Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by marcolisi View Post
    Would avoid the Corsair line...very picky memory!!....
    If you ever wanted to change out motherboard..chances are you'll be changing the memory as well.
    Less likely with GSkill as I've had this kit 3866 c18-32q GTZR with x99/z370/z390 with no compatibility issues
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 12-29-2018 at 06:22 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    I currently have the 3866c18q-32GTZR....no issues
    How far you can get with the overclocking and is there anything better than that for having the best ram for a z390 mounting a i9 9900k ?

    How does your ram performs in such benchmark?

    https://ram.userbenchmark.com/
    Last edited by marcolisi; 12-29-2018 at 10:23 PM.

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    these are my results . I was not able to go past 3700 mhz

    https://ibb.co/zn3m1hK

    https://ibb.co/SmKJXBL
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Untitled4.jpg  

    Untitled5.jpg  

    Last edited by marcolisi; 12-31-2018 at 09:52 PM.

  4. #24
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,855

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    Would avoid the Corsair line...very picky memory!!....
    If you ever wanted to change out motherboard..chances are you'll be changing the memory as well.
    Less likely with GSkill as I've had this kit 3866 c18-32q GTZR with x99/z370/z390 with no compatibility issues
    hmmmm
    I’ve had the exact opposite experience. Have always been able to get XMP out of dominator sticks. Vengeance, not so much just like rip jaws. Only two I’ll use in order. Corsair dominator platinum and Gskill Trident Z.
    @OP these stupid high numbers on ram are more of a luck shot to hit XMP. 3200 -3800 is the sweet spot. When you have to run C19 or more trying to get it to work it’s a waste. I just wish there were 8 stick X299 kits for like C14. I’d take 3200 C14 over anything C19. My 3800 c19 Corsair dominator platinum kit *does C16 just changing the numbers after loading XMP without even trying.*

    Thing is just leave your kit in auto until you max out CPU and cache clocks. XMP isn’t a guarantee. May or may not work. It’s not uncommon for it not to play nice *at certain clock speeds. I’ve had it take backing off one and jumping up one and it worked fine after.*

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3080 FTW3 Ultra w FC EKWB
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64 - 20H2
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    291

    Just curious....I have been out of the OC game since building my RIVE 3930K build a number of years ago...my present build runs and OC's just fine with a 32G Platinum Kit (2 x 16G).....there are a few folks here stating that running 4 Sticks will result in easier OC'ing.....hhhmmmm...this goes entirely against what Ive experienced OC'ing the last 10 yrs....by populating all DIMM Slots your putting far more stress on the CPU IMC which ALWAYS resulted in more difficulty reacing higher stable Clocks....Tri Channel Memory always used 3 Sticks vs 6 Sticks....Quad Channel always 4 Sticks vs 8 Sticks....now my MXIE is Duo Channel..so 2 Sticks vs 4 Sticks....
    Can you please post up some info regarding population of DIMM Slots and how this affects IMC.....

    ....just curious guys as OC'ing was always best suited with less Memory DIMM slots populated....not more....regardless of the Sticks capacity (as in 16G vs 8G) .....I would never consider 4 x 8G kit amnd populating all DIMMS vs 2 x 16G Kit and populating 2.....keeping the interface stable between Memory and IMC is the key in most OC'ing.........

    Apex Boards follow this same suit with only 2 Slots....generally if you find a suitable OC with say 2 x 16G kits and switch to 4 x 8G Kit....you generally (from my experience) bork your OC and you'll find everything will require more voltage and tweaking..........and you may never reach the OC's you had previously with less DIMM Slots populated.....

    Things may have changed ....but everywhere still points to interface between CPU IMC and DIMM Slots says less DIMM Slots populated the better....please provide soem links that state otherwise...you,ve peaked my curiosity

    As for Corsair RAM Dominators - they have been my go to for several years and the last few builds ...no issues...as for mixing kits ...agreed dont recommend it...but Ive done that as well with no issues...provided you purchase the exact same kit......just my experience with this stuff...

    Im certainly not saying folks here are wrong...not at all...perhaps the Architecture and Interface between the CPU IMC and DIMM has changed dramatically since X79.......Im going to do some digging myself...
    .....before ditching what could be a perfectly good set of 2 * 16G Memory for 4 * 8G Memory only to find the same OC'ing difficulty there are a number of things that havent been mentioned to try first.....pushing a tad more voltage to the vDimm would be the first thing...then IO / SA...if no luck ensure CR set to 2T vs 1T .....manually setting the Memory vs XMP and finally loosening up the CAS from 16 (although Id be choked if I needed to do that)....

    ....when talking "Silicone Lottery" and CPU this is generally how decent the IMC is within the CPU....some good..some great..some ok.....

    ..perhaps Arnie or Shamino can chime in to clarify ...as saifd perhaps Architecture has changed and/or interface.....

    EDIT:

    My apologies guys....did some digging...seems the jury is out on this one ......T Topology of the platforms ....dual rank vs single rank DIMMS....a lot of conflicting info,,,its certainly not black n white....Samsung B-Die Modules etc etc ....
    Last edited by rjbarker; 01-01-2019 at 03:09 AM.

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
    Just curious....I have been out of the OC game since building my RIVE 3930K build a number of years ago...my present build runs and OC's just fine with a 32G Platinum Kit (2 x 16G).....there are a few folks here stating that running 4 Sticks will result in easier OC'ing.....hhhmmmm...this goes entirely against what Ive experienced OC'ing the last 10 yrs....by populating all DIMM Slots your putting far more stress on the CPU IMC which ALWAYS resulted in more difficulty reacing higher stable Clocks....Tri Channel Memory always used 3 Sticks vs 6 Sticks....Quad Channel always 4 Sticks vs 8 Sticks....now my MXIE is Duo Channel..so 2 Sticks vs 4 Sticks....
    Can you please post up some info regarding population of DIMM Slots and how this affects IMC.....

    ....just curious guys as OC'ing was always best suited with less Memory DIMM slots populated....not more....regardless of the Sticks capacity (as in 16G vs 8G) .....I would never consider 4 x 8G kit amnd populating all DIMMS vs 2 x 16G Kit and populating 2.....keeping the interface stable between Memory and IMC is the key in most OC'ing.........

    Apex Boards follow this same suit with only 2 Slots....generally if you find a suitable OC with say 2 x 16G kits and switch to 4 x 8G Kit....you generally (from my experience) bork your OC and you'll find everything will require more voltage and tweaking..........and you may never reach the OC's you had previously with less DIMM Slots populated.....

    Things may have changed ....but everywhere still points to interface between CPU IMC and DIMM Slots says less DIMM Slots populated the better....please provide soem links that state otherwise...you,ve peaked my curiosity

    As for Corsair RAM Dominators - they have been my go to for several years and the last few builds ...no issues...as for mixing kits ...agreed dont recommend it...but Ive done that as well with no issues...provided you purchase the exact same kit......just my experience with this stuff...

    Im certainly not saying folks here are wrong...not at all...perhaps the Architecture and Interface between the CPU IMC and DIMM has changed dramatically since X79.......Im going to do some digging myself...
    .....before ditching what could be a perfectly good set of 2 * 16G Memory for 4 * 8G Memory only to find the same OC'ing difficulty there are a number of things that havent been mentioned to try first.....pushing a tad more voltage to the vDimm would be the first thing...then IO / SA...if no luck ensure CR set to 2T vs 1T .....manually setting the Memory vs XMP and finally loosening up the CAS from 16 (although Id be choked if I needed to do that)....

    ....when talking "Silicone Lottery" and CPU this is generally how decent the IMC is within the CPU....some good..some great..some ok.....

    ..perhaps Arnie or Shamino can chime in to clarify ...as saifd perhaps Architecture has changed and/or interface.....

    EDIT:

    My apologies guys....did some digging...seems the jury is out on this one ......T Topology of the platforms ....dual rank vs single rank DIMMS....a lot of conflicting info,,,its certainly not black n white....Samsung B-Die Modules etc etc ....
    Would you please try to guide me through the overclocking of the ram I have ?

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array morph. PC Specs
    morph. PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro 13" i5, Surface Pro X
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-10850K @5.2Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3600C14D-32GTRS (2x16) @4400MHz 17-18-18-37
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090oc
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity Nickel Plexi 2x PE360 Radiators
    CaseLian Li PC-O11DXL-W
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1000
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex Pro
    Mouse Final Mouse Air58 - Cherry
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Sheath BLK LTD
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterBillion BiPAC 8800AXL
    Accessory #1 EK Quantum Vector Strix Waterblock
    Accessory #2 EK Classic Side DP DDC3.2
    Accessory #3 EK Quantum Momentum VRM Bridge
    morph.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    96

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    I currently have the 3866c18q-32GTZR....no issues
    Hey Philly digging up an old thread...

    with your OC did you touch secondary and tertiary timings? Whats your aida64 latency before and after?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •