Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    RT-AC88U Bad eraseblock

    After Firmware downgrade.

    Whats is mean with this ?


    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 533 at 0x0000042a0000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 542 at 0x0000043c0000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 611 at 0x000004c60000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 693 at 0x0000056a0000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 814 at 0x0000065c0000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 815 at 0x0000065e0000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 906 at 0x000007140000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 907 at 0x000007160000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 924 at 0x000007380000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 925 at 0x0000073a0000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 941 at 0x0000075a0000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 968 at 0x000007900000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 996 at 0x000007c80000
    May 5 07:05:05 kernel: Bad eraseblock 997 at 0x000007ca0000

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    "Bad eraseblock" usually suggests something wrong with the NVRAM. It could be failed/failing hardware, it could be corrupted firmware, it could be malfunctioning software.

    First, try reset/restart the router, it might fix itself.

    Next, if you still see bad eraseblocks then try reinstalling or updating the firmware, it might fix corrupted firmcode.

    Finally, if you still see bad eraseblocks then you've got bad NVRAM. It has one or more "dead" flash blocks (which have exceeded the maximum number of write/rewrite cycles and no longer function properly). This might be a replaceable DIP chip or it might be soldered onboard (I don't know, I don't own this router). Alternately, it might be bad RAM or bad NVRAM controller passing corrupted data into good NVRAM, these parts are always soldered onboard. I think you might need to replace the router hardware but maybe @ASUS can offer you a better solution.

    Note that many devices have wear-levelling, over-provisioning, and other built-in features which allow them to continue functioning properly even after some flash blocks erode away. A few bad blocks might be a non-issue or they might be a serious problem, depends on how ASUS built the thing.
    Last edited by Korth; 01-07-2019 at 03:26 PM.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    "Bad eraseblock" usually suggests something wrong with the NVRAM. It could be failed/failing hardware, it could be corrupted firmware, it could be malfunctioning software.

    First, try reset/restart the router, it might fix itself.

    Next, if you still see bad eraseblocks then try reinstalling or updating the firmware, it might fix corrupted firmcode.

    Finally, if you still see bad eraseblocks then you've got bad NVRAM. It has one or more "dead" flash blocks (which have exceeded the maximum number of write/rewrite cycles and no longer function properly). This might be a replaceable DIP chip or it might be soldered onboard (I don't know, I don't own this router). Alternately, it might be bad RAM or bad NVRAM controller passing corrupted data into good NVRAM, these parts are always soldered onboard. I think you might need to replace the router hardware but maybe @ASUS can offer you a better solution.

    Note that many devices have wear-levelling, over-provisioning, and other built-in features which allow them to continue functioning properly even after some flash blocks erode away. A few bad blocks might be a non-issue or they might be a serious problem, depends on how ASUS built the thing.

    i get t his only on reboot or down/upgrade router

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Some bad blocks on the log might not be a problem. If the NVRAM writes didn't lose any "important" data, if the router was built for reliability/longevity. SSDs often develop bad blacks (or come with some out of the factory) yet still keep operating for years. It all depends on how ASUS built this thing, only they can give you the full answer.
    "All opinions are not equal. Some are a very great deal more robust, sophisticated and well supported in logic and argument than others." - Douglas Adams

    [/Korth]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •