Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    9700K boost problem with ROG mobo

    OK I know that this matter is widely discussed already but I am at a loss... Got a 9700K yesterday on an Asus ROG Z390 H Gaming with the latest bios version, dated yesterday. With default settings or auto or whatever, the CPU doesn't go beyond 3.9GHz in any Windows situation (gaming, AIDA64 etc). I have tried -almost- anything in BIOS disabled and enabled all the relevant options (asus multicore, 5G OC setting, TPU, C states etc), the only thing that seems to work is disabling SpeedStep and Speed Shift options which allows the CPU to work -constantly though- at 4.6GHz max. 4.9 or 5GHz are out of the question I don't know if there is any way to see these numbers. For starters I only want boost to work as intended and not get the stupid limit of 3.9GHz. Hell, my i7 4790 boosted at 4GHz... Any suggestions or ideas are welcome.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 1 TB, 3,5/2,1 GB/s
    Storage #2WD Red WD40EFRX - 4 TB, 64 MB, 5400 RPM
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    did you try reset bios to defaults?
    did you perform clean windows installation after upgrade?
    do you use balanced power plan in windows control panel?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Yes, even clear CMOS after bios update to 1202.
    No but I don't think that's the problem cause when I disable SpeedStep or Speed Shift in BIOS, the CPU boosts normally to 4.6GHz multicore and higher single core in Windows. Clearly a mobo/bios issue rathen OS.
    Yes, balanced all the way, 5% minimum processor state, 100% maximum.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Try without XMP enabled (if you have it enabled)....default JEDC Memory speed...see if it works with that along with everytihng else in BIOS at default ......

    ....So your not reaching the rated Boost speeds or your not reaching OC Boost speeds ...?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 1 TB, 3,5/2,1 GB/s
    Storage #2WD Red WD40EFRX - 4 TB, 64 MB, 5400 RPM
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    i had similar issue after upgrade from z170 & 7700k without clean windows installation, in my case cpu frequency did not go below 3,6 GHz while idling

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Changing Mobo and CPU = should always be clean OS install ......I also don't consider "cloning" as a "clean install".....

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    I did try with all settings to default, XMP too, still the same issue. Clean Windows install it is then...thx for your help!

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Yup, it was Windows after all... Clean install solved all issues.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •