Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Yes When you occupy the spot that is X8 only the 3rd goes to X8. *The only way to avoid this is using M2 drives in a hyperX 16 card BUT you can only use two *in the bottom slot as that’s all that is left that won’t interupt the X16 on the second x16 slot. This also limits you to two 380GB drives that didn’t exist when this platform was released on that’s what I would be running . I’ve not noted any change outside of a margin of error running the second GPU at X8. Just not enough lanes to go around. You have 44 bit X16 twice and X8 twice (even through the drives only use 4 of the 8) totals 48. The 44 total also includes the X4 going to DIMM.2_1 so add up 16 twice, 8 twice and the 4 going to the DIMM.2 and you are at 44. Just have to do a balancing act. When you populate the bottom slot you also lose DIMM.2_2, the side near the start button. Had I not already invested in this platform I would have jumped ship to AMD that has 20 more lanes and raid on CPU for free!

    Like I said I’ve not noted any difference in performance as SLI doesn’t scale 100% anyhow. If we had the M2 drives 760GB is more than plenty, I’m using 2x280GB drives now that house OS and most apps. I don’t store large media files and install large game installations on an 1TB 960 pro in DIMM.2_1. Media is either on 2x1TB 850 evos in raidO or on my huge NAS that’s connected via 10Gb Ethernet. Love the 10Gb connection to that. Awesome to see the file transfer window pop up topping 1GB/S. The network isn’t what dictates the speed for a change, its the drives.*

    Still floors me every time I reflect on the beginnings of the PC. *Not counting my Commodore 64 my first build was a 386 HEDT running a blistering 40MHz. Can’t remember the ram size but it was minuscule measured in kb. My first HDD was a whopping 40MB and was really kicking it when i upgraded to a 500MB!! Going cost was $1/MB on drives. *To think about all that and compare to the USB drive I keep on me all the time with a 256GB capacity *that I have to keep a mini lanyard on so I don’t lose the darn thing and cell phones with 1000 times or more computing power just boggles the mind.*

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    248

    16x/8x/8x/8x is the only combination that allows use of all 4 16x slots. It's in the manual.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Yes When you occupy the spot that is X8 only the 3rd goes to X8. *The only way to avoid this is using M2 drives in a hyperX 16 card BUT you can only use two *in the bottom slot as that’s all that is left that won’t interupt the X16 on the second x16 slot. This also limits you to two 380GB drives that didn’t exist when this platform was released on that’s what I would be running . I’ve not noted any change outside of a margin of error running the second GPU at X8. Just not enough lanes to go around. You have 44 bit X16 twice and X8 twice (even through the drives only use 4 of the 8) totals 48. The 44 total also includes the X4 going to DIMM.2_1 so add up 16 twice, 8 twice and the 4 going to the DIMM.2 and you are at 44. Just have to do a balancing act. When you populate the bottom slot you also lose DIMM.2_2, the side near the start button. Had I not already invested in this platform I would have jumped ship to AMD that has 20 more lanes and raid on CPU for free!

    Like I said I’ve not noted any difference in performance as SLI doesn’t scale 100% anyhow. If we had the M2 drives 760GB is more than plenty, I’m using 2x280GB drives now that house OS and most apps. I don’t store large media files and install large game installations on an 1TB 960 pro in DIMM.2_1. Media is either on 2x1TB 850 evos in raidO or on my huge NAS that’s connected via 10Gb Ethernet. Love the 10Gb connection to that. Awesome to see the file transfer window pop up topping 1GB/S. The network isn’t what dictates the speed for a change, its the drives.*

    Still floors me every time I reflect on the beginnings of the PC. *Not counting my Commodore 64 my first build was a 386 HEDT running a blistering 40MHz. Can’t remember the ram size but it was minuscule measured in kb. My first HDD was a whopping 40MB and was really kicking it when i upgraded to a 500MB!! Going cost was $1/MB on drives. *To think about all that and compare to the USB drive I keep on me all the time with a 256GB capacity *that I have to keep a mini lanyard on so I don’t lose the darn thing and cell phones with 1000 times or more computing power just boggles the mind.*
    So there's no work around to this? I'm only using the two 905ps, so not concerned about the rest of the DIMMs and all that.

  4. #14
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    No work arounds. Referring back to the highway analogy that would be like ripping up the extra 3 lanes and repaving them in a different direction. **The only X299 board that is made differently would be the WS Sage. That has 4x16 slots and 4 X8. Thing is though no matter how you slice it there are 44 lanes. The slots on the sage go to a mutiplexer for which I’m sure they have some trumped up name for it that’s a router of sorts between the PCIE slots and the CPU. How well this works I don’t know but what I can guarantee is added latency and decreased low que depth 4K performance.*

    Everyone gets hung up on the X16 for the GPUs but in reality it’s a certainty that up to 1080Ti cards the GPU doesn’t saturate the bandwidth of x8 **https://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/2...impact-on-gpus

    Recent testing shows even the 2080ti does not saturate X8.

    https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...Scaling/7.html
    **
    *
    *

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,332

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    No work arounds. Referring back to the highway analogy that would be like ripping up the extra 3 lanes and repaving them in a different direction. **The only X299 board that is made differently would be the WS Sage. That has 4x16 slots and 4 X8. Thing is though no matter how you slice it there are 44 lanes. The slots on the sage go to a mutiplexer for which I’m sure they have some trumped up name for it that’s a router of sorts between the PCIE slots and the CPU. How well this works I don’t know but what I can guarantee is added latency and decreased low que depth 4K performance.*

    Everyone gets hung up on the X16 for the GPUs but in reality it’s a certainty that up to 1080Ti cards the GPU doesn’t saturate the bandwidth of x8 **https://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/2...impact-on-gpus

    Recent testing shows even the 2080ti does not saturate X8.

    https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...Scaling/7.html
    **
    *
    *
    The 1080TI may not saturate over x8, but if you use a single one in that slot, instead of the x16 at the top, you can see a noticeable difference in frame rate. I've tried that configuration when I was trying my hand at a vertical GPU. The slot read at x8 but my games were stuttering all over the place. Move it back to the top slot no problems.

    I currently have my GPU in the top slot, two 900ps in the 2nd and 4th slot with a Hyper x16 in the third with two M.2s in it. As Justin said, that is the max. Sadly when the 4th slot is occupied, you can't use the M.2 DIMM slot properly and with three cards using PCI-e slots, I could NEVER get the DIMM.2 to ever recognize two M.2 drives so there are some strange limitations even though I was under 44 lanes.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •