Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Bcheck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    R6E and Samsung 970 Pro performance issue.

    I have been running the 950 pro for a year on the R6E under the sink (PCH).
    No problems.
    I just bought a 970 pro put it in the same spot under the video card and copied the image back from the 950 pro with macrium.
    start fine, all seems good.

    Until i do a benchmark.
    Here are the images of both samsung benchmark and as ssd.

    i should be getting more no?? looks like it is running at 2X ?
    but then the samsung benchmark states over 3k? i am confused.

    i only have one videocard 1080ti and all other pcie slots are empty.

    Also, if i would swap it to the DIMM.2 riser would it boot ? (win10) Or do i need to set the riser card empty and then make an image and then restore?
    Would that fix the speed?

    running the latest bios build and the samsung nvme driver 3.0 and windows 10 1809

    thanks!
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos AS SSD PCH.png  

    2018-12-28 22_37_27-Samsung Magician Shadow Dialog.png  

    2018-12-28 22_41_39-Samsung Magician Shadow Dialog.png  

    Asus Rampage VI Extreme (1603 UEFI), Intel i9 Skylake-X 7940X
    G-Skill RGB 32GB 3200 / Asus STRIX 1080Ti OC / 970 Pro NVMe / 850 Pro
    Eizo FlexScan EV3237 4K IPS@60Hz
    Corsair AX860i / Corsair H115i Extreme / Corsair Commander PRO / Corsair LL RGB - Obsidian 750D
    Corsair Glaive / Corsair K95 RGB / Corsair VOID Wireless
    Win 10 Pro x64 1809 Fall Edition

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    First forget Samsung benchmark. It’s often bloated. ASSD uses different processes.*
    Good comparison that is widely used is Crystaldiskmark. Download and run that and see what you get. Make sure nothing else is running.
    Any specific reason you didn’t put this on DIMM.2_1 and set it to CPU in the BIOS? (DIMM.2 slot closer to ram slots)*this bypasses the PCH. Mine booted when I tried it back in the beginning.*

    You should be getting ~3500MB/S sequential reads and ~50MB/S 4K random reads. *

    Don’t think this is X2. Maybe check your PCIE speeds are set to gen3 instead of auto. Also run trim manually typing diskdfragementer in the search box on the taskbar.

    My bet is it’s a BIOS setting issue if you have upgraded and just overlooked. *If you change positions make sure you go into BIOS at startup and verify the correct boot option.*
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 12-28-2018 at 10:01 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Bcheck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    First forget Samsung benchmark. It’s often bloated. ASSD uses different processes.*
    Good comparison that is widely used is Crystaldiskmark. Download and run that and see what you get. Make sure nothing else is running.
    Any specific reason you didn’t put this on DIMM.2_1 and set it to CPU in the BIOS? (DIMM.2 slot closer to ram slots)*this bypasses the PCH. Mine booted when I tried it back in the beginning.*

    You should be getting ~3500MB/S sequential reads and ~50MB/S 4K random reads. *

    Don’t think this is X2. Maybe check your PCIE speeds are set to gen3 instead of auto. Also run trim manually typing diskdfragementer in the search box on the taskbar.

    My bet is it’s a BIOS setting issue if you have upgraded and just overlooked. *If you change positions make sure you go into BIOS at startup and verify the correct boot option.*
    Just ran the crystaldiskmark 6, it seems a bit underperforming. I will change it to the DIMM.2 lateron.
    thanks for the help and input.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 2018-12-29 15_47_55-CrystalDiskMark 6.0.2 x64.png  

    Asus Rampage VI Extreme (1603 UEFI), Intel i9 Skylake-X 7940X
    G-Skill RGB 32GB 3200 / Asus STRIX 1080Ti OC / 970 Pro NVMe / 850 Pro
    Eizo FlexScan EV3237 4K IPS@60Hz
    Corsair AX860i / Corsair H115i Extreme / Corsair Commander PRO / Corsair LL RGB - Obsidian 750D
    Corsair Glaive / Corsair K95 RGB / Corsair VOID Wireless
    Win 10 Pro x64 1809 Fall Edition

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    That’s just a little shy but not by much. Background apps, AV, indexing etc will have a go at your numbers. *Other things on the PCH will knock it back too. Best bet is on the inside towards the Ram amd set to *CPU in the BIOS. That will at least get the PCH bottle neck off of it.*

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •