Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Toffypops PC Specs
    Toffypops PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING, S-1151
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 3200MHz (4x8GB) CMR32GX4M4C3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1POWERCOLOR Radeon HD 7990 6GB
    Sound CardAsus Xonar DX 7.1
    Monitor3x ASUS VG278HE 144Hz
    Storage #1Intel 120GB ssd (system)
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyMIST 1000W
    Keyboard Microsoft Ergo 4000
    Mouse Logitech G402
    Headset Sennheiser PC 363D
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
    Accessory #1 Samsung 970 EVO 500GB x2 M2.NVM

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Question Instability with STRIX Z390-E GAMING+i9-9900K+Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB

    Hello all.
    Writing here in hopes someone might be able to help.

    I have had problems with stability even since the start with my new system.

    I get random blue screens referring to IRQ errors, WHEH uncorrectable error, clock watchdog timeout.

    My Specs:
    Motherboard:
    ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING, S-1151
    Processor: Intel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number): Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz 4x8GB CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1: POWERCOLOR Radeon HD 7990 6GB
    Sound Card: Asus Xonar DX 7.1
    Monitor: 3x ASUS VG278HE 144Hz
    Storage #1: Intel 120GB ssd (system)
    Storage #2: Samsung SSD 840 Pro
    CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    Power Supply: MIST 1000W
    Keyboard: Microsoft Ergo 4000
    Mouse: Logitech G402
    Headset: Sennheiser PC 363D
    Headset/Speakers: Logitech 5.1
    OS: Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
    Accessory #1: Samsung 970 EVO 500GB x2 M2.NVM

    I ran memtest86 and the first scan gave the following results, with all 4 memory sockets populated:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4x8GB-strixEgaming-fail1.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	308.7 KB 
ID:	78176

    Then I tested all 4 modules, 1 by 1 in the first DIM socket with 4/4 passes all tests..and there were no errors at all for either module.

    Then I ran 1 module in each DIM socket in sequence, to check if maybe the DIM's had faults, but I did not get any errors then either.

    Then I rearranged the memory modules and tested again with all 4 modules populated and got the following results.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4x8GB-strixEgaming-fail2.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	371.5 KB 
ID:	78177


    I am very confused now, as to how the comprehensive testing for each module did not give any errors, yet with all 4 populated it gives errors.

    I have tested booting with default settings in bios as well as with AI-Overclock , both with and without XMP profiles enabled, and the machine just does not want to be stable.

    CINEBENCHR15.038 crashes randomly, and the Intel Benchmark test software crashes if I stress the memory.

    In BIOS i have enabled 4x mode for NVM instead of default 2x and have not populated SATA ports 5 and 6.

    My cooler gives me a score of 191 in the auto-clock overview in BIOS, and max temp i have seen was 78 degrees with 5200 overclock on all cores in a CPU stress test with the Intel benchmark utility. The CPU cooler never seem to get hot at all and feels cold to the touch at all times.

    So I am starting to wonder if it is the motherboard that is unable to run with all 4 memory slots filled?

    The memory i use is a set of 2x8GB with product number: CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
    https://www.komplett.no/product/8938...-3200mhz-16gb#

    As far as I know, the modules should be compatible with the motherboard.

    Any advise or tips would be greatly appreciated.

    Regards

    Bård
    Norway
    Last edited by Toffypops; 01-13-2019 at 01:49 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    977

    Here are a few things to consider or review:

    The memory you have IS on the QVL, so that is good.

    It is always best to get the matched 32GB set of memory than pair up 2 16GB sets. I suggest trying only a pair of sticks and see if it is stable with 16GB of RAM in dual channel mode.

    Make sure you are running the latest BIOS. 0602 has been out awhile and is very solid. 0702 just released 3 days ago.

    ALWAYS get your memory stable before overclocking your CPU. Go back to CPU default speeds until your memory problem is resolved. An overlocked CPU can make it more difficult for a struggling Memory Controller (that resides on the CPU) to find stability. Run your core multiplier and cache multiplier at default for now.


    Run the RAM at DEFAULT speeds to start as well. XMP at 3200 is not Intel spec and is technically overlocking. See if your ram will run default 2133mhz. Then move it up. Most CPUs can handle 3200, so you should get there. But start with 2133.


    Double check your Cooler installation. 78c is warm, but actually a pretty low temp for non water cooled CPU at 5200GHZ. Your CPU may be throttling. That said, get your system stable at DEFAULT speeds first.


    Side note. Your NVME will automatically run at x4 if your M.2. is X4 capable on installed in either of the M.2 slots on the board. That NVME setting you are referring to is for putting in a M.2 card into the PCIE_3 slot that can be set to X4 from default of X2. Do you have something installed in PCIE_3? If you are using the M.2 connection on the board you do not need to adjust the setting in the UEFI. This should not effect your stability either way however.

    I suggest you run the system of default CPU and memory speeds (2133) and run memtest with 2 sticks in dual channel and see if you get an error free result. If so, drop in two more sticks and see what happens. Also if 2 sticks run fine at 2133, move the speed up to 3200 for 2 sticks and see what happens. You can determine if the issue is the speed or number of sticks that trigger the errors.
    Last edited by mdzcpa; 01-13-2019 at 02:49 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Toffypops PC Specs
    Toffypops PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING, S-1151
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 3200MHz (4x8GB) CMR32GX4M4C3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1POWERCOLOR Radeon HD 7990 6GB
    Sound CardAsus Xonar DX 7.1
    Monitor3x ASUS VG278HE 144Hz
    Storage #1Intel 120GB ssd (system)
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyMIST 1000W
    Keyboard Microsoft Ergo 4000
    Mouse Logitech G402
    Headset Sennheiser PC 363D
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
    Accessory #1 Samsung 970 EVO 500GB x2 M2.NVM

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Here are a few things to consider or review:

    The memory you have IS on the QVL, so that is good.
    Good

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    It is always best to get the matched 32GB set of memory than pair up 2 16GB sets. I suggest trying only a pair of sticks and see if it is stable with 16GB of RAM in dual channel mode.
    These are two identical sets, of the same type of ram. Each set comprised of 2x 8GB module.

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Make sure you are running the latest BIOS. 0602 has been out awhile and is very solid. 0702 just released 3 days ago.
    Thnx for the tip. Did not know a new one was out. Will update it.


    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    ALWAYS get your memory stable before overclocking your CPU. Go back to CPU default speeds until your memory problem is resolved. An overlocked CPU can make it more difficult for a struggling Memory Controller (that resides on the CPU) to find stability. Run your core multiplier and cache multiplier at default for now.
    Thing is, that were just tests. I even tested using my system with default settings, and ram at defaults, and it still crashed.

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Run the RAM at DEFAULT speeds to start as well. XMP at 3200 is not Intel spec and is technically overlocking. See if your ram will run default 2133mhz. Then move it up. Most CPUs can handle 3200, so you should get there. But start with 2133.
    I see varied views on this. Since the ram has been certified by the manufacturer as 3200Mhz, and supports an XMP profile as such, it is said that overclocking only occurs if you go above that. I do know though that the base speed is 2133mhz though, but that goes for pretty much all XMP memory these days.
    Manufacturers certification should state it is stable at the given speed, or it is misleading marketing. I will try run a full scan with the memory at 2133Mhz.
    But really weird if I cannot run it at the certified speeds with this motherboard. It is an overclockers motherboard.

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Double check your Cooler installation. 78c is warm, but actually a pretty low temp for non water cooled CPU at 5200GHZ. Your CPU may be throttling. That said, get your system stable at DEFAULT speeds first.
    On idle/windows use the cpu rarely ticks over 30 degrees celcius. This Noctua NH15 is amazing at cooling.

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Side note. Your NVME will automatically run at x4 if your M.2. is X4 capable on installed in either of the M.2 slots on the board. That NVME setting you are referring to is for putting in a M.2 card into the PCIE_3 slot that can be set to X4 from default of X2. Do you have something installed in PCIE_3? If you are using the M.2 connection on the board you do not need to adjust the setting in the UEFI. This should not effect your stability either way however.
    I am not sure what you mean here. The motherboard has 2x NVME slots, and i have a drive in each. Default settings in bios is 2x for PCIE according to bios settings.Thnx for commenting on it though. Good to know

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    I suggest you run the system of default CPU and memory speeds (2133) and run memtest with 2 sticks in dual channel and see if you get an error free result. If so, drop in two more sticks and see what happens. Also if 2 sticks run fine at 2133, move the speed up to 3200 for 2 sticks and see what happens. You can determine if the issue is the speed or number of sticks that trigger the errors.
    OK, i will try that. thnx for the tip.

    Will update once tested.

    Cheers.

    Bård

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array albertcjp52579 PC Specs
    albertcjp52579 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9900K CPU
    Memory (part number)CMW16GX4M2C3600C18
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Dual GeForce® RTX 2080 Ti
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 970 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerHydro Series™ H115i 280mm Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos C700M
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I have same issue with my Asus ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME with 4 x Corsair 8192 MB (DDR4-2137) - XMP 2.0 - P/N: CMW16GX4M2C3600C18 .

    I would like to know how you get on and fixed it.

    Albert

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by albertcjp52579 View Post
    I have same issue with my Asus ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME with 4 x Corsair 8192 MB (DDR4-2137) - XMP 2.0 - P/N: CMW16GX4M2C3600C18 .

    I would like to know how you get on and fixed it.

    Albert
    If you are using (2) dual kits..you will encounter compatibility issues...especially with the Corsair brand.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    1,777

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    If you are using (2) dual kits..you will encounter compatibility issues...especially with the Corsair brand.
    I can confirm that. I did get a 4 stickt kit CMK32GX4M4B3600C18. BUT! on XMP i got a error on Real Bench On OpenCL Some type of anomaly REX meaningless Aside that.... ALL GOOD. I will recheck these once i finish the resintalacion since i change my nvme for more space.

    But on test and other bench! 0 errors. I did test code xi with stock, stock with xmp 1 and 2, manual oc 5.0 and the AI OC to 5.1 and crash at 5.2 at my 4th cine rune. I am find with stock since i got a good score 5.0 is stable with 81C on 1 core using a x74 aio in 24C ambient temp. I am impress VRM on point most news are wrong.


    The idea of 4pc kit was a friend of mine 2 years ago i got 2 3200mhz and 3600mhz I keep the 3600mhz.

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    148
    Posts
    1,994

    Combining memory kits is not recommended, as it eats into the guardband put in place by the memory vendor. Kits are binned at the density they are sold in, so it’s not difficult to ascertain why this is. Beyond returning them both, you can relax frequency and primary timings as well as increase Vdimm to 1.45-1.5v.

    3200MHz is an overclock, whether the kit is certified at this speed or not, it still exceeds Intels 2666MHz.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array albertcjp52579 PC Specs
    albertcjp52579 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9900K CPU
    Memory (part number)CMW16GX4M2C3600C18
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Dual GeForce® RTX 2080 Ti
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 970 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerHydro Series™ H115i 280mm Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos C700M
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus ROG Rapture GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    If you are using (2) dual kits..you will encounter compatibility issues...especially with the Corsair brand.
    Thanks for the reply.

    Funny enough even I only install the 2 of them (both from the same kit) memtest86 still came back with errors.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Toffypops PC Specs
    Toffypops PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING, S-1151
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 3200MHz (4x8GB) CMR32GX4M4C3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1POWERCOLOR Radeon HD 7990 6GB
    Sound CardAsus Xonar DX 7.1
    Monitor3x ASUS VG278HE 144Hz
    Storage #1Intel 120GB ssd (system)
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyMIST 1000W
    Keyboard Microsoft Ergo 4000
    Mouse Logitech G402
    Headset Sennheiser PC 363D
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
    Accessory #1 Samsung 970 EVO 500GB x2 M2.NVM

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Lightbulb The fix

    Turns out it was two of the memory modules that were at fault.

    1 module worked without errors at stock speed 2133Mhz non-XMP activated. No errors in memtest86
    I tested it with another matching module, which was confirmed working fine in both stock and xmp 3200mhz profile.
    Whenever i ran that one module, it would fail with errors in XMP activated speeds.

    It also turned out one of the other modules were also bad, and that failed both in stock speeds 2133mhz and xmp-speeds 3200mhz.
    It did not matter which modules I paired it with, it just was no good.

    So for me the permanent fix was buying a set with 4x 8GB modules
    https://www.komplett.no/product/9546...-3200mhz-32gb#

    These worked perfectly in XMP-3200 dual channel mode. No errors at all.

    So....lesson here is, NEVER EVER buy the 2x packs if you plan to upgrade, it is a really really bad decission.
    If you ever decide to go 4x later on...swap out ALL the modules in a certified 4x set like the one above. You save yourself a lot of hazzle.

    After I started using the new set above, my machine has not crashed once.

    Best regards.

    Bård
    Last edited by Toffypops; 02-06-2019 at 02:29 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Toffypops PC Specs
    Toffypops PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING, S-1151
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 3200MHz (4x8GB) CMR32GX4M4C3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1POWERCOLOR Radeon HD 7990 6GB
    Sound CardAsus Xonar DX 7.1
    Monitor3x ASUS VG278HE 144Hz
    Storage #1Intel 120GB ssd (system)
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyMIST 1000W
    Keyboard Microsoft Ergo 4000
    Mouse Logitech G402
    Headset Sennheiser PC 363D
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64BIT
    Accessory #1 Samsung 970 EVO 500GB x2 M2.NVM

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    OC

    ...and i can also add that my i9-9900K now is running stable at 5Ghz on all 8 cores with 3200 mhz XMP activated.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •