Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Intel Optane 905p Raid PCI x4

    Before I pull the trigger on the purchase on a pair of 960GB 905p PCIE drives I wanna make sure this will work, I want to buy a pair and raid them, my understanding is that they're intel, no vroc key needed and theyll be the PCI

    I have two 2080 RTX tis, so theyll still operate at 16x each, then two of these 8x

    Raid 0 and bootable, yes or now?

    Anyone else do this and if so was the performance through the roof or?
    Last edited by techanalyst; 01-04-2019 at 04:21 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    246

    Which motherboard & CPU?
    Last edited by G75rog; 01-04-2019 at 08:27 PM.

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Need more info.
    I have 2 x 280 GB 900P drives VROC raid 0. Rig in specs. Thats as far as I was willing to go. Had the the current 380GB M2 905P drives been around when I built this rig I would have put two of them on a HyperX 16 card at X8. Not giving up my SLI for it.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Need more info.
    I have 2 x 280 GB 900P drives VROC raid 0. Rig in specs. Thats as far as I was willing to go. Had the the current 380GB M2 905P drives been around when I built this rig I would have put two of them on a HyperX 16 card at X8. Not giving up my SLI for it.
    Ordered two of the intel 905P AIC cards and a new 9980xe to replace my 7980xe and Samsung drives

    I have the lanes (16x x 2 and 8x)

    My understanding is I won't need a vroc key as they're intel octanes, I know in my dual 8180 workstation I had to buy a vroc key though but those were none intel SSDs.

    Mobo = the rampage, what else *
    Last edited by techanalyst; 01-06-2019 at 12:20 AM.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    They will do raid zero without a key. They wont run non intel drives in VROC period regardless of what you do. 8180 Xeon boards can run non intel drives with a key that is crazy stupid $$, I bought a key in the beginning, matter of fact got several before they found out there was a market and now gouging. I got mine for $8.99 each, cheapest now is $126. If you ever decide you want more than raid 0 the key is VROCISSDMOD j55733-100 MM#956822, also info that was being withheld.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    They will do raid zero without a key. They wont run non intel drives in VROC period regardless of what you do. 8180 Xeon boards can run non intel drives with a key that is crazy stupid $$, I bought a key in the beginning, matter of fact got several before they found out there was a market and now gouging. I got mine for $8.99 each, cheapest now is $126. If you ever decide you want more than raid 0 the key is VROCISSDMOD j55733-100 MM#956822, also info that was being withheld.
    excellent

    Still lose the Q1D performance benefit though right?

    Also it’ll be bootable raid 0?*

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Its reduced due to the latency of raid but still WELL above anything that anyone else can touch. Im getting 5400MB/S sequential and 200MB/S on low que depth 4K where its 280MB/S as a single drive compared to Samsungs 50MB/S for a 960 or 970 Pro.

    With larger drives you should be able to get better.

    Yes its bootable. My VROC array is my c:\
    Takes some trickery with drivers though. You are going to need iaVROC and iaStorE at the F6 prompt at install. One has to be loaded before the other but I cant recall which. you can get the F6 drivers from winraid or if you have a place I can upload or email them PM me.

    If you search this area "VROC" Theres a lot to read where several of us went through it at product launch right before the Optane drives were released. We tried everything under the sun to get non intel drives to work, not happening then there was no key to be had listed anywhere and there still isnt which is why I listed it. I got very loud with ASUS over the key as they were going back and for with intel. Im sitting on a few extras now.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-07-2019 at 04:16 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    I went through this with my dual 8180, it took me time, I bought a hardware key as I could create vroc arrays but none were bootable (enterprise board), added key no issues and yes the F6 already knew those were non optane, as I said, dell didnt offer them and still doesnt, I considered adding them but there's no essential value on that system to have optane.

    I had to wait 48 hours to buy a second optane drive (limit 1 per customer every 48 hours.......), so when I was going to order it I wanted to make sure if I had to add the VROC key or not

    I get by with a since 960 Pro 2TB on my system now, I have central san/nas storage in the house and separate servers (two servers with dual 8180s), so I have no need for lots of storage on the main machine (also 10Gbit through the entire house and i mount iscsi and network mounts frequently). Was going to buy a second 960 then I was reading about the new optane and other new tech and just waited for the new 9980xe to come out before i went through all the bother
    Last edited by techanalyst; 01-07-2019 at 04:31 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,331

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Its reduced due to the latency of raid but still WELL above anything that anyone else can touch. Im getting 5400MB/S sequential and 200MB/S on low que depth 4K where its 280MB/S as a single drive compared to Samsungs 50MB/S for a 960 or 970 Pro.

    With larger drives you should be able to get better.

    Yes its bootable. My VROC array is my c:\
    Takes some trickery with drivers though. You are going to need iaVROC and iaStorE at the F6 prompt at install. One has to be loaded before the other but I cant recall which. you can get the F6 drivers from winraid or if you have a place I can upload or email them PM me.

    If you search this area "VROC" Theres a lot to read where several of us went through it at product launch right before the Optane drives were released. We tried everything under the sun to get non intel drives to work, not happening then there was no key to be had listed anywhere and there still isnt which is why I listed it. I got very loud with ASUS over the key as they were going back and for with intel. Im sitting on a few extras now.
    Do you still have to go back to BIOS 803 to get it to work? I tried it the other day and couldn't get the f6 drivers working until I went back to 803. Worked like a charm and then updated BIOS after the RAID was set.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Well its working fine but for some reason GPU #2 is in 8x mode, trying to figure out why

    Two GPUs in 16x is 32 and 2x4x is 8 for 40.....

    the vroc only allowed the second and last x8 lanes to be added into the raid, if I use the 8_4x1 it never showed up as a selected raid drive

    Ideas?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •