Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array 1981.Lucian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    8-Pin Power Port & 4+4 Pin PSU issues

    Hi,

    I'm in the process of designing a couple of different options for a new gaming PC. I have three ASUS motherboards I'm looking at and they all have an 8-pin power port. All the PSU's have 2 power cables (4+4). How do I solve this issue since no PSU's have the correct connection for this 1 x 8-pin port? I'm hesitant to use an adapter and risk frying the board. What have people done to solve this issue?

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Even if the PSU doesn’t come with the cables you want there are plenty available aftermarket. I’ve not used what comes with even high end PSUs for a very long time. Like you I don’t want to use 4+4 for CPU or 6+2 for GPU. I also want heavier gauge wire for the high current connections.*
    Several very nice aftermarket available where you can specify exactly what you want down to the exact length even and they will do a custom order for you. *

    What PSU? Corsair makes custom kits for most of their offerings and aftermarket sellers have ready made kits on the shelf as well.*
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-15-2019 at 01:55 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array 1981.Lucian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Psu

    The PSU i'm looking at is the EVGA SuperNOVA G3-1000-x1 1000 Watt (i might go 850 watt, 1000 seems to be overkill, but it's the same issue either way).

    Where do you obtain the after market connectors? I found adapters to existing connections but nothing that would plug directly into the PSU and motherboard.
    Last edited by 1981.Lucian; 01-15-2019 at 02:31 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array 1981.Lucian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I'm starting to get really frustrated by this. The only solutions I keep finding online are to basically give my CPU 1/2 the power it's supposed to receive.

    I cannot find a cable with a single 8-pin EPS 12V connector that connects directly to the PSU. If anyone knows where to find one of these, please let me know.

    Has anyone had any luck fitting a 4+4 into the 8-pin connector on the MB? If anyone has please let me know what PSU is doing that.

    Honestly, how hard is it to make a single 8-pin power connector? Do I have to do it myself?

    Sorry for the rant, but this is getting on my nerves. A $3.00 connector is preventing a $2,000.00 purchase.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Quote Originally Posted by 1981.Lucian View Post
    I'm starting to get really frustrated by this. The only solutions I keep finding online are to basically give my CPU 1/2 the power it's supposed to receive.

    I cannot find a cable with a single 8-pin EPS 12V connector that connects directly to the PSU. If anyone knows where to find one of these, please let me know.

    Has anyone had any luck fitting a 4+4 into the 8-pin connector on the MB? If anyone has please let me know what PSU is doing that.

    Honestly, how hard is it to make a single 8-pin power connector? Do I have to do it myself?

    Sorry for the rant, but this is getting on my nerves. A $3.00 connector is preventing a $2,000.00 purchase.

    Cablemods makes good cables, excellent as a matter of fact but they take a few weeks to get. Lots of choices in material and colors*

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    The 4 + 4 pin cables connect together to fit in the 8 pin connector on the motherboard, some motherboards have an 8 pin and 4 pin connectors so power supply manufacturers have designed the power cables to either connect into one 4 pin or together into the 8 pin connector.

    I do like the cable mod braided cables, they make a big difference in looks

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,782

    Quote Originally Posted by 1981.Lucian View Post
    Hi,

    I'm in the process of designing a couple of different options for a new gaming PC. I have three ASUS motherboards I'm looking at and they all have an 8-pin power port. All the PSU's have 2 power cables (4+4). How do I solve this issue since no PSU's have the correct connection for this 1 x 8-pin port? I'm hesitant to use an adapter and risk frying the board. What have people done to solve this issue?
    Most PSU manufactures split the 8-pin CPU cable into a 4+4 pin connection because some non-enthusiast boards only have a 4-pin CPU port.

    As Menthol said, just use the 4+4 pin connector and you'll be fine.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array 1981.Lucian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Thank you all very much. This information is a life saver.

    I'll probably go with cable mods if the 4+4 doesn't work. I read a lot of posts where there 4+4 was not fitting properly.

    Will the 6+2 PCIe fit the 8-pin GPU? The same concept as the 4+4 I assume?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Yes, the 6+2 can be connected together for the 8 pin on your Video card

  10. #10
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Oh the 4+4 works without a doubt. Most PSUs come with that for adaptability. Like Menthol said you get a 6+2 for the PCIE power because some of the more budget minded cards dont use two 8 pin. Example GTX 1080 uses 8 pin and 6 pin.

    Like I said before I order up what I need as I like the aesthetics better and I dont have to wrestle the 2 pieces into one every time Im messing with it. My board the R6E has one 8 pin and one 4 pin header. My PSU came with an 8 pin and a 4+4. On initial build I just left the extra 4 pins tucked behind until I could take an inventory and order excatly what I needed. Try running dual GPUs, pretty much none of them come with enough cables.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •