Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Smile 9700K and 9900K - GENE XI and G-Skill F4-3600C17D-32GTZR

    Hi

    I'm on bios 0602 and having problems with XMP stability with G-Skill F4-3600C17D-32GTRZ which is on the QVL for this board....is there an updated bios (beta) that may improve memory stability here?

    So far can't get the kit to boot 100% ff the time, when it does it's completely stable under all variety of stress tests both with cpu at stock and at a 5GHz overclock with all necessary parameters set (voltages, LLC, current limitations etc) but when I try to reboot or reboot and enter bios it usually goes through a boot loop reset and gets stuck at various QCODE's with 23 being the predominant error code.

    Often times after a failed reboot when I get back into bios the bios has automatically changed DRAM, VCCIO and SYSTEM AGENT voltages from what I have manually set to some outrageously high values like DRAM to 1.5v, VCCIO to 1.45v and SA to 1.45v.....it's like it's loosing the SPD info for the ram or something.

    I have some other ram kits that work fine with XMP and my stock/overclock cpu settings....1/ Corsair Vengeance CMU64GX4M4C3000C15 2 x 16GB DR work perfectly fine and 2/ G-Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ 2 x 16GB DR work fine as well it's just this 2 x16GB DR 3600MHz kit that's causing grief

    NEED HELP PLEASE IF POSSIBLE as this is driving me nuts.

    EDIT; I have the AURA software installed so I don't know if this is causing any issues with the G-Skill RGB but I have checked the modules with Typhoon Burner and there is no CRC errors so I would assume the SPD is fine.


    EDIT 2; Updated with 9900K results with G-Skill 2 x 16GB DR 3600MHz kit.
    Last edited by lowdog; 01-11-2019 at 10:10 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Is there XMP and XMPI or II option for XMP, if so try them both, leave VCCIO and VCCSA settings on auto and let the bios set needed voltages (tune later after your sure of stability if you want), raise Dramm voltage, 1.35 to 1.375 - 1.4 volts

    Have you tested bandwidth between this kit and the 3200 c14 kit? or the LED's your after

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Hi,

    Tried both XMP I and XMP II profiles but pretty sure programed SPD is XMP II but don't quote me on it. I do leave VCCIO AND VCSSA on auto (auto sets VCCIO - 1.232v and VCSSA - 1.296v) till I know it's stable then tune down to what is stable. I'll try bumping DRAM volts up a little and see if it makes a difference.

    3200Mhz C14

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3200.JPG 
Views:	47 
Size:	71.2 KB 
ID:	78101

    3600MHz C17

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3600 2.JPG 
Views:	47 
Size:	69.3 KB 
ID:	78102


    Stock cpu settings just XMP for both ram kits.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Any idea on max VCCIO for 24/7 use as it's starting to look like 1.3v + is needed for this DR 3600 kit ….also what about VCCSA max?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    1.35 volts is fine, sounds high for 3600 mhz but probably because it's the 2X8 -16GB modules

    My 2x8 GB - 16GB 4500mhz kit @4266 18-18-18-38-2 is stable with VCCIO 1.328v, VCCSA 1.344v. That is auto setting in bios, I may be able to tune them down but it pass's Ramtest for hours
    Last edited by Menthol; 01-09-2019 at 12:10 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Looks like with this 9700K I'll just have to stick with downclocking this kit as it seems the IMC is possibly weak, got the mem set @ XMP but downed frequency from 3600 to 3333MHz and set tight timings 14-14-14-14-43 with 1.35 DRAMv and VCCIO 1.110v and VCCSA 1.1437v....cpu @ 5GHz with Adaptive 1.312v and LLC 5 = 1.234v load all completely stable.

    Just a bummer that to use XMP 3600 resulted in bios not being able to regularly set a stable VCCIO or VCCSA on auto resulting in constant QCODE 23 hangs with each reboot (same applied with trying to dial in these two voltages with cpu at stock).....sometimes I don't have the patients to trouble shoot finding the sweet spot when whatever method I'm trying always seems to fail. Just have to step back for a while and use what's working nicely and has been achieved with minimal effort otherwise it becomes an obsessive over endeavour in futility which ultimately ends in frustration and endless $$$ schmackers spent pursuing the unattainable.
    Last edited by lowdog; 01-10-2019 at 01:09 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket - 4 TB, 3 GB/s
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme Portable SSD V2 - 2 TB, 1 GB/s
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    high speed 16GB modules are problematic, im happy that i have already sold my old 4GHz Corsairs for price of used 3,2GHz sticks... never ever again... maybe in few years when everything gets ready for such speed and capacity

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Yeah but 16GB DR 3600MHz modules aren't really that high speed considering that there are 4000MHz + 16GB modules available. Anyway on the GENE it has only 2 dim slots and I wanted 32GB of ram so it had to be 16GB modules.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I didn't ask if you'd tried any of the memory presets in the bios, that can be a good place to start, I am using Raja's 4133 c17-18-18-1T preset but had to change timings to 18-18-18-2T to get 100% stability

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Yeah I tried Raja's B-Die 16GB DR 3600 preset and system wouldn't boot....the modules I have are B-Die but still a no go @ 3600.

    I can get it booting now @ 3600 but needs 1.3v VCCIO and 1.25v VCCSA and I'm not convinced it's worth running those volts 24/7 for that frequency when I can run 3333 with tighter timings and 1.10v VCCIO and 1.1475v VCCSA which I can probably tune down if I put more time in.

    Awaiting arrival of 9900K now (cpu I should have gotten in the first place,damn procrastination) and I'll see how that goes with IMC and OC ability....probably just keep the 9700K as a back up spare.
    Last edited by lowdog; 01-10-2019 at 03:11 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •