Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Asus Maximus XI HERO - PCIe Gen3 Problems

    Hi!

    My Setup:
    Hero XI with 9900k, latest UEFI
    Mem 3200 14-14-14-34 G.Skill
    Nvidia 2080ti
    Custom Watercooled Setup

    I'm having following Problem:
    UEFI Post is working normally. Windows10 bootup Logo normally.
    However, at that Moment where the Login Screen should be shown the Screen is turning black and shuts down -> No Signal.
    A few more seconds later the USB Devices are turning off (Logitech G19s Keyboard LCD goes off).
    At this point the PC resets itself 50% of the time and starts again with UEFI Post.
    The other 50% it just get stuck and even the Reset Button is then not working. If i press it nothing happens for 5seconds and then PC turns off.

    If i change PEG PCIe speed to Gen1 in BIOS the PC runs completly normally. Playing Games like this now around 1 week every evening, no Problem at all.

    When turning Gen3 on again -> Black screen happens on next boot immidiatly.

    Tried other videocard (1080ti) -> same Issue
    Tried different PSU (old one i had, no Premium one) -> same Issue
    Tried different Memory (3200 16-x-x-x-x, cannot remember exact timing anymore) -> same Issue
    Tried different CPU (9900k also) -> same Issue

    I'm pretty sure the PC was working normally at the beginning, with black screen Issue becoming worse and worse.

    Does somebody else face this Issue?
    Could it be UEFI or driver related?

    I'm starting to get worried that the Mainboard degraded and starts dying...
    Should i start RMA for Mainboard?

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,855

    Have you tried optimized defaults and leaving peg in auto then checking the speed afterwards with HwInfo?
    If you have an overclock, especially a beefy one, sometimes things dont play nice at certain clock cycles. If your cache is overclocked things get wiggy sometimes. If the BCLCK is outside of 100MHz weird things also happen. Is your BIOS up to date?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Have you tried optimized defaults and leaving peg in auto then checking the speed afterwards with HwInfo?
    If you have an overclock, especially a beefy one, sometimes things dont play nice at certain clock cycles. If your cache is overclocked things get wiggy sometimes. If the BCLCK is outside of 100MHz weird things also happen. Is your BIOS up to date?
    Thanks for answering JustinThyme.
    Yes I've tried with Optimized Defaults and even with complete CMOS Reset.
    After Reset only changed the CPU-Fans to disabled, everything else on default.
    Again... Same Issue.
    Yes, BIOS is newest one (0602)

    My "tuned" Setup is a all core overclock to 5100, AVX -1, Vcore 1,34 and Cache on 46.
    XMP is raising the Voltage of VCCIO and SA pretty high (1,35). System was running like this a few days before i turned them down to SA 1.1 and VCCIO 1.14.
    BCLK always on default 100. However, I was thinking about a PCIe Timing Issue and tried change it to 99 or 101, but no difference on PCIe stability.

    HWInfo is also interesting, because sometimes if Gen3 was coming up, it first shows 8GT/s, but changes down to 2,5GT/s within let's say 5-30 minutes.
    Even when a Benchmark is running or e.g. Battlefield V is running, suddenly this Value is changing back on the fly.
    However, as mentioned earlier, it seems to get worse, at the moment i'm not able to boot at all with Gen2 or Gen3...

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Dark Hero
    Processor5900X 4.6ghz All core 1.3V, 5ghz single DOC
    Memory (part number)Gskill NEO 3600 CAS 14 32GB (4x8)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX 3080
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks 500A Mesh
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur Virtuoso
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    997

    Quote Originally Posted by maxx8888 View Post
    Thanks for answering JustinThyme.
    Yes I've tried with Optimized Defaults and even with complete CMOS Reset.
    After Reset only changed the CPU-Fans to disabled, everything else on default.
    Again... Same Issue.
    Yes, BIOS is newest one (0602)

    My "tuned" Setup is a all core overclock to 5100, AVX -1, Vcore 1,34 and Cache on 46.
    XMP is raising the Voltage of VCCIO and SA pretty high (1,35). System was running like this a few days before i turned them down to SA 1.1 and VCCIO 1.14.
    BCLK always on default 100. However, I was thinking about a PCIe Timing Issue and tried change it to 99 or 101, but no difference on PCIe stability.

    HWInfo is also interesting, because sometimes if Gen3 was coming up, it first shows 8GT/s, but changes down to 2,5GT/s within let's say 5-30 minutes.
    Even when a Benchmark is running or e.g. Battlefield V is running, suddenly this Value is changing back on the fly.
    However, as mentioned earlier, it seems to get worse, at the moment i'm not able to boot at all with Gen2 or Gen3...
    Have you tried reseating the CPU? How do the pins in the socket look? Perfect?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Question for the 2080 TI did you use both separate power rails connected to the GPU from the PSU?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Pins look absolutley perfect. CPU insert was handled with great care :-).
    I was checking that during i tested a second 9900k in the same board.
    So during that test i've therefore also reseated twice.

    For the Power Supply cable, i'm acutally using only one line from PSU to GPU and split it there.
    However, a old PSU which i have for spare at home was showing same behavior and that one was connected with 2 separate cables.
    I will verify that again with the actual PSU.

    The PSU itself is one of the Parts which are still in use from my old setup, so it is around 5 years old (Corsair AX860i).
    Not sure if it might have a bigger ripple because of that. Could "noise" on the PSU causes a Issue like this?

    Is there any way setting in BIOS which could help to make PCIe more stable? Like increasing a specific Voltage or similar?
    Could M.2. NVME Disk Drive affect PCIe stabiliy?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    So I've tried second PSU Power Cable and the new HX750i PSU. -> same Problem

    Additionally i've found 2 new BIOS Versions today 0702 final and 0803 beta Versions.
    Both of them still are showing same Issue :-/

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Dark Hero
    Processor5900X 4.6ghz All core 1.3V, 5ghz single DOC
    Memory (part number)Gskill NEO 3600 CAS 14 32GB (4x8)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX 3080
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks 500A Mesh
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur Virtuoso
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    997

    Quote Originally Posted by maxx8888 View Post
    So I've tried second PSU Power Cable and the new HX750i PSU. -> same Problem

    Additionally i've found 2 new BIOS Versions today 0702 final and 0803 beta Versions.
    Both of them still are showing same Issue :-/

    And to confirm, the system runs fine on GEN 1 ??*

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3080 FTW3 Ultra w FC EKWB
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64 - 20H2
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    291

    Look like you pretty much narrowed it down to trying another Mobo ........didnt read whether or not you have tried a clean OS install..then systematically add Drivers....and assuming Clean Install of GPU Driver ? ....no HD Audio Drivers installed? (if so disable them in HW Manager)....otherwise try a different Board.....

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Dark Hero
    Processor5900X 4.6ghz All core 1.3V, 5ghz single DOC
    Memory (part number)Gskill NEO 3600 CAS 14 32GB (4x8)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX 3080
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks 500A Mesh
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur Virtuoso
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    997

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    And to confirm, the system runs fine on GEN 1 ??*

    My question revolves on whether it crashes on Auto vs. Gen 3 vs Gen 1.

    I agree with above. I'd do a fresh install to be sure its not driver/os related and then RMA the board if no joy.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •