Page 34 of 35 FirstFirst ... 24 32 33 34 35 LastLast
Results 331 to 340 of 344
  1. #331
    ROG Enthusiast Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE CPU @ 3.00GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz 128 GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus NVIDIA GeForce 2080 RTX Turbo (Blower type)
    Graphics Card #2Asus NVIDIA GeForce 2080 RTX Turbo (Blower type)
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 6
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Savoy123 View Post
    If I populate all 4 m.2 slots on the omega will I be able to run sli in x16/x16?

    I did see this which was posted earlier in this thread or another thread on these forums, I just would like a second opinion on if I can before investing in the drives.
    Why not? And why do you think it matters? I have two 2080s in SLI and both are in x16. I ask since I may get a few more drives.

  2. #332
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array JuSiZ1 PC Specs
    JuSiZ1 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    Processori9-7920X
    Memory (part number)G.skill TridentZ 4x8Gb DDR4 3200MHz cl14
    Graphics Card #1nVIDIA RTX 2080Ti Fe
    Sound CardCreative soundblaster X7 Le
    MonitorPG27AQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 512Gb, Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb
    Storage #2Inte850pro 1Tbl 750 1.2Tb, 2x850pro 512gb and
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy evo x99
    CaseDiy case
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax860i
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse Logitech G900 chaos Spectrum
    Headset Beyerdynamic T90
    Mouse Pad ROG from china
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z4 2.1 And Monitors speakers
    OS Win 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterFritz Box 6490
    Accessory #1 H2O cooling with 3x360 rads, dual ddc pumps,EK blocks, Copper pipes etc.
    Accessory #2 BD-RE
    JuSiZ1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    88

    My second omega goes RMA. Very bad quality control here. Both have DOA PCH rgbs.

  3. #333
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Super Gnome View Post
    Why not? And why do you think it matters? I have two 2080s in SLI and both are in x16. I ask since I may get a few more drives.
    I was under the impression that certain m.2 nvme slots share pcie lanes with gpu slots

  4. #334
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16
    Accessory #2 10GB network
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    232

    The only sharing mentioned in the manual (You do read the manual don't you?) is an M.2 sharing with the U2 connector.
    Oh, and having a 44 lane CPU.

  5. #335
    ROG Enthusiast Array Deathscythes PC Specs
    Deathscythes PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel Core I9-7980XE @5GHz
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB @3800MHz CL14
    MonitorASUS ROG PG258Q
    CPU CoolerDirect Die EK Supremacy Edge
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Deathscythes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Issue with USB Flashback and BIOS 2

    Hello,

    My board has an issue since the day I got it would seem...
    I went in the bios and chose the option to force boot on bios 2.
    It re booted and after that it went to the "bios is updating" black screen. It hanged there for hours in the end I had no choice but shutting it down.
    Since then whenever I try to use the bios 2 i get stuck at the "bios is updating" notice and it hangs there...

    In order to fix that have been trying to use the USB flashback but I can't figure out how to use it, it just doesn't work

    I believe I follow the right procedure :
    The USB is formatted to FAT32, I placed the file R6EO.CAP on it, inserted it in the bios flashback slot, pressed the bios flashback button for 3 seconds, it started blinking before staying blue...

    I have contacted the ASUS support and they told me to try the method using the bios renamer sadly it made no difference
    My last option seems to be RMAing to caseking but that's really not convenient . So I try my luck here - maybe one of you has something to suggest me that I haven't tried already?

    Thank you very much for your help

  6. #336
    ROG Enthusiast Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE CPU @ 3.00GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz 128 GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus NVIDIA GeForce 2080 RTX Turbo (Blower type)
    Graphics Card #2Asus NVIDIA GeForce 2080 RTX Turbo (Blower type)
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 6
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Deathscythes View Post

    In order to fix that have been trying to use the USB flashback but I can't figure out how to use it, it just doesn't work
    There is a part in this video at about eleven minutes in (11:20 to be exact) that helped me a lot. I extracted the file first (of course, and with another computer) and then followed what this guy said--regarding not having it in a folder. I put the file on a new USB drive that I had formatted first (I forget what format but Googled it for more info). I think I used the USB provided in the box first (on the little red/black USB drive), and I got no blue light--just flashing red, and then later did it again with the new file/new USB drive. I also made sure to get the drive into the correct USB port--the one labelled "BIOS." It's a while ago so I don't remember exactly, but I do know I had to get the file out of a folder first after extracting--and I held the button down till it was flashing red. This and the manual and I got it with my R6 EO motherboard, and it was up and running in no time. Hopefully this helps.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXLi30V4Jw8

    I also named the file as it says in the manual on page 3-1 R6EO.CAP (that's the letter O, not the number zero).

    I believe I also consulted this page. https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1012815/

    Forgive my poor memory. I did so much all at once the minute all my parts arrived that I forget all the little details.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 04-26-2019 at 09:23 AM.

  7. #337
    ROG Enthusiast Array Deathscythes PC Specs
    Deathscythes PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel Core I9-7980XE @5GHz
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB @3800MHz CL14
    MonitorASUS ROG PG258Q
    CPU CoolerDirect Die EK Supremacy Edge
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Deathscythes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by Super Gnome View Post
    There is a part in this video at about eleven minutes in (11:20 to be exact) that helped me a lot. I extracted the file first (of course, and with another computer) and then followed what this guy said--regarding not having it in a folder. I put the file on a new USB drive that I had formatted first (I forget what format but Googled it for more info). I think I used the USB provided in the box first (on the little red/black USB drive), and I got no blue light--just flashing red, and then later did it again with the new file/new USB drive. I also made sure to get the drive into the correct USB port--the one labelled "BIOS." It's a while ago so I don't remember exactly, but I do know I had to get the file out of a folder first after extracting--and I held the button down till it was flashing red. This and the manual and I got it with my R6 EO motherboard, and it was up and running in no time. Hopefully this helps.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXLi30V4Jw8

    I also named the file as it says in the manual on page 3-1 R6EO.CAP (that's the letter O, not the number zero).

    I believe I also consulted this page. https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1012815/

    Forgive my poor memory. I did so much all at once the minute all my parts arrived that I forget all the little details.
    Thanks for your time, man. Sadly I already tried all that

  8. #338
    ROG Enthusiast Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE CPU @ 3.00GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz 128 GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus NVIDIA GeForce 2080 RTX Turbo (Blower type)
    Graphics Card #2Asus NVIDIA GeForce 2080 RTX Turbo (Blower type)
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 6
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Deathscythes View Post
    Thanks for your time, man. Sadly I already tried all that

    I've been thinking about it, and I remember what I did now. I used the little black and red USB drive that was in the box first. That got my system up and running. Then I updated online once in the BIOS (before installing Windows). That worked fine. Have you tried flashing with the drive in the box?

    It seems to me now I abandoned using a USB drive after extracting, etc. because I too had trouble. If I remember correctly I too got the blue light when I used another drive, not the one in the box.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 04-26-2019 at 11:26 PM.

  9. #339
    ROG Enthusiast Array Deathscythes PC Specs
    Deathscythes PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel Core I9-7980XE @5GHz
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB @3800MHz CL14
    MonitorASUS ROG PG258Q
    CPU CoolerDirect Die EK Supremacy Edge
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Deathscythes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    I don't get it but I have tried with another USB flash drive that couldn't be formatted to FAT32... Instead I formatted to NTFS and it worked... I really don't get it.
    But I am super happy because it made me able to flash tistou's custom bios in order to get correct temperature readings =)

  10. #340
    ROG Enthusiast Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE CPU @ 3.00GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz 128 GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus NVIDIA GeForce 2080 RTX Turbo (Blower type)
    Graphics Card #2Asus NVIDIA GeForce 2080 RTX Turbo (Blower type)
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 6
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot)

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Deathscythes View Post
    I formatted to NTFS and it worked... I really don't get it.
    But I am super happy because it made me able to flash tistou's custom bios in order to get correct temperature readings =)
    Awesome!

    Also, you say correct temperature readings... I use CPUID HWMonitor to watch my temperature readings and use custom settings with the bundled software so that the case fans (I have industrial type Noctua 140s installed) kick in and keep everything cool. Is there some reason to believe the temperature readings would not be correct? My CPU core temperatures never go above 55 degrees C according to HWMonitor, and I can hear the hum of the fans kicking in to alert me if there is a problem. Is there some reason to believe the board and/or CPU temperatures are actually hotter than the readings HWMonitor shows?
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 04-27-2019 at 09:13 AM.

Page 34 of 35 FirstFirst ... 24 32 33 34 35 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •