Page 24 of 35 FirstFirst ... 14 22 23 24 25 26 34 ... LastLast
Results 231 to 240 of 344
  1. #231
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by jpmboy View Post
    Folks are conflating TDP, TJmax, Tcase and what prochot are and do. TJmax simply is a arbitrary value used to report DIstance to TJmax. THe CPU does not send an actual temperature signal. What you see in coretemp or any other thing reporting Degrees C, is TJmax - Distance to TJmax... so if the DTJmax is 70 and your TJmax is 100, you see 30C. What's the mystery here?? You can set TJmax to any value you choose and it is pretty meaningless, but may be useful if you use OS-based tools to control load/power based on your thermal management design.

    Might be worth pointing this part out about TjMax, John:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ATM.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	96.7 KB 
ID:	79029

  2. #232
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & ASUS TUF x299 Mark 2
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with evo & koolance vrm water block Both & x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems win-7 everyday os
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    242

    Hi,
    My original post of TDP was comparing 7900x 140w and now stats for 9900x is 165w TDP so that was my original thoughts on tj max might of been effected for that reason

    I only briefly used the newest bios and didn't really notice if tj max changed or not all I noticed was higher core temps out the gate on the same oc settings
    Others stated the same temp issues and back to 1301 bios I was off too and landed at

    Some stated tj max changed.

  3. #233
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Might be worth pointing this part out about TjMax, John:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ATM.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	96.7 KB 
ID:	79029
    I was hoping the spec sheet might stimulate others than you to peruse the spec sheet... since you probably use to write these things.
    That said, my training wheels go back on.

  4. #234
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    You're doing fine. Nobody can memorize all of that.

  5. #235
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,341

    If the TJmax is not user configurable, what serve the option in the bios ?
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 900P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  6. #236
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    You're doing fine. Nobody can memorize all of that.
    See, you can teach an old guy like me new tricks.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos tumblr_obfxcgE2Pv1u545pyo1_500.gif  


  7. #237
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    If the TJmax is not user configurable, what serve the option in the bios ?
    you can adjust the Max CPU Core Temperature, which AFAIK, does the same

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	190221134756.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	157.1 KB 
ID:	79034

  8. #238
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,341

    Quote Originally Posted by jpmboy View Post
    you can adjust the Max CPU Core Temperature, which AFAIK, does the same

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	190221134756.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	157.1 KB 
ID:	79034
    That's what I thought, was the "TJMax" but this option will not work

    With a default TJmax of 110°, for example the distance of TJMax is 80 (and Core temp 30°)
    With a setting of 105°, it's indicated 105° under Windows for TJMax and the Core temp is always 30°,
    But if it was applied correctly, with a distance of TJMax of 80°, the core temp should be 25°

    But it must be just the max temperature of the cores (before the bios (other ?) puts the CPU safe) and no real impact on the TJMax
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 900P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  9. #239
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    at least with SIV64, changing the Max Cpu Temp bios setting changes what it thinks is the TJmax (and on this Apex/7980XE, 105 it the hard coded thermal junction temperature - can't set it higher than 105) but there is no change in what SIV reports as the core temperatures. The pics below show mct at auto/105 and 90.
    So IDK if SIV uses DTJ to calc core temps, HWi shows the distance has changed appropriately. This is very unlike boards from previous architectures (like x99 which I can check later). Personally, I'm not concerned about the 5C difference...
    Attachment 79038Attachment 79038
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mct auto.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	924.9 KB 
ID:	79039Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mct 90.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	709.3 KB 
ID:	79040

  10. #240
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    Processor7980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900P
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    1,341

    With the latest bios and 4D microcode, the TJmax has gone up to 110° and the temperature of the cores increased by 5°
    Nothing serious in itself, but considering that we seek the best cooling with our WC, etc ... It is not for a microcode increase all that

    That's why I stay with the microcode 49 (TJMax 105°)
    And for the Spectre protection, I disable it, so...
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme
    CPU: i9 7980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 900P
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

Page 24 of 35 FirstFirst ... 14 22 23 24 25 26 34 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •