Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 25 of 25

Thread: Pg27uq firmware

  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Quote Originally Posted by Rewerend View Post
    Hello nest, which fw did u get? I tried yesterday to check if there is new version but it seems that you had initial version. Mine is up to date....but after RMA fan (which was only cleaned) I am very satisfied with this LCD :-)
    I had initial version with black crush. Now I can use 144Hz without problems. I am expecting problems with fans too, I noticed change of its sound (nothing to do with fw change).

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Rewerend PC Specs
    Rewerend PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX-9370
    Memory (part number)2 x KHX23C11T3K2/8X
    Graphics Card #1R9 Fury X 4gb Sapphire
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSAMSUNG U28E590D 28" uHD + freeSync
    Storage #1Samsung SSD EVO 540 250Gb
    Storage #2Seagate 7200.14 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H105
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyENERMAX ERV1000EWT-G Revolution87+ 1000W Gold
    Keyboard Microsoft SideWinder X6
    Mouse Saitek MAD CATZ R.A.T. 7
    Headset Asus ROG Orion
    Mouse Pad Steel Series PAD
    Headset/Speakers Genius Home Theather SW 5.1
    OS MS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N18U
    Accessory #1 Zalman ZM-MFC3 FAN/TEMP CONTROLLER

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by nest View Post
    I had initial version with black crush. Now I can use 144Hz without problems. I am expecting problems with fans too, I noticed change of its sound (nothing to do with fw change).
    Send it to service, it´s quick done with cleaning and it helps ;-)

  3. #23
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hi!!

    One question. I read that not all the models of PG27UQ needs de firmware update. Only the first ones. Is this true? I bought mine this year. Do I need to do the update? In the support FAQ mentioned in this thread (https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1036750/), it says literally that "In the serial number, if the second digit is 6, the firmware can be refreshed". But the second digit in my serial number is 8. Does that mean that I CAN´T update my firmware or that i DON´T NEED to do the update? For now, I can´t test the 144Hz because I have an nvidia GTX980Ti, and in the manual of the monitor it says that you need at least an GTX 10 series GPU to use the 144Hz. But I´m planning to get an GTX 3080. So I need to know what I have to do with my monitor in order to achieve the best performance with my new GPU. Thanks!!

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9 10900K @ 5.1 GHz
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 4000MHz C17
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Hydro Copper
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1x2 Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB in RAID 0
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 850 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyROG THOR 1,200W
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G903 PowerPlay
    Headset Logitech G935
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10 (2004)
    Network RouterASUS AX11000

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    140

    Quote Originally Posted by Zorjo View Post
    Hi!!

    One question. I read that not all the models of PG27UQ needs de firmware update. Only the first ones. Is this true? I bought mine this year. Do I need to do the update? In the support FAQ mentioned in this thread (https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1036750/), it says literally that "In the serial number, if the second digit is 6, the firmware can be refreshed". But the second digit in my serial number is 8. Does that mean that I CAN´T update my firmware or that i DON´T NEED to do the update? For now, I can´t test the 144Hz because I have an nvidia GTX980Ti, and in the manual of the monitor it says that you need at least an GTX 10 series GPU to use the 144Hz. But I´m planning to get an GTX 3080. So I need to know what I have to do with my monitor in order to achieve the best performance with my new GPU. Thanks!!
    There was an initial batch of PG27UQ that left the factory before ASUS found a firmware bug. Only the initial batch of units need the firmware update. Since you just bought yours and the serial number does not match, you do not need to do anything.

    After ASUS caught the bug, they halted sales for 1-2 months while they recalled back all the monitors that hadn't been sold so they could flash them.

    I was super excited and was determined to be a day 1 buyer of the PG27UQ and got a unit with the firmware bug. Had fun waiting over a year I believe for the firmware fix.

  5. #25
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by btrach144 View Post
    There was an initial batch of PG27UQ that left the factory before ASUS found a firmware bug. Only the initial batch of units need the firmware update. Since you just bought yours and the serial number does not match, you do not need to do anything.

    After ASUS caught the bug, they halted sales for 1-2 months while they recalled back all the monitors that hadn't been sold so they could flash them.

    I was super excited and was determined to be a day 1 buyer of the PG27UQ and got a unit with the firmware bug. Had fun waiting over a year I believe for the firmware fix.
    Ok. Thanks for the help. It´s a relief. It´s a shame though that Asus did such a bad work with all this problem. I´m sorry for the people who had this problem when the monitor launched. Specially since Asus never released the tool that allow the user to do the firmware update himself. Or at least, no officialy.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •