Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Cool Static Overclock for 9700k on Maximus X1 Hero

    Hey guys.

    How do i setup the config for a static overclock? Not turbo boost. I want all cores running full out all the time. Old school style. I've tried every option I can find in the BIOS but i'm not having any luck. All memory settings are at JEDEC defaults.

    Ai Overclock Tuner set to Manual, FSB left at 100, SVID to best-case scenario, CPU Core Ratio to Sync All core and raised 1-Core Ratio limit to 40

    I've disabled Turbo Boost, Speedstep, speedshift, C-states, CPU Thermal monitoring

    Under AI features i raised the CPU Core/Cache Current limit Max from Auto to 255.

    i7 9700K
    Noctua NH-D15
    Maximus X11 Hero wifi BIOS v2.20.1271
    2x16 GB Gskill TridentZ ddr4-2800

    No video card, no HDD or peripherals plugged in yet.

    I'm sure i'm just missing an option somewhere, but can't for the life of me figure this out.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by TCP82; 01-13-2019 at 03:05 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket - 4 TB, 3 GB/s
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    reset your bios to defaults, finish your build and just set your windows power plan to performance, this will keep max. frequency

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Right. Should have known i was making it too hard.


    But just for academic reasons....how would one configure a static OC these days?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3080 FTW3 Ultra w FC EKWB
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64 - 20H2
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    291

    vCore use Manual voltage adjustment
    Turn off Speedstep
    Turn off Speed shift
    Disable C1 state
    As was pointed out above in W10 "Max Performance

    ....but pointless to be running your CPU at full throttle while surfing the Net or checking email ..word processing etc...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •