Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array walrbe PC Specs
    walrbe PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Hero
    Processori7-8700K
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C16-8GTZR
    MonitorPhilips BDM3270
    CPU CoolerDeepCool Castle 280 AIO
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyAntec Gamer power 520W
    OS Windows 10Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Device Manager PCI Device and SM Bus Controller no drivers? need suggestions

    Does anyone have a suggestion on how to install or have system recognise these two devices

    PCI Device and SM Bus Controller.

    I have installed all relevant software from Asus, tried windows update but still devices show up as unknown.

    My MB is the Maximus XI Hero. I'm using the onboard Graphics and don't have the PIC slots used at the moment. The only thing I can think of is some setting change in BIOS. Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array m4x2012 PC Specs
    m4x2012 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Surface Pro 4
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k@5000
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 16Gb 3200Mhz DDR4
    Graphics Card #1AORUS 1080Ti Xtreme 11Gb
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1970 EVO 256Gb
    Storage #2850 PRO 512Gb
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCarbide 400r
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 750i
    Keyboard G110
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 700
    Headset Sennheiser G4m3
    Mouse Pad QcK
    OS W10 64bit

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    +1 for this request, bought a Hero 11 same issue.

    Already upgrade all Intel drivers both from ASUS website then Intel one.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Annotazione 2019-02-10 122012.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	6.2 KB 
ID:	78767

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I am also wondering this.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Did you update to the lastest BIOS? I had these after I updated but when I went back from 805 to 702 on my M11E they disappeared.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    The mysterious case of the unidentified hardware that goes and comes as it pleases. One minute its soldered on the board next minute bios update.......its gone. Abracadabra presto change-o Figure someone at Asus could put this to rest if they took 5 min to reply.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)DELL Inspiron 15 5559 + HP Pavilion dv6 3032tx
    MotherboardASUS Maximux XI Extreme [BIOS 1105]
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengance RGB 16GB CMR16GX4M2C3466C16 V4.31
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AG271QG 27" 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + UbuntuStudio 18.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U on ADSL2+, Technicolor DJA0230TLS Gateway NETGEAR CABLE ADAPTER CM450
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    149

    have you run the chipset inf file often called intel chipset software for your motherboard?

    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._Interface.zip

    that chipset file lets Windows recognize unknown hardware in System Devices and in most cases it fixes the issue you are having

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by XYchromosone View Post
    have you run the chipset inf file often called intel chipset software for your motherboard?

    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._Interface.zip

    that chipset file lets Windows recognize unknown hardware in System Devices and in most cases it fixes the issue you are having
    Fails to install ...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070 X 8GB
    Graphics Card #2AMD Radeon WX 7100
    MonitorNEC PA271Q and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse G602
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    364

    SMBUS doesn't have or need a driver. It must be the chipset inf is wrong. Find the latest chipset "drivers" and install them.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array kens30 PC Specs
    kens30 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Code
    ProcessorCore i7 8700K 4.7avx 1.210v non-delid
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3200C14D-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX-GTX1070-8G-GAMING
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z + Onboard
    MonitorSamsung 32inch 1080p
    Storage #1Samsung 970 pro nvme 500gb
    Storage #2Samsung 960 evo nvme 250gb 850 pro 128gb x2 + WD 8tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i gt
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
    Mouse Logitech G pro
    OS Windows 10 pro 1903
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox One Controller
    kens30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    69

    Installing latest chipset drivers should fix the SM Bus Controller unknown device.
    Also installing Intel Management Engine Interface driver should also fix the unknown PCI Device.
    Make sure the downloaded drivers .zip package isn't blocked before extracting drivers and installing.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)DELL Inspiron 15 5559 + HP Pavilion dv6 3032tx
    MotherboardASUS Maximux XI Extreme [BIOS 1105]
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengance RGB 16GB CMR16GX4M2C3466C16 V4.31
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AG271QG 27" 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + UbuntuStudio 18.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U on ADSL2+, Technicolor DJA0230TLS Gateway NETGEAR CABLE ADAPTER CM450
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    149

    Quote Originally Posted by Sineira1 View Post
    Fails to install ...
    you could have better luck to force to install the inf files, which the file you download from ASUS actually installs so that all devices in Device Manager>System devices are recognized correctly by windows [it removes Unknown Device" in most situations].
    II recommend to download the chipset software files, from here:
    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._Interface.zip

    Then unzip the file you downloaded "Intel_Management_Engine_Interface.zip" to a folder on your C drive that you create e.g., C:\inf
    Once you unzip the files to that folder there will be a file called "AsusSetup.exe" among others. Next open the Run box by clicking the Windows key + R and type the following command:

    C:\nf\AsusSetup.exe -overall

    You can instead run the above "switch" command in a elevated Dos terminal.

    If this does not work then I would download the latest Chipset software file from intel.com, and follow the above instructions on the file from intel. The reason i suggest this is because ASUS have altered the installation routine for the original file they get from intel, and might interfere with the -overall switch.

    If you do decide to use the latest chipset software file from intel follow the above instructions and if you go the dos terminal rout, make sure to first change directory to where you unzipped the files e.g., at the dos prompt type [per my example]:

    cd c:\inf
    Last edited by XYchromosone; 02-21-2019 at 03:42 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •