Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Question Thinking in buying a M.2 sata 1tb drive

    Happy new year everyone!

    I am thinking in purchasing a M.2 SATA drive, but i actually have a NVME drive on the slot M2_1.

    The manual states:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo_2019-01-02_15-17-35.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	104.8 KB 
ID:	77914


    So, i can't install the M2 SATA drive on the mobo's back slot, right? I should have to swap the drives, right?

    This is a bit of backoff...

    Regards and nice holidays!

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    You would be correct. Only M.2_1 supports an M.2 SATA *

    Any particular reason why an M.2 SATA other than costing a little less? I can’t imagine going from 3500MB/S sequential reads to 500MB/S.*

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    You would be correct. Only M.2_1 supports an M.2 SATA *

    Any particular reason why an M.2 SATA other than costing a little less? I can’t imagine going from 3500MB/S sequential reads to 500MB/S.*
    thank you, the idea was having the nvme on M2_1 as i have it now, and put the M2 sata on M2_2 for extra storage space (1tb for 130€ is worth in my opinion).

    But i don't like the idea of having to swap the 2 drives.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C16-ROG
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB & 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Just keep in mind (you didn't say what your MB model is), that depending on the board configuration and model you COULD end up losing a normal sata port if you use m.2 sata.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
    Just keep in mind (you didn't say what your MB model is), that depending on the board configuration and model you COULD end up losing a normal sata port if you use m.2 sata.
    One must read between the lines, look at the manual screen shot that shows the MOBO.
    I’m not aware of any models that am M2 slot shares *SATA ports.*

    @ OP moving the drive physically should not effect its properties other than location. You can still boot and it’s still C:\. You want cheap you can go even less than that with a 2.5 inch drive.*

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
    Just keep in mind (you didn't say what your MB model is), that depending on the board configuration and model you COULD end up losing a normal sata port if you use m.2 sata.
    it's a strix z370 i-gaming mobo. I'm not thinking in using sata ssds in the future...


    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    One must read between the lines, look at the manual screen shot that shows the MOBO.
    I’m not aware of any models that am M2 slot shares *SATA ports.*

    @ OP moving the drive physically should not effect its properties other than location. You can still boot and it’s still C:\. You want cheap you can go even less than that with a 2.5 inch drive.*
    I'm going with a ncase m1, so i rather like using the m2's slots and get rid of sata data and power cables.

    For example the same 1 tb ssd version costs the same amount of money as the m2 sata version.

    it's not the same removing only the right side panel and installing the m.2 that removing the graphic card, unscrew the m2 heatsink... the ncase is cute and functional, but it is a little bit of a pain to work inside it.


    Thanks for your advice and answers!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C16-ROG
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB & 970 EVO 2TB
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    One must read between the lines, look at the manual screen shot that shows the MOBO.
    I’m not aware of any models that am M2 slot shares *SATA ports.*

    I know 2 (and probably can find a lot more). My current Z170 M8F, insert a sata M.2 > SATA6G_5 AND SATA6G_6 get disabled. My upcoming M11F, Insert sata M.2 > SATA6G_5 (or 6, i'd have to check) gets DISABLED.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •