cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New at OCing

TheDragon
Level 7
Hi, I am new at overclocking but I decided to try it. I got an NVIDIA GeForce Dual-GTX 1060 6GB OC from Asus, and have managed to overclock it as much as I can. The temperature is under 70 degrees at all time, and yes I have benchmarked it with 3Dmark TIme spy benchmark. I haven't touched the voltage bar (I am using GPU Tweak 2) and when I do the benchmark won't run so I keep it untouched. Any tips to get it more overclocked?

I mostly play Kingdom come deliverance and Dishonored 2. I can run KCD stable and good, but Dishonored has started to get random crashes/freezes I do not know it is because of the overclocking. Help.

And the last thing. I have been overclocking my CPU as well, an i3-8350k, with the OC Genie 4 but the benchmark says it still has 4000 MHz while the Genie says it keeps the clock running at 4200 MHz. What is the solution to this and what have I done wrong?

Thanks for any replies!
You are supposed to smear the cooling paste behind the CPU on the pins, right?
12 REPLIES 12

TheDragon
Level 7
Update: I just had blue screen and because I am paranoid I turned off the OC Genie 4, and I got a new one so I reset my GPU OC as well...

JustinThyme
Level 13
For your CPU OC use the BIOS instead of any software solution. There are lots of guides.*

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity, I'm not sure about the former” ~ Albert Einstein

JustinThyme wrote:
For your CPU OC use the BIOS instead of any software solution. There are lots of guides.*

That is exactly what I am using. There is a button in the BIOS called OC or something that I use. I only use software for the GPU OC.

JustinThyme
Level 13
EZ button?*
You will get better results reading some of the guides and making the changes yourself.*
You threw me off with OC genie as that’s an MSI term on an ASUS forum. *