Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array The_Nephilim PC Specs
    The_Nephilim PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix z270H Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5 7600K @ 5.0GHZ
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1eVGA 980 GTX
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Z
    Monitor2 Acer X1261P DLP Projector Active Display Port to VGA..
    Storage #1Samsung 850Evo
    Storage #2Seagate Barracudda 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster 212X Dual fans
    CaseCoolerMaster AMD Haf 932 Limited Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair 750W
    Keyboard Thermaltake RGB Posieden
    Mouse Ultech MMO Gaming Mouse
    Headset ROCCAT 5.1 Analog
    Headset/Speakers Creative 7.1 SPekaers w Sub
    OS Win 10 64bit Home
    Network RouterD Link DGL 5500
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS
    Accessory #2 Thrustmaster Cougar MFD's
    Accessory #3 Track IR 5

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    10

    Strix Z270H Gaming board stuck at 800mhz??

    Hey Guys,

    I decided to see if this board still worked after being in storage for a year or so.. Well it booted up fine but the problem I am having is it seems to be stuck at 8X Multiplyer..

    Now I did not overclock and I setup from Defaults. Plus I upgraded bios and it still says the Clock speed is 800mhz.. I looked on google but it was just the basic banter about setting Cstates and such.. well I am pretty sure that is not it I may have a bunk board but wanted to be sure there is something I am missing..

    other then the Clock speed it is running good.. I did try to overclock it and it did not budge still had 8x multiplyer.. stumped

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array The_Nephilim PC Specs
    The_Nephilim PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix z270H Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5 7600K @ 5.0GHZ
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1eVGA 980 GTX
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Z
    Monitor2 Acer X1261P DLP Projector Active Display Port to VGA..
    Storage #1Samsung 850Evo
    Storage #2Seagate Barracudda 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster 212X Dual fans
    CaseCoolerMaster AMD Haf 932 Limited Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair 750W
    Keyboard Thermaltake RGB Posieden
    Mouse Ultech MMO Gaming Mouse
    Headset ROCCAT 5.1 Analog
    Headset/Speakers Creative 7.1 SPekaers w Sub
    OS Win 10 64bit Home
    Network RouterD Link DGL 5500
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS
    Accessory #2 Thrustmaster Cougar MFD's
    Accessory #3 Track IR 5

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    10

    I got it working I downloaded Throttle Stop and ddisabled BD Prochot and voila. I did google the answer seems pretty prevalent problem..

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Thank you for posting back your solution, this may help someone else

    Plus Rep for you

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array The_Nephilim PC Specs
    The_Nephilim PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix z270H Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5 7600K @ 5.0GHZ
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1eVGA 980 GTX
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Z
    Monitor2 Acer X1261P DLP Projector Active Display Port to VGA..
    Storage #1Samsung 850Evo
    Storage #2Seagate Barracudda 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster 212X Dual fans
    CaseCoolerMaster AMD Haf 932 Limited Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair 750W
    Keyboard Thermaltake RGB Posieden
    Mouse Ultech MMO Gaming Mouse
    Headset ROCCAT 5.1 Analog
    Headset/Speakers Creative 7.1 SPekaers w Sub
    OS Win 10 64bit Home
    Network RouterD Link DGL 5500
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS
    Accessory #2 Thrustmaster Cougar MFD's
    Accessory #3 Track IR 5

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    10

    Your Welcome but I was wondering since they say it is a sensor that went faulty or similar would this mean the board is on its way to being dead?? the only thing that is not good is when I first install windows since the PC is running only at 800mhz it takes a while to get Windows installed and to get a few things installed before I can install Throttle stop..

    I was hoping there was a more permanent fix for this issue.. I seen a few people say that after the updated BIOS the problem went away.. but in my case it did not.. I did read about a switch some boards have for use with LN2 which I think it throttles down the cpu clock but I did not have a switch they mentioned..

    But at leaset I dont have to buy a new mobo anytime soon for now this seems to be working just fine..

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I had a Hero that did the same thing, I flashed all the way back to original bios and worked my way to latest without any luck, if you can return to retailer or RMA would be the best thing to do as you shouldn't need an app to get it to work

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array The_Nephilim PC Specs
    The_Nephilim PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix z270H Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5 7600K @ 5.0GHZ
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1eVGA 980 GTX
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Z
    Monitor2 Acer X1261P DLP Projector Active Display Port to VGA..
    Storage #1Samsung 850Evo
    Storage #2Seagate Barracudda 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster 212X Dual fans
    CaseCoolerMaster AMD Haf 932 Limited Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair 750W
    Keyboard Thermaltake RGB Posieden
    Mouse Ultech MMO Gaming Mouse
    Headset ROCCAT 5.1 Analog
    Headset/Speakers Creative 7.1 SPekaers w Sub
    OS Win 10 64bit Home
    Network RouterD Link DGL 5500
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS
    Accessory #2 Thrustmaster Cougar MFD's
    Accessory #3 Track IR 5

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    10

    Well it is too late to send back as the warranty expired some time ago.. Yes I understand I should not need a program to fix this but it was the only thing that worked..

    From what I read on the net it is a sensor that went faulty and causing this issue.. I will just get a new PC in the comming months but I will need to save up some money.. Not really an ideal solution but at least it works for now..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •