Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    291

    Quote Originally Posted by aeffertz View Post
    No worries! I’ll just return this drive and get a SATA m.2. Thanks again!
    ....or keep the M.2 NVMe and get a new Board

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array Simon LeBon PC Specs
    Simon LeBon PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Strix z390-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-9600k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix GeForce® GTX 1060 O6G
    Sound CardOnboard/Motherboard
    MonitorDual Gateway FHD2400
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe
    Storage #2Buffalo Linkstation Pro Quad - 5.6 TB NAS
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Gravity i2
    CaseCorsair Carbide Series SPEC-03 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 650W 80+ Gold Smart Zero
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    OS Win 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Yeah... I had a pretty hot z97 (Maximus VII Hero) that had an M.2 port and I never used it because at the time, it really want no worth the money they wanted for M.2 drives given that back then the protocol was really not much (if any) faster that a good SSD on SATA.

    With NVMe starting in about mid to late 2016 and even early 2017... the speed increase was noticeable... and now NVMe drives are much more reasonable... good luck.

    Asus boards are pretty good with QVL list. I tend to look at them and if the board I have does not have a product I want to pair on it on the list... I research why.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    122

    Quote Originally Posted by aeffertz View Post
    Than you so much for your help. I have not read anywhere saying that the m.2 on this motherboard were m.2 Sata only, I’ve read people online stating they are using NVMe m.2 drives and the manual doesn’t mention anything about it being m.2 Sata. I sincerely appreciate your help. **
    Well, I dont know about this particular ASUS mobo, but Z170 chipset usually does support NVMe SSd’s.

    I used Samsung 950 and 960 PRO in a ASRock Z170 Extreme7+, in single and RAID0 modes, bootable, with very satisfying results (photo: testing the Samsung drives):

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	JyDWlmH.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	786.3 KB 
ID:	78115

  4. #14
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    You would be better off hunting down an SM951 AHCI. The SATA M2 offers no performance increase over the 2.5 inch variety.*

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    122

    Not true, a bench from the Samsung 960 PRO 1TB:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PIcUUVg.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	60.8 KB 
ID:	78116


    It's a M.2 NVMe socket in a Z170 MOBO
    Last edited by squawker; 01-10-2019 at 05:24 AM.

  6. #16
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    It’s very true. Your board was late to the Z170 party and was released after NVMe drives, it’s an exception rather than the rule. Most Z170 boards do not support NVMe. The manual specifies “ultra M2” 6GB/S. * This was like the 3 or 4th Asrock Z170 board. It’s predecessor just before it does not support NVMe. On the downside Z270 came out just a month or two a after the 7+. It would be nice if ASUS pumped out boards like that but I can see where it could be considered cost prohibitive with the speed at which these chipsets evolved. Went from Z170 to Z370 in less than a year. The 270 was almost obsolete before it was released for sale. Went from skylake to kabylake to coffeelake in less than a year. Last of skylake were Oct 2016, kabylake showed up Jan 2017 and coffeelake out Oct 2017. Kabylake was like a bad dream. Highly anticipated yet also disappointing especially when the chipsets changed too. The Z170 was supposed to be able to support kabylake with a BIOS update but few worked. I know I tried it going from a 6700K to a 7700K on an ASUS M8E and it would not run. Coffeelake is still here because Intel can’t seem to get to a 10nm process although they have been promising it for well over a year.**Actually first Canon lake was supposed to be 2016!!

    BTW, where is your GPU? A bit of overkill on that PSU. Is it needed to run that M2 cooling fan? LOL. EK makes some decent M2 heatsinks. BTW pretty much all Z170 boards have M2 sockets but that doesn’t mean they support NVMe. Also your crystal diskmark version is out of date and benched on an empty drive.

    Please research the board in question to prevent the OP from making the same mistake twice. *
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-10-2019 at 05:58 AM.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    122

    Well, I was an early NVMe drive adopter and Intel DC P3700 SSD was one of the first NVMe PCIe 3.0 x4 drives launched.

    It was launched around June 2014 (yes 2014!) and in September same year I received one that was imported from an USA dealer.

    The DC P3700 is an HHHL device, and I installed it in my Rampage V Extreme mobo (launched around September/2014) and to my very surprise, it was detected in the bios like it was an “generic” AIC card, with an PCIe 3.0 X4 connection!

    Seeing that I tried to install the Windows 7 OS, and to my even bigger surprise, it was installed without any glitch, and I ended with a bootable NVMe drive in my X99 Rampage:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	prcIuib.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	123.7 KB 
ID:	78131

    The Rampage had an M.2 socket, but at that time M.2 NVMe PCIe 3.0 x4 drives were not easily found.
    So, the X99 chipset accepts a bootable NVMe drive and also most Z170 (one year more recent than X99) boards accept that kind of drives, independent of its launch date, except perhaps the cheaper boards.

    The Z170 chipset was released around August 2015 and my build with ASRock Extreme7 with Samsung 950/960 PRO drives was finished in October, so the Extreme 7 was launched more or less simultaneous with all other Z170 boards.

    And the “Ultra M.2” socket was an ASRock merchandizing way of saying that the M.2 socket was a PCIe 3.0 x4 connection, like all other M.2 connection in Z170 boards, different from, for example, Z97 M.2 that was PCIe 2.0.

    I think that all M.2 sockets from Z170 boards up now, in all ASRock motherboards are called “Ultra M.2”, and it’s nothing “special”.

    I tested Samsung 950/960 drives in several conditions of operation and cooling with infrared camera, and the photo shows one situation.

    Going to the OP problem, the board Manual and Specs say specifically that it supports M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4 drives, so it’s possible the problem is a configuration one.

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hi all,

    I found this topic after stumbled upon same problem. Bought Kingston A2000 1TB and it was not visible in BIOS or OS.

    Honestly, I don't work why drive has started working - disabled SATA1 (nonetheless this is NVMe SSD, not SATA) and changed AHCI to Intel's RAID - I was able to see drive on dashboard (in "Boot priority" section), but nowhere else. Reverted RAID to AHCI and drive is still visible and works - dunno why, but it may help.

    One other thing, the setting about detection SATA/NVMe drive I set to "Auto", tried to set manually but didn't helped before I switched between AHCI<>RAID. Also, I has newest BIOS, try upgrading and do same thing as I did - hope it'll help

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •