Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by fjsarmiento View Post
    I came home and Prime95 was still running with no errors. I'm going to try to bring my ram voltage back down to 1.35v (set manually) and bring my SOC down to 1.15v. Keeping my multiplier to 40.5 for now, I'm going to keep my ram manually set at 3200MHz and timings set manually as well according to profile. Everything else I've kept to auto/default.

    I'll report back with my progress.

    What are your bios settings for your oc? (Also, can you fill out your PC Specs in your profile so I can see your full build?)

    I just tried AI Overlock on Manual, with 100 BLCK and CPU ratio 4.1. I tried to set the DRAM Timing but I don't have all the numbers. Only like 6 from CPUID. Do I need all of those fields? I have like the 1st 5 or 6 and the others are set to auto. Also, I tried upping the SOC and DRAM voltage and that didn't fix it. It keeps defaulting to 2133mhz with those settings and if I change the Memory frequency to 3000mhz it won't boot. I have to wait until it fails post and resets to go in and try again. What are your settings is what I should be asking you. Yours is working. I have the same mobo and CPU as you but I"m using Gskill Aegis 8GB RAM at 3000mhz.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array fjsarmiento PC Specs
    fjsarmiento PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade RZ09-01652E21
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x16GB 3200MHz CMK32GX4M2L3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW2
    MonitorDell U3011 + MSI Optix G27C2 + LG W2343T
    Storage #1SanDisk Extreme PRO 240GB SSD + Crucial MX500 1TB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital Black NVMe M.2 2280 500GB SSD (Qty 2 in RAID 0)
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 240 AIO
    CaseEVGA DG-76
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000W G2 80+ GOLD
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Bose AE + Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Steelseries 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 + Altec Lansing FX3022
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti
    Accessory #2 Logitech C920 PRO HD Webcam
    Accessory #3 Drobo 16TB + Western Digital My Book 4TB + Seagate Expansion 4TB+3TB
    fjsarmiento's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Varmintbaby View Post
    I just tried AI Overlock on Manual, with 100 BLCK and CPU ratio 4.1. I tried to set the DRAM Timing but I don't have all the numbers. Only like 6 from CPUID. Do I need all of those fields? I have like the 1st 5 or 6 and the others are set to auto. Also, I tried upping the SOC and DRAM voltage and that didn't fix it. It keeps defaulting to 2133mhz with those settings and if I change the Memory frequency to 3000mhz it won't boot. I have to wait until it fails post and resets to go in and try again. What are your settings is what I should be asking you. Yours is working. I have the same mobo and CPU as you but I"m using Gskill Aegis 8GB RAM at 3000mhz.
    In my ram timings I matched the values with what is rated for my ram. Yes, just the first 5 values. My ram shows 16-18-18-36. There's a third 18 field in the bios so I put 18 in there too. Everything else I kept auto.

    I don't understand why yours is defaulting to 2133. Did you manually select 3000? Double check that after you back out of the timings page, that you are still selecting 3000. The bios is finicky and automatically changes some of my values back to default without my doing it.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array fjsarmiento PC Specs
    fjsarmiento PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade RZ09-01652E21
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x16GB 3200MHz CMK32GX4M2L3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW2
    MonitorDell U3011 + MSI Optix G27C2 + LG W2343T
    Storage #1SanDisk Extreme PRO 240GB SSD + Crucial MX500 1TB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital Black NVMe M.2 2280 500GB SSD (Qty 2 in RAID 0)
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 240 AIO
    CaseEVGA DG-76
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000W G2 80+ GOLD
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Bose AE + Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Steelseries 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 + Altec Lansing FX3022
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti
    Accessory #2 Logitech C920 PRO HD Webcam
    Accessory #3 Drobo 16TB + Western Digital My Book 4TB + Seagate Expansion 4TB+3TB
    fjsarmiento's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Varmintbaby View Post
    I just tried AI Overlock on Manual, with 100 BLCK and CPU ratio 4.1. I tried to set the DRAM Timing but I don't have all the numbers. Only like 6 from CPUID. Do I need all of those fields? I have like the 1st 5 or 6 and the others are set to auto. Also, I tried upping the SOC and DRAM voltage and that didn't fix it. It keeps defaulting to 2133mhz with those settings and if I change the Memory frequency to 3000mhz it won't boot. I have to wait until it fails post and resets to go in and try again. What are your settings is what I should be asking you. Yours is working. I have the same mobo and CPU as you but I"m using Gskill Aegis 8GB RAM at 3000mhz.
    I found this, is this your ram? Use these timings:
    https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

    so in your bios, set 16-18-18-18-38 (the cas read and write are the same, I'm assuming).

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by fjsarmiento View Post
    I found this, is this your ram? Use these timings:
    https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

    so in your bios, set 16-18-18-18-38 (the cas read and write are the same, I'm assuming).
    Yeah that's what I was using. It must be the RAM. My settings are exactly the same as yours. I even set my ratio to 40.5 like you had hoping that may be it. It wasn't . The PC won't even boot and it goes into BIOS safe mode and resets back. I can't boot at 3000mhz for some reason. That really sucks too. Oh well. Thanks for trying.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array fjsarmiento PC Specs
    fjsarmiento PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade RZ09-01652E21
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x16GB 3200MHz CMK32GX4M2L3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW2
    MonitorDell U3011 + MSI Optix G27C2 + LG W2343T
    Storage #1SanDisk Extreme PRO 240GB SSD + Crucial MX500 1TB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital Black NVMe M.2 2280 500GB SSD (Qty 2 in RAID 0)
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 240 AIO
    CaseEVGA DG-76
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000W G2 80+ GOLD
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Bose AE + Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Steelseries 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 + Altec Lansing FX3022
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti
    Accessory #2 Logitech C920 PRO HD Webcam
    Accessory #3 Drobo 16TB + Western Digital My Book 4TB + Seagate Expansion 4TB+3TB
    fjsarmiento's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Deleted a couple posts earlier as I'm back to testing. Bringing down the SOC back to auto or too low led to crashes. I'm trying to avoid going up to 1.2v and raising the ram voltage.

    Currently testing 1.15v SOC and 1.355v ram. I'll post back with my final stable settings.

  6. #16
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Quote Originally Posted by fjsarmiento View Post
    trying to avoid going up to 1.2v and raising the ram voltage.
    A good thing to try.

    Maybe run some RealBench too to test stability...sometimes Prime isn't the best indicator these days...

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array fjsarmiento PC Specs
    fjsarmiento PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade RZ09-01652E21
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x16GB 3200MHz CMK32GX4M2L3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW2
    MonitorDell U3011 + MSI Optix G27C2 + LG W2343T
    Storage #1SanDisk Extreme PRO 240GB SSD + Crucial MX500 1TB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital Black NVMe M.2 2280 500GB SSD (Qty 2 in RAID 0)
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 240 AIO
    CaseEVGA DG-76
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000W G2 80+ GOLD
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Bose AE + Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Steelseries 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 + Altec Lansing FX3022
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti
    Accessory #2 Logitech C920 PRO HD Webcam
    Accessory #3 Drobo 16TB + Western Digital My Book 4TB + Seagate Expansion 4TB+3TB
    fjsarmiento's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    A good thing to try.

    Maybe run some RealBench too to test stability...sometimes Prime isn't the best indicator these days...
    Got bsod with 1.15v SOC and 1.355v RAM.

    Now at 1.15625v SOC and 1.36v RAM and Prime95 Blend at 1.5hrs with no errors. Looking good.

    Just downloaded RealBench, I'll give it a try. Should I just stop Prime95 now then?

  8. #18
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Stability testing is a bit of weird one. Everyone has their own idea of what is stable etc....and often stable for one application might mean unstable for something else.

    RealBench tries to hammer the whole system integrally which is why I'd recommend you try that (just remember to select all memory for the stress test.)

    If you've passed 1.5Hrs Prime then yeah I'd try an hour of RB.

    Basically if you are stable on both I'd switch to using the system for whatever you do normally...gaming video etc....which is the real stability you are looking for

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array fjsarmiento PC Specs
    fjsarmiento PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Razer Blade RZ09-01652E21
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 2600
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x16GB 3200MHz CMK32GX4M2L3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW2
    MonitorDell U3011 + MSI Optix G27C2 + LG W2343T
    Storage #1SanDisk Extreme PRO 240GB SSD + Crucial MX500 1TB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital Black NVMe M.2 2280 500GB SSD (Qty 2 in RAID 0)
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC 240 AIO
    CaseEVGA DG-76
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000W G2 80+ GOLD
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
    Headset Bose AE + Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Steelseries 4HD
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 + Altec Lansing FX3022
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64
    Accessory #1 Blue Yeti
    Accessory #2 Logitech C920 PRO HD Webcam
    Accessory #3 Drobo 16TB + Western Digital My Book 4TB + Seagate Expansion 4TB+3TB
    fjsarmiento's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Ran RealBench for 4 hours with no errors. I decided to try one last thing this morning. I went back into my bios and enabled D.O.C.P. standard again but this time used the same SOC (1.15625v) and RAM (1.36v). Started Prime95 Blend and left for work.

    I think 4.05 GHz (100MHz x 40.5 multiplier) is the highest stable frequency I can get with AUTO cpu voltage and I'm ok with that. I'm happy to see my vcore hover around 1.3v and my temps around 57degC (RealBench) and 60degC (Prime95). I'm thinking it was really just my ram that needed that extra bit of voltage for stability. I don't necessarily think D.O.C.P. was to blame. It just defaulted to 1.35v for the ram as it is the box spec. Crazy how that took 3 weeks of troubleshooting to diagnose. Hopefully everything looks good when I get home and then I'll post a video on YouTube about my oc to help others with the same build.

    Thanks again, Arne, for all your suggestions, tips, recommendations, and guidance! Very helpful!

  10. #20
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Nah, you're welcome. Glad it's firing on all cylinders. Sometimes it just needs a bit of tweaking!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •