:

    Took CPU out inspected and re-inserted - MB would not POST

    The next steps were all done together:

    Replaced CMOS Battery with brand new one
    ALL Power to MB removed
    cleaned surface of CPU with a Hospital Grade ISO WIPE

    installed CPU put power back to MB.. and BANG.. it posted.

    Got Kyos CPU block back on and its going good.
    MB: ASUS Rampage V Extreme
    CPU: Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Edition
    RAM: Dominator® Platinum Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 DRAM 2800MHz
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular
    GFX: 3 x EVGA GTX Titan Black Superclocked 6GB
    SSD: 2 x Samsung 850 Pro Series 512Gb SSD Raid 0
    HDD: 2 x WD4003FZEX WD Black 4TB Raid 0
    1234;
    2 x WD1000DHTZ WD VelociRaptor 1TB Raid 0
    MON: Dell Ultra Sharp 32 Ultra HD Monitor - UP3214Q
    CASE: Silverstone Temjin TJ11 Black with Window Case
    OS: Win7 x64bit

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •