Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Windows octoer update broke overclock.

    Am running latest windows October update and my overclock is now non operational.

    Am running 6900k with Rampage V extreme.

    I am running 3902.


    Is there a solution to this ? I paid quite a bit for this board and do not want to be forced into upgrading quite yet.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 1 TB, 3,5/2,1 GB/s
    Storage #2WD Red WD40EFRX - 4 TB, 64 MB, 5400 RPM
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    the best solution is to find new working settings
    but the question is - is it really because of windows update?

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Most likely the microcode update. Caused a lot of issues such as increased heat for some CPUs and broken OCs
    You can go into update history and remove it then hide it if you dont want it coming back.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...windows-server

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by x-rated View Post
    the best solution is to find new working settings
    but the question is - is it really because of windows update?
    Uh define please.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Most likely the microcode update. Caused a lot of issues such as increased heat for some CPUs and broken OCs
    You can go into update history and remove it then hide it if you dont want it coming back.

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...windows-server
    Im running the latest october update i did that in prior updates but the 4100347 is no longer available for me to disable. I am told that the latest microcode is embedded in the 1809 update.

    Prior to this i was able to have a stable OC at 4.5 multiplier with 100mhz strap and 3.6ghz cache at 1.34 volt core with 1.2 volt cache. The updates relative to the 4100347 kill the ability to go beyond 4.0 ghz with a 100mhz strap. I am however able to change strap to 125mhz but cannot obtain a stable OC at 4.5ghz. i have to lower the OC due to heat and instability.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    I can just upgrade to a 9900k etc but i am wanting to put the money to a second rtx card at moment.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array vennacher PC Specs
    vennacher PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage IV Black Edition
    ProcessorCore i7 3970x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB CMZ64GX3M8A1866C9
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX690
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium
    MonitorHP LP3065
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseSilverStone TJ07
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    The update broke my overclock as well, R4BE with Sandybridge. It wasn't on the high end, rather at idle. I disabled the C3/6/7 states and increased my CPU fixed frequency to 750, VCCSA fixed frequency to 500. I am testing CPU fixed frequency at 500, but not enough time to declare it stable.
    MB : Rampage IV BE. - Bios 0801
    CPU : i7 3970x @ 4500 MHz, Offset +0.030v, Regular LLC, Fixed Frequency 750, C1E Enabled, C3/C6/C7 Disabled
    CPU VCCSA: Manual 1.150v, Regular LLC, Fixed Frequency 500
    RAM : Corsair Vengeance @ 1866 MHz - 64GB
    Disks : Raid0 2x Intel 520 480GB; 2x Seagate 2TB
    GFX : EVGA GTX690
    Audio : Creative X-FI Titanium HD
    PSU : Corsair AX1200i
    Optic BD\DVD : Lite-On Blu-Ray; Samsung DVDRW
    Cooler\Case : Corsair H100i v2 2; Silverstone TJ07
    OS : Win10 Pro 64

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    DemiSlayer,
    You can use Microsoft Windows and Office ISO Download Tool 7.35, you can download any version of Win 10, then disable updates if one wishes to, or Win 7, and Office

    https://www.majorgeeks.com/files/det...load_tool.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •